Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Women's Cyber Monday Deals Week Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer mithc mithc mithc  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now bgg

Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$10.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
on September 24, 2001
Whether one is new to the Bee Gees or a seasoned fan, this is a must-have CD. In fact, for the newcomer, there is really no better place to start than with this 24-track 77-minute live disc covering a 30-year time frame (1967-1997).
The brothers provide a gorgeous overview of their early years (1967-1972) with a few of their best-loved songs--gems like "Massachussets" and "I Started a Joke" to name but two. Naturally, no Bee Gees concert would be complete without a selection of songs from their most commercially-successful period to date (1975-1979), and this era is wonderfully represented with songs that include the Saturday Night Fever hits. ("Night Fever" and "More Than a Woman" are, it should be mentioned, abbreviated versions with the former melding seamlessly and stunningly into the latter).
Lest anyone be surprised and, perhaps, disappointed, foreshortened versions (with all three brothers around a single mike and fairly minimal musical accompaniment) are presented for "I Can't See Nobody" (1:23), "And the Sun Will Shine" (1:49), "Nights on Broadway" (0:58), "Heartbreaker" (1:00) which was originally written for Dionne Warwick, and "Guilty" (2:15) which was originally written for Barbra Streisand.
Features which are unique to this CD include: A full-length, fully-accompanied version of "Islands in the Stream" (originally written for Kenny Rogers and Dolly Parton); "Our Love (Don't Throw it all Away)," during the latter part of which the Bee Gees very tastefully and touchingly accompany the previously-recorded voice of their late-brother Andy; "Grease," the title song to the 1977 movie, the latter part of which is performed by the previously-recorded voice of Frankie Valli, with the Gibbs accompanying; and last but not least, "Immortality," performed by Celine Dion and accompanied by the Bee Gees.
Most impressive of all on this CD is the quality, not only of the music, but of the presentation. Unlike so many live recordings, there are no mumbled or off-key vocals and no sloppy musical accompaniment. On the contrary, the performance by the band (which includes Maurice, Barry, and Barry's son Stephen) is as tight, smooth and professional as any studio recording. Vocally, the harmonies of the Gibbs are as impeccable as ever, with voices as strong and resonant as they were 30 years ago. Further, a very classy and effective strategy was the use of "You Should be Dancing" to encapsulate the concert, giving it a nice feeling of completion with the performance coming full circle.
In conclusion, there may, perhaps, be other artists who have produced live recordings of an equally exceptional quality; there are, however, none who have produced better. This CD serves as a testament, more than anything, to the fact that the Brothers Gibb are far more than great studio musicians; they are, in addition to being first-rate songwriters, absolutely outstanding live performers. The end result is a CD that is not only one of the Bee Gees best, it is one of the best of all time. Extremely highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on August 4, 2005
If you're not a Bee Gees fan, or even not a music fan, I think that you are going to like this CD. There are 24 tracks and it covers exactly 78 minutes live music. This disc is timeless. The brothers Gibb take us on a journey through their history (1967-1997).

The Bee Gees start their live performance with "You Should Be Dancing" and they continue with their new song "Alone". The intro is one of the best intro's ever. The transition of the two songs is outstanding. Afterwards they sing songs from the beginning years like "Massachussetts" and "To Love Somebody". They let us go back to the sixties. Then, "Words" is incredible with the guidance of the piano. "Closer Than Close" is good although it isn't as famous as the other songs. It's one of the less songs in which Maurice has the lead vocals. They breathe new life into the famous duet between Kenny Rogers and Dolly Parton, "Islands in the Stream".
Next, "Our Love" brings memories of their late youngest brother Andy. I had to shiver with this song. Afterwards, a mix of 2 songs of the movie "Saturday Night Fever", namely "Night Fever" and "More Than a Woman". The transition is great and the 3 voices are wow. "Lonely Days" is amazing because of the drums and the beat. "New York Mining Disaster 1941" is terrific because of the sound and the guidance of the guitar. Then, the Bee Gees play 6 songs, which is unfortunately short. It might be a disappointment, but still unforgettable. "I Can't See Nobody" (1:30), "And The Sun Will Shine" (1:54), "Nights On Broadway" (1:05), "How Can You Mend a Broken Heart" (3:26), "Heartbreaker" (1:05) and "Guilty" (2:20) are sung by the brothers standing close to each other behind one microphone. What a moment! To my opinion, the acoustic version of "Nights On Broadway" is better than the original one.
