Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for beginners or artists
This is a fantastic book for beginners or artists looking to get an extra creative spark. The watercolor artwork represented in it is outstanding, but the more outstanding thing about this book are the activities. The work that is described really gets an artist thinking about how to create and more importantly how to think. It does not dwell on technique or materials...
Published 4 months ago by S. Light

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars One a Day
This certainly is a different kind of publication. For someone like me whose watercolors do not turn out the way I would like, it's a great book as I see attempts that, to me, look amateurish. So this tell me that others out there who are disappointed with their work might like this book as they can see that some other people think they are good enough to publish. I...
Published 28 days ago by Reader.in.AthensGreece


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for beginners or artists, December 5, 2013
By 
S. Light (Manhattan USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Watercolor a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity Using Watercolor, Pattern, and Design (One A Day) (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book for beginners or artists looking to get an extra creative spark. The watercolor artwork represented in it is outstanding, but the more outstanding thing about this book are the activities. The work that is described really gets an artist thinking about how to create and more importantly how to think. It does not dwell on technique or materials which a lot of art books can do. It dwells on how to be creative everyday and how to find the best way for you as an artist to become better. I will be recommending this book to all my friends that want to learn watercolors and how to be an artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyday advice for everyone., December 20, 2013
By 
This review is from: One Watercolor a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity Using Watercolor, Pattern, and Design (One A Day) (Paperback)
Watercolor is a medium with a reputation for being difficult to learn and master. "One Watercolor A Day" dispels that in its first few pages. If you;e just starting out, if you've hit a bump in your work or if you just want to branch out, order it now and spend the next month follows the author's friendly advice..
I have been painting watercolors for over a decade but this book surprises and delights me every day. It has clear, intelligent advice, inspiring examples, and a general air of "you can do it" that has jogged me in all sorts of new directions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun book for trying something new or spontaneous, December 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Watercolor a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity Using Watercolor, Pattern, and Design (One A Day) (Paperback)
Length:: 1:00 Mins

One Watercolor A Day follows the same style as Veronica Lawlor's previous book One Drawing A Day.

It's a 6-week course of 42 daily exercises on experimenting with watercolour.

The exercises are actually subjects that you can draw such as still life, landscapes, people, places, patterns and other miscellaneous ideas. If you're looking for ideas on things to draw, maybe this is the book for you.

This is not a book on watercolour techniques. The visual examples are loose and expressive. Very much like watercolour doodles, not the realistic representational kind, so there's no stress on trying to match the quality that you see. The goal is to have some fun while exploring the styles offered and suggested by the different artists featured in the book.

The artists are from Studio 1482, namely Veronica Lawlor, Despina Georgiadis, Eddie Peña, Dominick Santise, Greg Betza, Michele Bedigian and Margaret Hurst.

It's a fun book for those who feel like trying something spontaneous, new or different for a change.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, inspirational, and mind-expanding!, December 18, 2013
By 
Brody Turk (New York City) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Watercolor a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity Using Watercolor, Pattern, and Design (One A Day) (Paperback)
This book, as a follow-up to the immensely wonderful "One Drawing a Day", allows depth, experimentation, exploration, and possibilities to a medium that is both exciting and sometimes intimidating. Also, the watercolor examples inside are amazing enough for a purchase on their own! A fantastic book for beginners and experienced/professional artists, and a great book as an upcoming New Years Resolution, as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is great!!, February 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Watercolor a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity Using Watercolor, Pattern, and Design (One A Day) (Paperback)
If you want to learn how to "draw" or "paint" with watercolors, this is not your book. If you want realistic styled art, do not buy this. This book is for people looking to expand their existing knowledge of watercolor techniques. It breaks you from your comfort zone to find your hidden talents. I would use it as a teaching tool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars big on inspiration, but small on eye-candy, March 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Watercolor a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity Using Watercolor, Pattern, and Design (One A Day) (Paperback)
I'm an art-class addict, and so any art book that contains the words "course" or "workshop" in the title is immediately of interest to me. I also love to work in watercolor paint, but I find my commitment to it ebbs and flows and I was hoping this book might provide me with six solid weeks of inspiration.

And it does- sort of. The book is actually six weeks of prompts rather than lessons. Each "prompt" is about a paragraph or two long (for example "paint a body in motion", "create a portrait in a color you hate", "paint beautiful flowers"), basically giving you the subject matter of your painting and a *little* bit of guidance, style-wise.

But that's about it. There are no techniques, no styles, no real "tips and tricks" to develop your watercolor skills. The basic message of this book is that if you do commit to six weeks of doing a daily watercolor painting, your skills will basically develop on their own, because you are mastering the medium just by becoming so familiar with it. There's truth to that, of course, but it's really nice to be able to pick up some new methods along the way, things you can't learn simply by playing around.

Another issue I have with this book is the lack of source material. Most of the prompts in the book instruct the reader to paint something from real life- a portrait, architecture, a still life. And with each prompt, there is a completed watercolor illustration that serves as an example of the prompt. But there are NO source materials pictured with the watercolor images, so it's a little hard to figure out how, exactly, the artist might have put his/her own spin on things via the medium of watercolor. It would be nice to see the landscape that served as the basis of the watercolor illustration you are looking at, or the still life that the artist painted in one color, just so you can see how values and shades were translated via watercolor.

Finally, I wasn't really crazy about any of the art in this book. It's all quick sketches using watercolor paints. I'm drawn to pattern and vibrant colors, and this book didn't deliver either. Most every prompt is firmly rooted in copying something from real life. In a way, this book is like flipping through a sketchbook that someone painted in VERY QUICKLY. Every image is comprised of just a few loose strokes.

But I stand by my four star review simply because I DO believe that six weeks of daily watercolors WILL teach you a whole lot about the medium and your own style as an artist. And if you go through the book one lesson at a time, every single day, you'll learn a lot. But if you are like me -someone who likes to not only read a book from cover to cover, but then dip back into it for inspiration afterwards time and time again - this book doesn't have much of a shelf life. There's no paintings or ideas in here that made me say "wow! This is so inspiring!" and spark my interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Teaching Tool, March 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Watercolor a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity Using Watercolor, Pattern, and Design (One A Day) (Paperback)
As a professional watercolor artist, I often teach classes which include various levels of proficiency. This book gives a teacher a number of good suggestions for class sessions which lend themselves to beginners and more experienced painters. Of particular
interest to me was her inclusion of other mediums to use with watercolor which would allow experimentation on the part of those with some background in watercolor.

As a teacher I would adapt some of Lawlor's ideas to suit the specific student. And I would not hesitate to suggest ONE WATERCOLOR A DAY to other painters. Especially if an artist finds herself at a place where she feels stuck and needs a new direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another New Journal in the Making, January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Watercolor a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity Using Watercolor, Pattern, and Design (One A Day) (Paperback)
Bought another new journal of watercolor paper to work my way through this book - love the ideas and techniques - very inspiring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First Day Is Not Here Yet, March 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Watercolor a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity Using Watercolor, Pattern, and Design (One A Day) (Paperback)
I like the book but have not started my exploration. Too much snow with gloomy days. Looking forward to serving into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Art-moving, March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Watercolor a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity Using Watercolor, Pattern, and Design (One A Day) (Paperback)
This book gives you something different to try each day. Each project is an adventure in watercolor and I intend to use it to teach my six year old granddaughter techniques to use when she is exploring her own creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9b744ce4)

This product

One Watercolor a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity Using Watercolor, Pattern, and Design (One A Day)
$22.99 $14.54
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.