Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Tour of the Universe, May 8, 2000
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Universe: At Home in the Cosmos (Hardcover)
Want to know what a supernova, neutron star or black hole is, explained in everyday language? If so then this is the book you are looking for. Simply put, it's the perfect source for easy to understand explanations about all facets of astronomy and astrophysics. Find out how astronomers know the universe is expanding, how they determine how far away other galaxies are, or how a supernova happens. Learn about energy and particle physics, all explained in an intelligent yet easy to understand fashion. Learn about the different states of matter, about energy and Einsteins theory of relativity. Nicely formatted with stunning graphics, I highly recommend this book, especially to those with no background in the sciences who are looking for a simple, easy to understand yet intelligent explanation of science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that should be in every home, March 2, 2000
By 
Anita Leonard (Davidsonville, Maryland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Universe: At Home in the Cosmos (Hardcover)
The beauty of this book is apparent as soon as you open it. It is filled with wonderful pictures that help to explain the valuable information that is contained in this book. Neil De Grasse Tyson has taken the information that most of us find to difficult to understand and brought it to a level that makes it not only understandable, but exciting to read. The pictures give us a visual understanding of the dynamics of all the things around us. This is a book for all, young and old. I especially found it to be a great way to stimulate the minds of our youth, who seem to have lost interest in many of the sciences. This book breathes new life into a subject that affects all of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A non-mathematical introduction to the Universe, November 19, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Universe: At Home in the Cosmos (Hardcover)
Now that science fact has become stranger than science fiction, it's good to have a book that explains the physical universe in clear prose and pictures. The authors' stated intention is to make readers feel "at home in the Cosmos," although many of the astronomical photographs might leave us a bit in awe of the place where we live. In fact, I'm surprised that the authors didn't use more images from the Hubble space telescope. Perhaps it is because their stated intention is to explain, not simply astound. Conceptual drawings such as "How protons decay" are also found in abundance.
Tyson, Liu, and Irion introduce readers to 'the' golden age of astronomy (Right here. Right now) and explain the principles that govern our everyday lives, as well as the workings of the cosmos. That's quite a lot to accomplish in a book that is also a visual feast (400 full-color illustrations). However, the authors are well-suited to tackle the job. Neil de Grasse Tyson is the Frederick P. Rose Director of the Hayden Planetarium at the American Museum of Natural History. Charles Liu is an astrophysicist at the Museum. Robert Irion is a free-lance journalist, and a contributing editor and correspondent to Astronomy and Science.

Using everyday analogies (as opposed to mathematical formulae), the authors take us on a journey through our universe, from the infinitesimal to the infinite. Here is an example illustrating Newton's second law of motion:
"Imagine standing behind two people wearing roller skates. One is a 90-pound ballerina, and the other is a sumo wrestler who weighs five times as much. If you push on each person with equal force (and tact), you will accelerate the ballerina five times more quickly. That ratio holds true in space as well."
"One Universe" includes an illustrated timeline of the major advances in astronomy and physics, from Democritus to Hale-Bopp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our Universe-At Home in the Cosmos by Tyson, Liu, Irion et., August 22, 2003
This review is from: One Universe: At Home in the Cosmos (Hardcover)
This work would make a wonderful gift for a student in
grammar school or early high school. It has a thorough
explanation of the color band, motion and energy.
Major Newtonian laws are explained and demonstrated. The author
demonstrates comparative orbital forms; such as, the arch,
ellipse, parabola and hyperbola. He explains how changes
in matter are a function of temperature, pressure and density
factors. The work concludes with some important theories of
an expansive universe. The book is challenging-intellectually.
The science is firmly grounded in classic theories of
Sir Isaac Newton and a host of other important mathematicians
and physicists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Universe, December 2, 2009
By 
Enid Logan (Simi Valley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Universe: At Home in the Cosmos (Hardcover)
I have always loved astronomy. Neil DeGrasse Tyson is an excellent author. Astronomy is not easy to grasp, but Mr Tyson makes it enjoyable and understandable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every page a treasure trove of interesting information about our world!, August 26, 2014
This review is from: One Universe: At Home in the Cosmos (Hardcover)
Fantastic book by Neil deGrasse Tyson about our Universe and the life forms in it, the cosmology of and structure of our Universe- and many of the unbelievable objects in space, from nebula all the way to novas, supernova's and black holes.

Recently a friend asked me why I should concern myself about supernovas out in deep space. My response was "suppose one of those distant supernovas happened about a thousand light years from us. Fast forward a thousand years and we have a stupendous amount of explosive energy, to the tune of a million of our own star's- THE SUN's, heading our way at 630 million miles per hour. Suddenly all that power is about to A) irradiate our planet with cosmic rays, or B) blast our solar system to atoms, within a few hours.

See how that little problem way out in space may quickly be of immense interest to Earthlings?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book by a wonderful author, May 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Universe: At Home in the Cosmos (Hardcover)
Lavishly illustrated to support the text, this large format book is a wonderful addition to any reader's library. While I have started reading it it is going to take me awhile to fully comprehend the subject matter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous Book, Full of Great Info, August 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Universe: At Home in the Cosmos (Hardcover)
Both my daughter and I are enjoying this book. The photographs are stunning and the content really gets you thinking without being boring or too complex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Universe, July 5, 2010
By 
Gary Sprandel (Frankfort, Kentucky) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Universe: At Home in the Cosmos (Hardcover)
Being a few decades out of college physics, this book offers some amazing new information, in a pleasing well written format. Though these cosmic ideas are hard to describe, the authors try to connect to our experience, for example when discussing the density of a neutron star "That's life stuffing a heard of 50 million elephants into a thimble". The book is divided into three aspects of natures: motion, matter, and energy. The final chapter deals with frontiers, such as the search for life and Drake equation, and how the big bang brought forth the universe (though it seems incomprehensible that all space and matter initially "could have passed through the eye of a needle"). The book is well illustrated with both drawings, and photographs such as deep space shots from the Hubble Space Telescope. I used this as a good accompaniment of the Teaching Company's class "My Favorite Universe".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative Book, March 23, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Universe: At Home in the Cosmos (Hardcover)
This book is not for amature astronomers. The explainations require some previous knowledge. The information is very acurate and in depth. The pictures are wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

One Universe: At Home in the Cosmos
One Universe: At Home in the Cosmos by Neil deGrasse Tyson (Hardcover - December 17, 1999)
$40.00 $28.57
In stock on December 24, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.