Next, a magical moment for the three and everyone, Céline Dion comes on stage and performs "Immortality" together with the Bee Gees. It must have been a surprise for the audience. The voice of Céline is harmonized with the background vocals of Barry, Maurice and Robin. Afterwards, "Tragedy" is remarkable because of the tune of the synthesizer, the drums and of course the voice of Barry. "I Started a Joke" stays a classic thanks to the voice of Robin. Next, "Grease", the main theme of the same named movie, was well performed. In the second couplet you hear the voice of Frankie Valli. Then, the recognizable beat and drums show it is time for some "Jive Talkin'". They end their concert with "How Deep Is Your love", "Stayin' Alive" and again "You Should Be Dancing", the 3 most famous songs of Saturday Night Fever.

On this CD you hear songs which were originally written for Kenny Rogers and Dolly Parton, Dionne Warwick, Barbra Streisand and Frankie Valli. The Bee Gees have written songs that are timeless. Some songs are more than 30 years old. They will exist forever.
Not only the quality of the music but also of the presentation has left a great impression on me. Further, the performance by the band is outstanding. The voices of the brothers Gibb are as strong and resonant as they were 30 years ago. A very effective strategy was the use of "You Should be Dancing" to make the circle round, to finish the concert completely.
This CD proves the fact that the brothers Gibb aren't only one of the best songwriters and terrific singers, but also first-rate live performers and absolutely outstanding producers. This is their best live performance ever. They have recorded one of the best live albums ever made, or may I say, the best. Listen for yourself. The Bee Gees have released this album because of their world tour in 1997. Unfortunately, I have never been to any concert of them. At that time I wasn't a big Bee Gees fan as I am now.
When you eventually have listened to this CD and if you aren't one of the lucky persons who went to the concert, you'll be relieved there is a cure for this matter. Thank God there is also a DVD-release of this album. For those who haven't gone or couldn't go to the "One Night Only"-tour, you can or you must buy the DVD-release. It's the only way to see, listen and enjoy this concert at the same time! It's the only way to heal the wound.

Enough talking! Hurry up and purchase the CD and the DVD immediately. The two are collector's items. These 2 are really recommended. You won't need a second opinion. You won't regret it. Don't hesitate. This is it! Go on and buy it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
"One Night Only" is a good a masterpiece of live recording as 1977's "Here At Last...Bee Gees...Live" was. All the great songs are here, plus a few odd album cuts that truly make this set shine. Highlights include, "Grease" with a thunderous crowd roaring approval; "(Our Love) Don't Throw It All Away', a true tearjerker with prerecorded Andy Gibb singing with his brothers and "Immortality", with a wonderful Celine Dion backed by the brothers. The CD is crisp, clean and clear. It is amazing to hear such fantastic producers who's studio recordings sound the same in concert. This is a classic CD!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on May 31, 2004
It's not often that a Live album can cement the title of "Album of the Year", but clearly in 1998 the Bee Gees' effort on "One Night Only" merits a share of my choice for Album of the Year. The Bee Gees who were nearly 30 years into their career came together for a 1997 Pay Per View Las Vegas concert entitled "One Night Only". Before this effort, the Bee Gees had only moderate success as a performing group following the incredible success on the heels of the "Saturday Night Fever" era. This particular performance by the Bee Gees caught them on their "A" game putting together a concert of innovative, powerful and inspiring music.
The Bee Gees open the concert with a segue between the old and new. They start off with their most dynamic song of their career - "You Should Be Dancing". Without a bunch of remixing, you will come to appreciate this classic in a whole new light being performed live. Listen especially to the percussions on this song. You'll also hear crowd noise which the CD does a great job at not making too overbearing. Following "You Should Be Dancing", there is a nice segue into one of their newest songs called "Alone". The segue is perfect and is one example of bridging old and new nicely.
