Customer Reviews


496 Reviews
5 star:
 (405)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


128 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should You Buy DTS Over Dolby?
If you got this far, you are probably interested in getting this historical concert on DVD. Filmed at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas in November of 1997, I can attest that having been at this concert, it is remarkable. Over 30 hits with a great light-show presentation was accompanied by live duets with Celine Dion on "Immortality", a pre-recorded duet with Franki...
Published on December 2, 2001 by Martin A Hogan

versus
26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good songs but audio recording disappointing to me
I love bee gee's songs and I own this DVD(DTS version). I am not sure whether it is just my copy. The audio is not up to any dolby digital standard not to mention DTS. Most of the time, the center and the sourround channels do not have much music effect/instrument or vocal, except occasional background noise and audience's applause.
I am not sure whether this is...
Published on February 11, 2000 by dlee


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

128 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should You Buy DTS Over Dolby?, December 2, 2001
If you got this far, you are probably interested in getting this historical concert on DVD. Filmed at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas in November of 1997, I can attest that having been at this concert, it is remarkable. Over 30 hits with a great light-show presentation was accompanied by live duets with Celine Dion on "Immortality", a pre-recorded duet with Franki Valli on a blasting "Grease" and a truly heartbreaking quartet with the late brother Andy Gibb on "(Our Love) Don't Throw It All Away". The large movie screen served as a backdrop for many old family videos as well as the Bee Gees performing songs from over four decades.
The technicalities: If you have a simple DVD player without a DTS Surround Sound player and receiver, you can buy any of the DVD's. If you are fortunate enough to own a DTS Surround capable DVD player and receiver, you are set for what the concert really sounded like! Remember that this was recorded in the 80,000 plus seat MGM Grand and the acoustics add something that is different than a regular studio recording. The crowd is recorded perfectly to coincide with the performance. Check your system, then decide. If you plan on a new system, I highly recommend spending a few extra bucks and getting this DTS Surround feature. It is that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, April 3, 2000
By A Customer
I will not argue the merits of whether one cares for the music of the Bee Gees or not. You either like them or you don't. I would have to take great exception to other posts stating that the "sound" of this recording is poor? I have the DTS version. For reference I also have James Taylor Live at the Beacon Theater, Fleetwood Mac's The Dance as well as The Eagles Hell Freezes Over. Anyone that has heard any of these titles is aware of the quality of each of those recordings. The Bee Gees One Night Only is every bit as good as any of the above listed titles. The mix between all 5 speakers is well balanced with a very light and open sound. The mix between the front 3 speakers is very even and natural. The rear speakers are primarily for the ambient concert sounds, as they should be. If you have this DVD and it does not "sound right", I would suggest examining your 5 channel set up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, But There Is A Better Choice., September 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Actually, it's been 12 years and not ten for this tenth anniversary issue, not that that matters much. This is a rehash of old material and a little bit of new. Repackaged in a new clear plastic case with color inserts, it's a bit better and brighter looking. But what's inside?

The song set is the same as any of the previous versions. The DVD arrangement is different. The sound quality is actually just as good with the options of Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 and DTS Surround; maybe better. On my surround system, they all sounded good. There is a new segment of "An Audience with the Bee Gees" in a more intimate setting where they perform five good songs to an appreciative audience. This is in stereo only. There is a larger concert of this version available if you search.

The extras include a live segment (audience with the Bee Gees) that have the songs, "Heartbreaker", "Guilty", a rousing "Chain Reaction", "How Deep Is Your Love" and "Jive Talkin'". The interview is interesting including previously seen segments and several new ones that were pulled from the vaults. It lasts a satisfying 19 minutes. For an Anniversary issue, it's not bad.

However, if you really want a bargain deal and ALL that the Bee Gees can offer, I highly suggest buying the Bee Gees - One Night Only / The Official Story (Collector's Edition). This has the entire concert on one disc and a 2-hour interview on a second. There are plenty of extras as well. Sit down and have a great time in your living room.

