Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource for Community Management Success
Customer Video Review     Length:: 4:04 Mins
Deb Ng's book shares both the tactical steps and the philosophical strategies needed to help successfully manage online communities.

Deb has a lot of experience in this area and it shows in this excellent book.

Her book's guidance can help you attract and retain members, better moderate disputes, and position your forum for...
Published on December 5, 2011 by Scott Fox, ClickMillionairescom

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Way too much repeating - Too vague
While I do appreciate the fact the book fairly accurately depicts everything that is expected from a community manager I simply can't shake the feeling that all of that could have been written in 100 pages or less. Certain things get repeated several times, not because they are important but because they are barely related to that chapter. Since I skipped around a third...
Published 23 months ago by dude0702


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource for Community Management Success, December 5, 2011
By 
Scott Fox, ClickMillionairescom (Los Angeles, California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Online Community Management For Dummies (Paperback)
Length:: 4:04 Mins

Deb Ng's book shares both the tactical steps and the philosophical strategies needed to help successfully manage online communities.

Deb has a lot of experience in this area and it shows in this excellent book.

Her book's guidance can help you attract and retain members, better moderate disputes, and position your forum for growth online.

More details (including a funny cartoon) in my review video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A helpful conversation, November 25, 2011
This review is from: Online Community Management For Dummies (Paperback)
Reading this book, it feels like a conversation with Deb. That's good, because Deb really knows this subject well. The information about how to manage online communities is solid and useful. The section on dealing with the negative side of online community is particularly good. For those new to the field who think they will be "hanging around online all day," Deb clears up that myth pretty fast. And while the introductory information is core, the advanced information is where this book shines. Deb goes in depth on key topics, including handling what you hear from your online community, sharing that through the company, and responding to personal scandals. I wasn't expecting a chapter on kids' communities, but I'm glad to see it's in there. Taken as a whole, it's a useful tool not only for dummies, but also for professionals called on to manage communities online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Way too much repeating - Too vague, July 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Online Community Management For Dummies (Paperback)
While I do appreciate the fact the book fairly accurately depicts everything that is expected from a community manager I simply can't shake the feeling that all of that could have been written in 100 pages or less. Certain things get repeated several times, not because they are important but because they are barely related to that chapter. Since I skipped around a third of the book it's possible that those things were mentioned even a couple of more times.

Moreover, the whole book is just too vague, even the (rare) examples end up being lossely related and not very helpful. Yes, I know the topic is a general one but the book lacks any specific information. Imagine asking someone the time and he/she replies "Check your watch" - that's how I felt reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great resource or refresher for community managers!, December 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Online Community Management For Dummies (Paperback)
Now let me be clear, I have never been a huge fan of the `For Dummies' books. Don't get me wrong, I have cracked a couple of those books in the days when I was attempting to learn how to code. I have, however, read the recent, Online Community Management for Dummies book by the wicked smart Deb Ng and have to say it is the best I've read in this series.

If you are new to the community management role, this book is for you. Deb outlines the many hats you must juggle as a community manager both on and offline. The book is comprised of seven parts ranging from community governance to hosting meetups and is full of tips and tricks from someone who has the battle scars of fostering a community. The underlying theme of each chapter is the focus on the health of the community...not the numbers or superficial and false indicators of success.

The role of community manager is anything but new, but it is the "it" job at present. If you are making the case for a community manager, the final section is comprised of three top ten lists that may help you with your cause. The lists outline the tasks, skills and best practices of a community manager. A community manager is an integral part of the organization because he/she is the bridge between the organization and the communities it serves. This is no position for a dummy, but everyone needs a good roadmap or refresher course, so pass on this book on to your community team. Start a discussion about how you can begin fostering a healthier dialog online and offline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, June 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Online Community Management For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a wonderful resource for learning how to manage a board. It's full of useful and real-world current information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some good bits of info, March 5, 2014
By 
Deborah Quinn (FAIRFIELD, CT, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I definitely picked up a few facts so if you learn one thing it is worth it right?

However, a lot of the info was very basic and repetitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read for those considering a career in Community Management and a fantastic resource for our industry., February 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"There’s more to being a community manager than a little social networking. You need a thick skin, a pleasant personality, and the ability to organize and prioritize." —Deb Ng

If you’re considering a career in Community Management, I highly recommend Online Community Management for Dummies by Deb Ng. Deb covers everything from becoming a Community Manager to discovering successful existing communities to how to track community stats and run an offline event.

This book serves as a fantastic resource for existing community managers as well. I found myself reaching a level of information overload, but in a positive way. With highlighter in hand for future reference, I was able to power through and take notes of which nuggets of wisdom I could apply now and which to work on in the future.

I absolutely loved that Deb was able to pull together so much information that applies no matter what type of community you are or which tools you are using. This book does a fantastic job on focusing on key concepts in community management in a way that you can apply regardless of your situation.

My advice? Grab this book, take a look at the index, and decide which areas you want to focus on.

What can you improve today?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo Deb!, August 12, 2012
By 
D. Dorchak (Las Vegas, Nevada United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Online Community Management For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is the definitive guide to all things dealing with online community management. Whether your community revolves around a favorite hobby or you're using it to grow your business, ​Online Community Management for Dummies​ gives you the tools you need to establish a strong, professional foundation for your audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource for Beginner Community Managers, May 9, 2012
This review is from: Online Community Management For Dummies (Paperback)
Like others have said, I am also not always a fan of the Dummies series of books, simply because the rigid structure is less interesting to me than personal stories. However, Deb Ng does a fantastic job in this Dummies book keeping the content interesting and even fun to read! This is a Dummies book, so it's fantastic for beginners, but even if you are an experienced community manager, I think you will find some useful tips in this book. I would not hesitate to recommend this book to anyone interested in community management as a career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great way to understand community building online, April 25, 2012
This review is from: Online Community Management For Dummies (Paperback)
If you want to know what makes an online community really work and serve its members, Deb's book is a perfect place to start. She's done it and she writes about it clearly.

Book arrived just as Lori Widmer and I were starting the 5 Buck Forum at About Writing Squared and believe me, it helped... and still helps when we've got a question.

Thanks Deb - I recommend this book without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Online Community Management For Dummies
Online Community Management For Dummies by Deborah Ng (Paperback - November 29, 2011)
$24.99 $17.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.