Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 1/2 *s Can a rake be not just redeemed but become a hero?
I've read and enjoyed (to one degree or another) every book Ms Foley has ever written. I love her heroes in particular - smart, sexy, brave, often tortured and usually with a sense of humor. Readers of this series are very familiar with Lord Alec Knight. He's a rakehell to be sure and has done some pretty unsavory things. He whores, he gambles, he drinks to excess and...
Published on June 6, 2005 by baltimore0502

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reformed rakes make boring heroes
I was intrigued by the idea of seeing Alec Knight, the baby and wastrel of his family, become the hero of this novel. I also liked the first section of the novel, where he and Becky first meet (though I too didn't care for her name). His roguish charm, the sexy interplay, and the tension between them kept the plot going strong. Once he becomes self-aware with the help...
Published on November 3, 2005 by romance enthusiast


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 1/2 *s Can a rake be not just redeemed but become a hero?, June 6, 2005
By 
This review is from: One Night of Sin: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
I've read and enjoyed (to one degree or another) every book Ms Foley has ever written. I love her heroes in particular - smart, sexy, brave, often tortured and usually with a sense of humor. Readers of this series are very familiar with Lord Alec Knight. He's a rakehell to be sure and has done some pretty unsavory things. He whores, he gambles, he drinks to excess and he's arrogant and proud as hell. His worst crime of course, was breaking his sister's best friend Lizzie Carlisle's heart (in Lady of Desire). But second to that is the year he spent "servicing" wealthy, wicked widow Lady Campion in exchange for her paying off his gambling debts.

Ever since losing Lizzie to one of his friends (Strathmore in Devil Takes a Bride), Alec has been in a sort of funk. Things he used to enjoy he now finds tiresome. His faith in humankind is about nil as, in his experience, no one is innocent. One evening he and his friends discover a young woman asleep on a stoop and, of course, take her for a whore. They wake her, but she doesn't look or act like a whore (at least not a practiced one) to Alec and he warns his friends to back off to no avail. After some well-placed kicks and punches, she takes off running. Alec pursues her to ensure that she is alright, and because it's the most interesting thing that's happened to him lately. He catches up with her and determines that there is an air of innocence about her regardless of her profession and he decides to take her home with him. It's been months since he's had a woman and he wants her. She decides to go with him for reasons of her own . . .

She is Rebecca Ward and she is in some serious trouble. She's come to London from her country home in Yorkshire to report a crime. With the death of her grandfather, her cousin, Russian Prince Mikhail Kurkov has become her guardian. He and his band of Cossacks have taken over her home and surrounding village terrorizing all who live there. Mikhail has made it clear that she is under his control, she will do as he says and that he has lecherous intentions toward her. She also witnesses him and his men murdering a man. The local magistrate is the Duke of Westland who is currently at his London residence and so Becky flees to report the crime to the duke. But after days on the run she is cold, wet, exhausted and she doesn't know her way around or have any friends to turn to. Alec Knight may be a rake, but she senses that he is also inherently kind with a certain honor. She allows him to take her home mainly to elude the Cossacks following her, but also because she's very attracted to Alec.

OF course they share One Night of Sin, and the next day several revelations come to light causing Alec to vow to help her. He devises a plan to win enough money at the gaming tables to first, buy back her home from Kurkov and then get him arrested for murder. But in the meantime, Becky must remain hidden and so she and Alec remove for the summer to the Knight family villa in Brighton where the big stakes games will be found. Will his good luck return and allow him to save Becky? And, in a way, himself?

This is a redeemed rake story and I felt that it was pretty well done. Alec has to face many of his past misdeeds and admit to them once he discovers he has real feelings for Becky. Becky has a no-secrets, total-honesty policy and she doesn't make it easy for Alec to win her. It's going to take more than charm this time to get what he wants. I enjoyed watching Alec grow up and, by the end, actually attain hero status. Becky was a strong, pragmatic heroine but her no nonsense attitudes at times seemed a tiny bit shrewish. But I think she was just what Alec needed.