Can I brag? At 18:43 minutes into the interview, I can see myself sitting in the 3rd row of the MGM Grand bleachers. That is such a thrill for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Major Reason To Buy DTS!, July 20, 2004
The Bee Gees have always been great performers, but this is their career topping concert. Four decades of songs are showcased here with impeccable harmonies and a first class band. The highlights are the guest appearances whether ala 'Nat King Cole' style or real like Celine Dion. Yup, Franki Valli and a tear-jerking Andy Gibb can be heard here as well as the Celine highlight. There is too much and too little as great songs like, "Nights On Broadway" and "Guilty" are cut short, but the typical 'Bee Gees song medley' and the 'Night Fever/More Than A Woman' segment made up for that. In retrospect, the concert could have had more lighting effects, but, geez, the sound is just so good, you wonder if it really makes a difference. This was a historic event.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching final curtain call for a great band, July 14, 2011
It would be but a few years after this triumphant return to the live stage that Maurice Gibb would tragically pass under unfortunate circumstances. In the mid to late 90s, the Brothers Gibb were enjoying a much-deserved and much-belated re-evaluation and renaissance of popularity, with the release of the great album Still Water. Not only that, but everything 70s was cool again- disco, bell bottoms, smiley faces- and of course, the "disco" inventors themselves, the swaggering, hairy-chested, big-teethed, gold-medallioned falsetto-singing Bee Gees.

But it is unfortunate that this iconic caricature attached to a popular fad of the era is what the Bee Gees are mostly known for. Because take away this albatross from their necks and what you have are amazing songs, dating back to the late 60s, when their unique take on Beatle-esque harmonics, combined with a talent for melodies of great sensitivity, melancholy, and beauty, as well as their trademark vibrato, created a distinct sound.

The fact remains that the Saturday Night Fever tracks were in the can BEFORE the movie, and were added at the request of boss Stigwood. These were not "disco" songs. They were funky, tropical Arif Mardin-produced Miami rnb/dance and sublime balladry. Granted, they took the disco ball and ran with it- but wouldn't you, given the opportunity? For a while there, the Bee Gees bestrode the pop world like a 3-headed beast. And unlike the Beatles, they outstayed their welcome, oversaturated and thrown into the trash heap of disco hatred, accelerated by the Sgt Pepper film debacle. Forced to retreat, they became in-demand songwriters and producers.

All that musical history is here, as Barry states as the show gets started. They re-trace 30 years of stunning songwriting genius. From the 60s into the early 70s, from the disco era, from the underestimated 80s and 90s tracks, as well as the classics written for others- including an emotional, poignant "duet" with Andy Gibb on Don't Throw It All Away. There is also a nice appearance by a Titanic-peaking Celine Dion, on the underrated gem "Immortality", with the Bee Gees on backing vocals.