After the "You Should Be Dancing/Alone" segue, Barry Gibb says "...shoot back thirty years....and bring you up to date slowly but surely". Thus a series of older Bee Gees songs "Massachusetts", "To Love Somebody", "Words", and "Closer than Close" go back to the older years of the Bee Gees. The Bee Gees won't perform songs in chronological order, but by going back to the Bee Gees early stuff at the beginning of the performance, it sets the table real nicely. I wasn't as familiar with this material by the Bee Gees, but after hearing it, I did come to appreciate things better.
The Bee Gees make use of modern technology in a couple of areas. One is to perform a live "duet" with their late brother Andy Gibb. The title of the song is called "Our Love (Don't Throw It Away)". In this song, the Bee Gees make use of some tracks that Andy recorded when he was alive and put some of their own live tracks around it (very similar to what the Beatles did with John Lennon on the "Anthology" album with "Real Love" but in this case the Bee Gees do it live). I happened to watch the video of this concert and you can see the emotion on Barry Gibb's face thinking about his late brother as he sings "this losing you is real, though I still feel you inside". On the CD, you will also feel Barry's heartache and true emotion as he sings those words. It's really powerful stuff. The other area is a "duet" with Frankie Valli to sing "Grease" which is a song that the Brothers Gibb wrote. The Bee Gees perform a live version of "Grease" and in the middle of the song they put a recorded track by Frankie Valli. (who sang the version of that song for the movie back in 1978) Although Valli didn't perform live with them, they do an amazing job at integrating him into the live performance and it is another example of bridging the old and the new nicely.
The Bee Gees do a nice job at including many of the songs that they wrote for other artists. Besides "Grease", there are versions of "Islands in the Stream", "I Can't See Nobody", "Heartbreaker", and "Guilty". The bad news is on the latter three songs, they are only small segments from those songs and they don't include the full version of the song. It would have been nice if Barbra Streisand was folded into "Guilty" much like Frankie Valli for "Grease", but these are minor flaws - the stuff that is included is still top notch.
The Bee Gees bring out a special guest - Celine Dion to sing "Immortality". I'm not a big Dion fan by any means, but she does an very nice job with the Brothers Gibb. It is worth noting that this song was included in the Broadway Musical "Saturday Night Fever" (which ironically was my other choice for 1998 co-Album of the Year).
On Tracks 9 through 16 the Bee Gees do sort of 'Unplugged' segment with "Lonely Days", "New York Mining Disaster", "I Can't See Nobody", "And the Sun Will Shine", "Nights on Broadway", "How Could You Mend a Broken Heart", "Heartbreaker", and "Guilty". Although again there are some segments of songs used here - the Brothers Gibb show that they just aren't Disco Kings by performing some excellent acoustics.
As for the Saturday Night Fever stuff, the main Bee Gees stuff from the movie is all there. There is a nice segue between "Night Fever" and "More Than a Woman" early in the concert. Most of the SNF material comes later in the concert "Jive Talkin" (technically not an SNF song, but was on the Soundtrack), "How Deep is Your Love", and "Stayin Alive". The Bee Gees end their performance with a reprise of the electric start they used to this CD with "You Should Be Dancing". It is also worth noting that the classic songs "Tragedy" and "I Started a Joke" are also performed.
The liner notes are a little thin, however the band credits are given. Despite the thin liner notes, I think the performance speaks for itself. Due to the death of Maurice Gibb in 2003, this would really be the last great live performance by the Bee Gees. The innovations used in this performance combined with a high energy performance truly make this the Best Album for 1998. It's a great way to discover or re-discover the Brothers Gibb. Must Have CD.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on September 21, 1999
This was actually the first CD I've purchased in some time and must admit the Bee Gees definitely still have it after all these years. I think people forget how large these guys were in the 70's and early 80's. The only song I have to skip is "Grease" but everything else seems pretty close to perfect. My 3 and 5 year old children insist I play side one every time we get into my car. Their favorite song is New York Mining Disaster 1941. I also saw this concert on PBS and couldn't turn it off. An under appreciated band for sure.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on August 26, 2002
While most of the music I listen to has a much "harder" edge
(guitar-oriented rock) I have always respected The Bee Gees for their staying power in a very fickle industry.
