Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-own dvd for any collection of jazz films
An essential dvd re-release of the original multi-volume vhs document of the historic Town Hall (NYC) concert of February 1985 that celebrated the rebirth of the Blue Note label.
Much comment has been written regarding the re-editing of the film footage and the modified selection of performances. As one would expect, the picture quality, color balance and sound are...
Published on June 12, 2004 by C. Rotolo

versus
26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diasappointing reissue
I have had the two laser disk version of this show for a long time and this version is not only missing several excellent Charles Lloyd Quartet performance but has, in some insane effort to include the audience substituted some decidedly inferior angles to change the original footage. As such its a big disappointment. Frankly, I think the laser disk version is clearly...
Published on January 7, 2004 by William E Donoghue


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-own dvd for any collection of jazz films, June 12, 2004
This review is from: One Night With Blue Note: The Historic All-Star Reunion Concert (DVD)
An essential dvd re-release of the original multi-volume vhs document of the historic Town Hall (NYC) concert of February 1985 that celebrated the rebirth of the Blue Note label.
Much comment has been written regarding the re-editing of the film footage and the modified selection of performances. As one would expect, the picture quality, color balance and sound are superior to the vhs versions. The producers attempted to enlarge the 'space' of the performances with wider-angle footage (the vhs film is mostly tight-focus on individuals on-stage). It is puzzling, however, that they chose not to employ the wide-screen 'letterbox' format (especially in light of the fact that the 1997 documentary film, "Blue Note: A Story Of Modern Jazz", uses the wide-screen format and has wide-screen film clips from this concert). Nonetheless, the dvd is a great visual show.
As a hard-bop enthusiast, I am pleased for the most part with the revised selection of performances. Inclusion of Joe Henderson's "Recorda-me", Jackie MacLean's "Appointment In Ghana", and Stanley Turrentine's "Scratch My Back" are welcome additions. Of the two Stanley Jordan performances on the vhs tapes, the dvd includes the more entertaining "Jumpin'Jack". Likewise, of the three Charles Lloyd numbers from the vhs, the dvd retains the best of the three, "Tone Poem". On the negative side, McCoy Tyner's performance of "Passion Dance" was excluded. Regardless, the three major highlights of the concert, Herbie Hancock's "Cantaloupe Island", Art Blakey's "Moanin'", and Cecil Taylor's solo "Pontos Cantados", are here in all their splendor and are worth the price of admission alone.
Nice menu options for Blue Note fans are the fine galleries of Francis Wolff's photography and Reid Miles' album cover designs. My one criticism of these features is that the graphic design for the galleries distracts somewhat from the power and presence of the images.
Overall, this is an essential addition to any jazz enthusiast's library. Now its time for Blue Note to issue the perfect companion to it - the dvd version of "Blue Note: A Story of Modern Jazz"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best jazz film ever made, October 30, 2006
By 
This review is from: One Night With Blue Note: The Historic All-Star Reunion Concert (DVD)
As has been noted by nearly every reviewer of the recently reissued DVD version of "One Night With Blue Note", the changes to the original film (made in 1985 and released on VHS and laserdisc) are controversial and questionable. No one can say the enhanced image and sound quality aren't improvements, and the additional music is certainly welcome, but this was a movie made by a filmmaker with a very clear intent - to show the intimate interplay between jazz musicians. This was accomplished through extended close-ups and very observant musical intercutting. Director John Jopson and Cinematographer Ernest Dickerson did a masterful job in capturing the personalities of the musicians and it seems a shame to randomly throw in audience shots from some other event - and in video format at that. (I wonder what those people think watching this DVD, seeing themselves enjoying a show they never attended.)

To film more than forty of the greatest jazz musicians in the world for over 3 hours is a daunting task. This movie was shot on film, not video, so there had to be film magazine changes every ten minutes on each of the multiple cameras. To do this without missing important moments is incredibly difficult and requires planning, a good ear, and spontaneity. On the original version there was a great interplay during one set where we see Freddie Hubbard's amazed reaction to Herbie Hancock's piano solo. This shot really said something - how these musicians can blow each other away. Throughout the film the Director doesn't hesitate to cut away to what the other musicians are doing, even during a solo. To be fair much of this artful editing is still intact, but it's a disservice to the filmmaker and the viewer to go back in and change the intent.

Most importantly, thanks to Bruce Lundvall and Michael Cuscuna the greatest night in jazz history has been well documented, and at least we know the original footage is still in the Blue Note vaults in case some future aficionado wants to restore the film to its original form for the next generation. Or how about releasing a Director's Cut? I'll bet everyone who owns the DVD would buy yet another version: We know from the CDs and the tracks that were removed from the original version (ie the Charles Lloyd and Stanley Jordan tunes) that there must be a lot of footage yet to be released.