With a great backing band, heavenly harmonies, people like Olivia Newton-John in the adoring audience, and the classic self-deprecating Gibb wit, humility and brotherly barbing, you can't lose on this wonderful concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely, hugely entertaining..., April 29, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Bee Gees - One Night Only (DVD)
I hate to admit it, but I can't stop playing this DVD! Even my girlfriend, who didn't give a hoot about the Bee Gees prior to listening to this, loves this DVD.
Barry Gibb undoubtedly gets better after the first few songs. He doesn't quite hit his highs until he gets warmed up a little. Amazingly, his voice quality is quite consistently great. However, don't expect him to sing studio-quality every single song--no way ANYONE can maintain that in a live concert, esp. with the range he has, and also since he carries nearly all of the songs.
Initially, I wasn't too impressed with the vocals. However, I realized I was playing through some terrible speakers on my laptop. But, when I plugged my Sony headphones (enclosed-ear type), the concert became an entirely different experience. (Apparently, the speakers were cutting off the highs and lows). If you're just using your TV speakers with this DVD, you're missing most of this concert!
The only way this could have been a better concert is if John Travolta had showed up!
Now, the only question I have is whether "The Very Best of the Bee Gees" as good a DVD? I need some more Bee Gees... :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good songs but audio recording disappointing to me, February 11, 2000
By 
This review is from: Bee Gees - One Night Only (DVD)
I love bee gee's songs and I own this DVD(DTS version). I am not sure whether it is just my copy. The audio is not up to any dolby digital standard not to mention DTS. Most of the time, the center and the sourround channels do not have much music effect/instrument or vocal, except occasional background noise and audience's applause.
I am not sure whether this is malfunctioning that happened to a certain number of DVD produced at a certain time. If it is, then i would ask for a return/refund.
If all DVDs produced are like this.Then this is really bad production. A bad DVD at the expense of very good, memorable songs by BEE GEEs. (e-mail:dlee_at@yahoo.com)
A good dts music dvd to model after is 'Hell freezes over' by Eagles - best use of all 6 channels in a well planned/beautifully mixed architecture. (i am not as great fan of Eagles, but this dvd is by far the best engineered, audio-ly and video-ly)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Bee Gees Perform Ever!, December 8, 1999
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Saw on cable and searched for this DVD. Got DVD with DTS sound coded and it is magical! If you are a Bee Gees fan, this is one item you shall not miss. Brought back a lot of memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BeeGees - One, November 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you want the music makers that made 40-50 years of history in music, and wrote memorable music for other artists, you must own this ONE* and another titled "This is where I came in*". I looked all over for their (beegees)"collectors edition", could not find it at a decent price, so decided to purchase the same music & message through these* two different packages. Bought another set as a gift.
Great sound through our BruRay & surround sound system. Excellent quality all around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Touching Final Curtain Call for a Great Band, February 26, 2007
It would be but a few years after this triumphant return to live performance that Maurice Gibb would tragically pass under unfortunate circumstances. In the mid to late 90s, the Brothers Gibb were enjoying a much-deserved and much-belated re-evaluation and renaissance of popularity, with the release of the great album Still Water. Not only that, but everything 70s was cool again- disco, bell bottoms, smiley faces- and of course, the "disco" inventors themselves, the swaggering, hairy-chested, big-teethed, gold-medallioned falsetto-singing Bee Gees.

But it is unfortunate that this iconic caricature attached to a popular fad of the era is what the Bee Gees are mostly known for. Because take away this albatross from their necks and what you have are amazing songs, dating back to the late 60s, when their unique take on Beatle-esque harmonics, combined with a talent for melodies of great sensitivity, melancholy, and beauty, as well as their trademark vibrato, created a distinct sound.

The fact remains that the Saturday Night Fever tracks were in the can BEFORE the movie, and were added at the request of boss Stigwood. These were not "disco" songs. They were funky, tropical Arif Mardin-produced Miami rnb/dance and sublime balladry. Granted, they took the disco ball and ran with it- but wouldn't you, given the opportunity? For a while there, the Bee Gees bestrode the pop world like a 3-headed beast. And unlike the Beatles, they outstayed their welcome, oversaturated and thrown into the trash heap of disco hatred, accelerated by the Sgt Pepper film debacle. Forced to retreat, they became in-demand songwriters and producers.

All that musical history is here, as Barry states as the show gets started. They re-trace 30 years of stunning songwriting genius. From the 60s into the early 70s, from the disco era, from the underestimated 80s and 90s tracks, as well as the classics written for others- including an emotional, poignant "duet" with Andy Gibb on Don't Throw It All Away. There is also a nice appearance by a Titanic-peaking Celine Dion, on the underrated gem "Immortality", with the Bee Gees on backing vocals.

With a great backing band, heavenly harmonies, people like Olivia Newton-John in the adoring audience, and the classic self-deprecating Gibb wit, humility and brotherly barbing, you can't lose on this wonderful concert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

One Night Only [Blu-ray]
One Night Only [Blu-ray] by Bee Gees (Blu-ray - 2013)
$17.98 $15.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.