Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars <---_Names to clock, They're making the Move_--->
To start - The critics and record reviewers will Eat This Stuff Up... if they ever sit down and hear it! These guys need to be onto Hefty Records and the branch out labels...!!(check da site bwoy!!)
As Scott Herren (Savath and Savalas, Prefuse 73)is experiencing a late success with some of his earlier recordings under various aliases, his album w/Warp records ('Vocal...
Published on July 5, 2002 by maxheaddrone

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, limited
3 1/2

Electronic snippet grooves make for flashy background, but as a concentrated listening experience, exerts only so much after repeated listens, as would be the norm with this type of well intentioned but ultimately disposable hip-tronica sub-genre graced by the likes of Prefuse 73 and Blockhead. The difference must be in the details, since a few of these...
Published on March 9, 2009 by IRate


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars <---_Names to clock, They're making the Move_--->, July 5, 2002
By 
"maxheaddrone" (Charlotte, N.C. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Three (Audio CD)
To start - The critics and record reviewers will Eat This Stuff Up... if they ever sit down and hear it! These guys need to be onto Hefty Records and the branch out labels...!!(check da site bwoy!!)
As Scott Herren (Savath and Savalas, Prefuse 73)is experiencing a late success with some of his earlier recordings under various aliases, his album w/Warp records ('Vocal Studies..')was an instant classic to many underground reviewers and heads alike.
Dabrye was next in line and dropped something I see as being just as classic, only filling different gaps. I see Dabrye being much more party friendly, or party instigating. I mean I put this album on and just start moving and rhyming and just saying yeauh,yeeeuhh,whutt,yeeeuuhh. I mean he brings together a smooth 70's jazz sound over an old skool u-ziq-type bassbeat, or he puts one piece of the track into a skipmode repetition while another line is continuosly changing..maybe these sound like commonsense blends and sequencing, but I've never heard it done this way.
Herren says the album is like Autechre meets JayDee, but that, being a tempting description, still limits the variety of influences heard here. There's an early 90's East Coast vibe to many jams(De La, Digable and of course A Tribe..) there's glitchy melodies and tonal harmonies (remeniscent of Plaid, Flanger, even a little Oval.. or.. Tortoise?) and then he throws in dem ol' D-town/Philly style 808 bass drops(Frankie Bones,Deisel Boy..Squarepusher?).
--But enough comparisons, even if you dislike one or the other, THIS album is a banger. His new joint's called "Instrmntl", buy it too! I mean it just keeps getting better, and with their new __'Eastern Developments'__ record label I think these guys are about to Shock Da World.. Ya Nah Mean!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...and I thought hip hop was dead., June 23, 2005
This review is from: One Three (Audio CD)
This is not so much a review, but more of a recomondation. Nay, a demmand, I demmand you buy this cd. If you're like me and think that most hip hop these days is boring and stuck in a rut, listen to some glitch hop. Artists like dabrye and prefuse take what artists like squarepusher have done for a while and aply it to a more accessable format like hip hop.

If you really enjoy this cd i suggest listening to other artists on the amazing ghostly label (including Tadd Mullinix and James T. Cotton- Dabrye's alter egos.)

Again, I cannot stress how great this album is- go buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dabrye, February 3, 2006
By 
L. Crawford (portland, oregon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Three (Audio CD)
what more is there to be said about tadd mullinux aka dabrye? the man makes some damn fine music, and this great cd, featuring the brilliant "Smoking The Edge" is not one to pass on. dabrye's various incarnations make great music, and its certainly no suprise that this is one of his best releases. pretty much worth buying for "smoking the edge" alone, but every track is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Them microchips gettin' DOWN so fine, your hips will twitch..., April 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One/Three (MP3 Music)
Electronic instrumental hiphop-- "minimalist", but not minimal intelligence. Samples, glitches, etc., all put to good use. The guy has got great ears, a killer rhythmic feel (he makes those circuits FONK and groove!), and a healthy sense of humor. On first listen I was grinning ear to ear while doing some housework. For some it may seem better that way, as background music-- but then let it pull you in! If you dig Prefuse 73, you'll be more than halfway to this already. And then try to find a copy of the self-titled CD by Faceless (Mutant Sound System label, 1997).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, limited, March 9, 2009
This review is from: One Three (Audio CD)
3 1/2

Electronic snippet grooves make for flashy background, but as a concentrated listening experience, exerts only so much after repeated listens, as would be the norm with this type of well intentioned but ultimately disposable hip-tronica sub-genre graced by the likes of Prefuse 73 and Blockhead. The difference must be in the details, since a few of these tracks swim so well that future success behind the boards for this artist seems absolute, but still at least half sinks from underdeveloped inclinations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dope CD from beginning to End, April 6, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Three (Audio CD)
I loved everything about this CD. The beats along with the electronic sound is amazing to me. If you are into a little alternative and hip hop, check out this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

One Three
One Three by Dabrye (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.