Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm gonna tell YOU one time
If you don't buy this song, you might as well go tattoo LOSER on your forehead because it. Is. Legit.

Bieber. Fever. Foreever.
Published 20 months ago by monster

versus
14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What fresh Hell is this?
Sigh. It's my own fault, I suppose. Every year I think, "you know what, Curmudgeon? Maybe THIS year will be different. Maybe THIS year the music scene won't have anything horrendous spreading through the charts like cancer to your sack. Maybe it will be safe to watch the music channels without wishing I had been struck blind, deaf and dead. Hey.. maybe it's all going to...
Published on January 21, 2010 by The Curmudgeon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What fresh Hell is this?, January 21, 2010
This review is from: One Time (MP3 Music)
Sigh. It's my own fault, I suppose. Every year I think, "you know what, Curmudgeon? Maybe THIS year will be different. Maybe THIS year the music scene won't have anything horrendous spreading through the charts like cancer to your sack. Maybe it will be safe to watch the music channels without wishing I had been struck blind, deaf and dead. Hey.. maybe it's all going to be OK this year." And then 2010 hits, and the atrocious "One Time" by Justin Bieber is a smash hit single, and I'm left secretly hoping for a meteorite to smash us all out of the galaxy forever.

Little kids singing love songs. I don't know why, exactly, but it's been a staple of the pop music scene ever since records started turning. The Osmonds, the Jacksons, Hanson, Miley Cyrus.. when every other kid in the world is thinking a quick, awkward fumble is up there with the Kamasutra, these famous kids are singing about eternal love and devotion. And even though there's been some horrors in the past, has there ever been anyone as loathsome and punchable as Justin Bieber?

So who is this pond-life anyway? Well, he was discovered on Youtube, that well-known talent magnet, putting him in the same company as that "Leave Britney alone" abomination and the unfunny video of that ugly child coming back from the dentist. So he had videos of himself singing on Youtube when some predator/record company exec spotted him and signed him to a record label. It's the stuff dreams, or in this case, nightmares, are made of.

Let's start with the video (and, indeed, how I discovered this song). Justin's playing video games with his friend when who should call him but R&B superstar Usher? Turns out it's Usher's house and he wants Justin to look after it for him. Instead of reminding Usher that he's not legally permitted to be home alone, Justin instead throws a party for himself and all his curiously older looking girlfriends. He'd better just hope Usher doesn't come back with his old buddy and singing partner R Kelly. And that Kelly doesn't have a full bladder, either.

Anyway, what follows is a song so crass and so cynical you almost double-take. Why is Justin Bieber throwing up "gang signs" to the camera? Why is he singing like he's black? Why is he using tedious, over-used phrases like "shawty"? Because guess what this is? It's generic, vanilla R&B! Aimed at 10 year old girls raised and brainwashed on this sort of garbage! With the added bonus of the singer being white! Everyone's a winner!

Or not. Because not only is the song predictable, throwaway junk you feel certain you've heard about 1,000 times before, it's performed by a charmless, odious little scumball you wouldn't tire of reversing over. Check out his early Youtube videos, where he squeaks through Aretha's "Respect" and feel your will to live drip through your shoes. Watch the video of Justin covering a song by Michael Jackson, a man who's childhood was stolen from him by fame, and try not to choke on the irony. You would think, in today's day and age of endless E! specials on child stars getting hooked on drugs at an early age that some would question the idea of throwing a 13/14 year old boy into a life of appearing with the likes of Usher and P Diddy? But no, there he is. Coming to E! in 2015, "Justin Bieber's Coke Hell." You know it's true.

Some people will argue that its just pop music, that its just a bit of fun and that he's a nice singer who little girls will love. What he actually is, of course, is a dead-eyed puppet being used to sell more cheap, redundant cookie cutter dross to idiots being raised on this sort of soul-less drivel they have to accept as the soundtrack to their generation. Justin Bieber is not a great pop star or an internet sensation or any of the other witless superlatives being thrown on him by idiots.

Justin Bieber, in fact, makes you think child murderers may actually have a point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm gonna tell YOU one time, June 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Time (MP3 Music)
If you don't buy this song, you might as well go tattoo LOSER on your forehead because it. Is. Legit.

Bieber. Fever. Foreever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this song!, November 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Time (MP3 Music)
I love this song! :) It's great, love Justin Bieber. Also enjoy Amazon Cloud Player so I can enjoy this on my Chromebook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I just don't understand, March 24, 2010
This review is from: One Time (MP3 Music)
Why someone like this becomes popular.

This music is an abomination, plain and simple. I just feel sorry for the parents of teen girls who have to put up with this garbage day in and day out. Stay strong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kids enjoyed, December 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Time (MP3 Music)
Kids enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!!!!, January 30, 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: One Time (MP3 Music)
I really love this song!!! why does everybody have to blame justin if they dont like his songs? Its NOT his fault!!! If you dont like him then why are you even reading my review? Its a BIG waste of your time! and all the non justin bieber fans need to get a life and stop making fun of him!! He has talent and can really sing so please stop laeving mean reviews! im getting really sick of them! but ANYWAY if you are a justin bieber fan I would suggest getting this song!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Once is Enough, February 21, 2010
By 
This review is from: One Time (MP3 Music)
Justin Bieber's "One Time" is a song that fits its title. One can only listen to it one time... if one has the intestinal fortitude to do that. Bieber's Chipmunk-like voice (he recalls the bestselling album Alvin And The Chipmunks: The Squeakquel (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)) Yes,Usher found him,he's sung with major "artists"--but he's completely talentless. He sounds more like the male sopranos mezzo soprano Cecilia Bartoli emulates in her recent Cecilia Bartoli: Sacrificium.

"One Time" is a sappy hip-hop song. It's wholesome--but wholesomeness is no excuse for bad music. Surprisingly,Bieber has sparked riots at Long Island malls. Why?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars J BIEBZ ROCKS :D, April 17, 2010
This review is from: One Time (MP3 Music)
People should stop hating on a talented kid.
And get used to it, he's not going anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

One Time
One Time by Justin Bieber
Buy MP3 Song$1.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.