Much to the consternation of my Led Zeppelin peers, this CD was enjoyable over and beyond my expectations.
I found it fitting that I discovered it five years after its release, right on the brink of the 25th anniversary of the movie "Saturday Night Fever", which will be released for the first time on DVD this fall. Six of the tunes from the all-time best selling soundtrack are included here. IF YOU THINK THEY HAVE NOTHING TO ADD TO THE STUDIO VERSIONS, YOU ARE IN FOR THE SURPRISE OF YOUR LIFE.........THEY R-O-C-K!!! The live versions are infused with a passion, spirit and energy over and beyond the originals, and also benefit from the new technology. HOW DEEP IS YOUR LOVE remains the finest ballad of the disco era. Every time I hear it, it stays in my head and I hum it for days on end. So it was a joy to hear it reprised (also check out their "unplugged" version on the VH1 STORYTELLERS CD). And of course with the proper chords! How many cover versions have I heard where those imposters get the chords wrong and wreck it.....CRIMINAL!!
Also it brought back fond memories of the songs I first heard on AM radio when they began, like LONELY DAYS.
The Bee Gees are timeless and unique, which reserves them a mark in popular music history. Good music done tastefully. They single-handedly revived the disco era, which was ready to fold from such weak efforts like DISCO DUCK and DO THE HUSTLE. And although disco endured another two or three years,the music that followed after SNF was characterized by an incessant and annoying throbbing bass line that could make one deaf or insane. The Bee Gees output was more benign and of course the songs were superior in their craftmanship.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on April 10, 1999
This must surely be the One Night Only (Live from Las Vegas) CD plus an additional 6 tracks not released initially. These extra tracks should have been included in the first issue - they are too good to miss!! A great live album showing what great songwriters and musicians the Bee Gees are
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on January 14, 2003
Still having a hard time coming to grips with the events of this past week - such a sad loss. I love all styles of music (jazz, rock, alternative, blues), however, I profoundly connect to groups that can blend their voices in harmony (Bee Gees, CSN, Eagles, Beatles). When one of the voices in silenced, it is a profound loss. A critic mentioned that the Bee Gees achieved an even deeper level of harmony - a level only achieved through a family connection - I believe it. Have been wearing out Bee Gee CD's. This CD is a beautifully produced, lively celebration of some great music (I also have the DVD video). I'm thankful the world woke up in the past few years and recognized the talents of these three. Genuinely gifted artists and what appear to be genuinely kind people.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on July 11, 2000
This is the second time I am going to purchase this because the first one was damaged and this is one CD that I miss in my car. I watched the HBO special and it was get off the couch and dance with my husband and kids...fantastic! As I listened to these songs and watched the special, now that I am in my 30's, I realize how truly talented they are. The songs cover a wide range of decades and sounds. The ballads just blow me away because they are so beautiful. One of my new favorites is the one with Celion Dion. She is good but the harmonizing by the BeeGees is what makes it so outstanding. Their voices compliment each other. My boys are 7-9 and they have never been told that the BeeGees weren't considered cool like the Backstreet Boys and they request differnt songs off the CD when I play it. It goes to show you that truly good music stands the test of time and if you really love a group, stick with them despite what the critics may say because after all you know what makes your own heart sing. This CD feels like a soundtrack to your own life. Thanks Barry, Maurice and Robin for all the music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on October 9, 1999
I stumbled in to this concert 10 minutes in to it and couldn't leave the room until it was over. I sang and danced along with every song and even after all these years the sound is still there, mellowed only slightly by age. The songs are ageless just as they are.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
The Bee Gees: One Night Only (1997)
The Bee Gees: One Night Only (1997) by The Bee Gees (DVD - 2010)

The Ultimate Bee Gees (2 CD)
The Ultimate Bee Gees (2 CD) by Bee Gees (Audio CD - 2009)

Number Ones
Number Ones by Bee Gees (Audio CD - 2008)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.