Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and romanticly erotic faerie tale, August 9, 2012
This review is from: One Saved to the Sea (Kindle Edition)
This is a beautiful book!
The language has a poetic, lilting quality that dances between lyric and colloquial with ease. The love story is sweet and romantic, stirring and erotic without being over the top, and magical but believable.
The mythology was specifically Orkney, not just generically Irish or vaguely Celtic.
This is a tightly woven story with a lot of emotion. It is lovingly paced and exquisitely executed. I read it all in one sitting and it left me panting for more!

In full disclosure, I was sent an advance copy to read and review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the price, August 11, 2012
This review is from: One Saved to the Sea (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book on August 9 and read it between calls at work. It was a fast read because it's a short book. However don't let that fool you into thinking that there's not enough room for the characters to develop and grab you. There is. It's almost unfair the extent to which this book can suck you in. Before you know it you're done, but not unsatisfied. The writing is fantastic, the plot is a fresh look at old legends, the time period works and feels believable. Also lesbian selkies. What's not to love?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Story, August 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Saved to the Sea (Kindle Edition)
This book? You should read it. Warning for adult themes and ff romance. I don't re-read books, except for a choice few that have kept me company through the decades... however, having read this touching story tonight I am already planning a re-read of this charming, empowering and beautifully written story. It is a tale of love, perceived loss and true humanity wrapped in myth, legend and a unique subculture (Orkney Islands). Again... HIGHLY recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, August 10, 2012
This review is from: One Saved to the Sea (Kindle Edition)
I think Sara M. Harvey said it perfectly. The language is exquisite, the story magical and sensual without being over the top. It is a wonderful story of other-ness, belonging, and change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern sort of fairytale, August 7, 2012
By 
C. S. Bennett (Dallas, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Saved to the Sea (Kindle Edition)
An excellent story, well-conceived and well-written. I enjoyed the depiction of the characters, as well as the vivid visualization of the settings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Fairytale, August 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Saved to the Sea (Kindle Edition)
This was an excellent short story with great characters and a lovely storyline. I enjoyed reading it and will probably reread it a few times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, June 16, 2014
This review is from: One Saved to the Sea (Kindle Edition)
It's clear there was a lot of research put into this book. I loved the discussed Orkney topics, the wedding, traditions, and so on, and I enjoy the period the piece was in. I caught the subtle things as well, like the techniques Mairey avoids men and avoids others in general. You can see the social issues that Mairead has with the other women, and though no one uses the word 'gay', 'lesbian', or any slurs (aside from 'unnatural'), you can still feel the tension Mairey has in regard to her differentness.

One thing I would've liked to see was more time spent with the mythological creatures, the selkies themselves. There is mention that she watches them, but I would've liked to see that emphasized a little longer. It felt like most of the book was spent on Mairey dealing with other humans, and while I wouldn't take any of that away, I'd want to see more fae beasties!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A definite must-read!, December 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Saved to the Sea (Kindle Edition)
Catt Kingsgrave has always been one of my favorite authors, and this book does not disappoint. I absolutely love her sense of humor which shines through most aspects of her writing. One Saved to the Sea is a definite must read for anyone interested in Celtic mythology, especially that of the Selkies, or seal folk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative, rhythmic, beautiful language, October 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Saved to the Sea (Kindle Edition)
One Saved To The Sea is not a book to hurry through. It's fairly short, but you will want to sit with it and pause at intervals to drink a lot of tea and stare off into the distance and let it settle in.

I'm not saying this book isn't potently erotic, which it is. But it's also contemplative, sweetly emotional, and viscerally rough.

The plot and characterization are impeccable, but what kept me reading were the rhythms and feeling of the language, and above all, the sense of place.

If you like fairy tales spun with compelling five senses reality, you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Orkney's, Selkie's and Love, May 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Saved to the Sea (Kindle Edition)
I give "One Saved to the Sea" high marks because it kept me engaged until I finished the story.
Who can resist the Selkie-folk? Catt weaves a wonderful tale in Mairead's voyage of discovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

One Saved to the Sea
One Saved to the Sea by Catt Kingsgrave
$3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.