These Knight boys have some serious issues with their long-dead mother that affect their relationships with women. I almost shudder to think of second son and blacksheep Jack's demons! But I can't wait for his story which is, finally, next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All in all a very good read!, June 29, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Night of Sin: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Alec was quite a rake - I mean being a kept man is probably reacing the very bottom even during the Regency period. I was really angry with Alec when he tried to interfere with Lizzie and Devlin because I loved them as a couple so much. I don't think I truly understood how low Alec's life was until this book - he was not the usual rake still able to live a high life - he was rock bottom broke and seemed to be in more than just a minor funk - enter Becky and it is true - sometime real love can in fact turn a rake around. When Alec meets Becky, his life has purpose, he has a chance to be a hero, to really be needed. It was wonderful watching their love bloom - I mean he was fascinated by Becky - just everything about her made him happy. The love scenes in this book sizzled - this couple truly had chemistry!!! It was great to see Lady Champion finally get her just due - she was beyond annoying. Enjoyed too Alec's friends - they could have books of their own. Would have enjoyed a little more of Alec's family at the end - those reunions are special in these series books - and Alec really had missed his family. All in all this was a super book - those who like Foely will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reformed rakes make boring heroes, November 3, 2005
This review is from: One Night of Sin: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
I was intrigued by the idea of seeing Alec Knight, the baby and wastrel of his family, become the hero of this novel. I also liked the first section of the novel, where he and Becky first meet (though I too didn't care for her name). His roguish charm, the sexy interplay, and the tension between them kept the plot going strong. Once he becomes self-aware with the help of her rather unconvincing unconditional love, the interest lags for me. We were just waiting for him to say I love you and the murder plot to unravel. The romantic tension was lost. The plot of the story itself loses fire because of the gaming focus. As the backdrop to the action, it's fine, but cards in themselves are not the most fascinating of subjects, and not manly enough for the heroic rescue. That is why it was critical to maintain the tension between the two lovers. I agree also that the actions are ludicrously anachronistic, with Becky, the daughter of an aristocrat, in particular acting like a novice porn star before nonscandalized servants, with nary a care! The graphic sex isn't a problem; it is the over-the-top mushiness that did the intimate scenes in for me. The excessive use of pet names and endearments just wasn't convincing, on her part especially. It was tough to imagine the original Alec living ever after in this sentimental bliss. This hero need to be more alpha male. That is what made him "icky" for me.

The best of the Knight series is The Duke, with Master of Desire a far second, although he becomes emasculated by his position too. In short, Foley has one great novel in this series, but the rest failed to match it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet!, June 11, 2005
By 
Rachel (Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Night of Sin: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Ms. Foley has done it again. Her new book outdoes the rest in the Knight Series, as they keep getting better and better.

In "One Night of Sin," readers will be swept away to a fantasy world where love, lust, pride, conviction, beauty, danger, corruption, murder, adventure, and conspiracy abound. The brave and beautiful heroine, Becky, is just the kind of spitfire who can take care of herself that we love to see overcoming obstacles. Alec, the hero, delivers the sexy, playful, man-in-control who saves the day that every woman fantasizes about. But on top of all the adventure, the plot-twists, the humor, the delightful dialogue, and the steamy love-making, these characters show the complexity and truth of the human condition; vulnerability, fear, shame, determination, and the will to survive against all the odds.

"One Night of Sin" is the best piece of fiction I've read in a long time. I couldn't put it down, but couldn't bear it being all over when I reached the last page.

Thank you -- yet again -- Ms. Foley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foley is one of the best historical romance writers, June 9, 2005
By 
Jamie B. (Huntsville, Al United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Night of Sin: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
and she does not disappoint with her newest installement in the Knight series. I couldn't wait for Alec's story, and boy was it worth it! Another reviewer has detailed the plot, so I will not do so again here. But for those of you who have followed this series, you will understand that Alec is one tortured soul. But Foley does a fantastic job of making the reader fall in love with him from the start of the book (many of us may already have been 1/2 there - Lizzie-style), and making us even more so as Alec becomes the true hero we knew he would. Don't miss Alec and Becky's beautiful love story! (and there is plenty of action too!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not one of her best but still pretty entertaining, August 5, 2006
By 
Neilisa (Tulsa, OK United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Night of Sin: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Becky Ward is on the run for her life. Her cousin, Prince Mikhail Kurkov, murdered an agent of the Czar of Russia and Becky witnessed it. Becky makes her way to London to try and find the Duke of Westland to turn her cousin in, but Prince Kurkov beats her there and makes an unsuccessful attempt to capture her. To make matters worse, her grandfather's death has made Prince Kurkov her guardian, which means he controls her life and also owns the only home she's ever known.