Nevertheless the DVD version is still an incredible film and well worth the investment. If you're a jazz lover buy the DVD and look for the vhs or laserdisc on eBay. "One Night With Blue Note" is simply the best jazz movie ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This could have been so much better, but buy it anyway, February 18, 2004
This review is from: One Night With Blue Note (DVD)
One Night With Blue Note: The Historic All-Star Reunion Concert.
This was such an historic concert and one of the few opportunities to see the classic Blue Note musicians playing together on video. It's a shame that it was clumsily reedited and we are denied fine performance that should have been included in a second volume.
I collect jazz, blues and roots music videos and this has always been one of my very favorite jazz videos. It was amazingly well performed, edited into videos for the time with a fade to a blue image of Stanley Turrentine playing on the stairs, included a riveting three-song mini-concert with Charles Lloyd and his classic quartet with the late Michel Petrucianni sitting in Keith Jarrett's piano chair, and many highly memorable moments.
Steven Reed, the producer of this release and Michael Cuscuna of Blue Note has chosen to edit out some of the finest moments of the concert (including two of the three Charles Lloyd songs), change the expertly-edited sequences in a vain effort to show the audience (usually behind a intrusive camera man, an awkward and distracting choice) and substitute some new footage. The new footage (Record-Me, Appointment in Ghana, The Jumpin' Blues and Scratch My Back) is welcome but the missing footage, When You Wish Upon A Star by Stanley Jordan, Broadside by Bennie Wallace, Passion Dance with McCoy Tyner and Jackie McLean and the full Charles Lloyd concert (featuring his comeback band) including The Blessing and Lady Day is missed. All are available on the laser disk and VHS versions.
I guess that we should be thankful that he included a full two hours of music but would a second disc with an additional hour be asking too much? Then, of course, there are the additional audio recordings on the three-disk set issued on Blue Note. En Encanto and How Long by Charles Lloyd, A Child Is Born by the Turrentine/Smith quartet, I'm Glad There Is You by Grover Washington and Kenny Burrell, I'm Getting Sentimental Over Your by Lou Donaldson with Jimmy Smith, and others. Is there a second DVD Volume coming? If so, why split up the full Charles Lloyd set, a comeback triumph at the time?
It was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diasappointing reissue, January 7, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Night With Blue Note: The Historic All-Star Reunion Concert (DVD)
I have had the two laser disk version of this show for a long time and this version is not only missing several excellent Charles Lloyd Quartet performance but has, in some insane effort to include the audience substituted some decidedly inferior angles to change the original footage. As such its a big disappointment. Frankly, I think the laser disk version is clearly superior. The few extra added cuts are nice but the missed footage is inexcusable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Jazz DVD Available!, January 2, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Night With Blue Note: The Historic All-Star Reunion Concert (DVD)
This awesome DVD has all the greats-Herbie Hancock, Freddie Hubbard, McCoy Tyner, Art Blakey and all the other Blue Note wonders. But the last performance with Cecil Taylor burnin' the piano is the most amazing performance I have ever seen. His playing is so fast and intense that you'd think he's a Super Human or they mistakenly sped up the video. If you'd like the best Jazz DVD available then this is the one to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real jazz, June 19, 2005
This review is from: One Night With Blue Note: The Historic All-Star Reunion Concert (DVD)
One of the best jazz compilation on DVD I ever bought.

If you are found of real, main stream jazz, a lot of music to make your dreams coming true.

Special mention for Fredie Hubbard and Herbie Hancock on the first and second take.

For me, the most musical and impressive song is "appointment in Ghana" played by Jackie Mc Lean and Woody Shaw. Since this listenning, Mr McLean is one of my favorite alto saxophone player and is definitely another white brother. Woody Shaw is absolutly phenomenal in the way he reflects the deepest emotion.

A DVD to be collected for true jazz lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Night With Blue Note DVD, June 18, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Night With Blue Note: The Historic All-Star Reunion Concert (DVD)
I seen the first track on You Tube, The track called " Cantelope Island " and immediately knew that this was a must have item. When I watched the rest of the DVD and it's music, it may have been a great buy for the price. There was a great mix of musicians, taking their solos, and putting lots of feeling into it. There were quite a few long tracks of
music, which I especially like as everyone gets the opportunity to do
their thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a have to have, June 21, 2008
This review is from: One Night With Blue Note: The Historic All-Star Reunion Concert (DVD)
There are a lot of reviews on this DVD. I will make it
short. This is a once in a lifetime event. The line-up
of artists is top notch. The documentation, execution,
the visual, audio is superb. If you don't own this one,
you must. It will bring tears of joy, god bless blue
note records for this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I was at Town Hall!!!, August 2, 2011
This review is from: One Night With Blue Note: The Historic All-Star Reunion Concert (DVD)
This was the best concert I ever saw.

I had the 4 record box set (vinyl)which is no longer available. I've been looking to replace my 4 record box set since 1990. I was so happy when they brought it out on a DVD which I have. The complete concert is not on the DVD. The live show was almost 4 hours long, every one was there, it was the most amazing life experience I have had at a concert. This is just a sample of what the show was and how great the music of jazz is. Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sound and songs, December 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Night With Blue Note: The Historic All-Star Reunion Concert (DVD)
This is truly a historic reunion of some really awesome musician and a legendary label. I'm looking for the words to say--"Do yourself a favor and purchase this DVD". Just put it in the player and enjoy. Thanks Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

One Night With Blue Note: The Historic All-Star Reunion Concert
$18.98 $17.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.