Lord Alec Knight and his three friends have just arrived at one of his friends' homes where they find Becky asleep on the portico. Assuming she is a prostitute, they wake her up and try to coax her into the house, but she fights them off and runs away. Alec chases after her and talks her into going with him to his apartments. They have a glorious night together but when Alec wakes up, Becky has already escaped. While he is rushing to get dressed, he notices bloodstains on the bathrobe Becky wore and realizes that she was a virgin.

Alec talks her into trusting him with her story and offers to help her. They devise a plan to win, through gambling, enough money to buy back Becky's home from Prince Kurkov. They also need to find evidence of Mikhail's treachery before they can go to Westland with her story.

Admittedly, I was prepared to not like this book. I had just finished reading Devil Takes A Bride where I found Alec to be a self-indulgent brat who was trying to come between Devlin and Elizabeth. However, he redeems himself in this book. I don't like that the tale takes pot shots at Elizabeth, portraying her as someone not quite strong enough to handle Alec, but I suppose this is an attempt to convince us, the audience, of Becky's courage in loving Alec despite his past.

In my opinion, though, it was not necessary to disparage Elizabeth for that reason. I, for one, was already convinced, in Devil Takes A Bride, that Alec and Elizabeth were not suited for each other. It was already clear that Elizabeth, until she met Devlin, had fallen in love with an image of who she thought Alec was. Likewise, Alec wanted Elizabeth around because he thought he needed her, but certainly not because he loved her. There was really no need to compare Becky to Elizabeth. Both are equally strong heroines with unique characteristics of their own.

One Night of Sin is sumptuous and erotic. The storyline, however, is a bit predictable and I found it lacking. The magic and sizzle that other Gaelen Foley works have, such as in The Duke, is missing in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anxiously awaited tale, June 7, 2005
This review is from: One Night of Sin: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Alec had been a secondary character in many of Gaelen Foley's previous Knight novels. He was always witty and charming with a devil may care attitude but he had one very bad problem-- compulsive gambling. I wondered how Foley would pull turning this loser into a great hero but she did. This book was witty, complex, well structured. I loved the heroine. Hated the villian. Laughed often and worried at all the right moments. And not to mention this book is also quite steamy. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expected Better, January 21, 2006
This review is from: One Night of Sin: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
After reading "Devil Takes a Bride", I was expecting great things from Alex & Becky's story . . . sorry, I was disappointed. I was really wondering if Gaelen Foley had hired a ghost writer here. The story was lacking the exciting danger & suspense from her previous novels and seemed silly in places. The sensual scenes, as previous reviewers said, were overdone and I had to skim over long descriptions to finally get to the end. I have really enjoyed all of the previous "Knight" stories and hope that Jack's will live up to what we have come to enjoy with Gaelen Foley's writing skills. Not a keeper, will probably dump in trash can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun read, August 28, 2005
This review is from: One Night of Sin: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
At first I thought I would not like the book because considering the girls circumstances jumping in the bed with a guy would not be my first choice. However as the book went on I really began to enjoy it and found myself unable to put it down. I think the book is worth anyone's time that loves a good romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bodice Ripper!, August 3, 2007
By 
Orion (Las Vegas, NV USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Night of Sin: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
I can call it a bodice ripper because right there on page 343 it says "He tore her lovely bodice in his haste to get his hand on her..." Hehe...

The plot has been detailed elsewhere so I'll just say what I liked about this book. First the sex was really steamy and explicit. More, I think, than the other books in the series. These two were so hot for each other, right from the beginning. They couldn't keep their hands off each other!

But the part I really liked was Alec's sweet seduction of Becky. He was such a pro. Standing under an awning on a rainy street, he said all those sweet words to her, just the right things to make her melt. And then he fed her and bathed her and kissed away her sorrows. Alec is so charming! What a sweet hero he is.

These two had great chemistry. Maybe I was just in the right mood for it today, but I really loved this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

One Night of Sin: A Novel
One Night of Sin: A Novel by Gaelen Foley (Mass Market Paperback - May 31, 2005)
$7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.