Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of the Shadows, Into the Light
Most baseball fans are familiar with the great names and stories that emanated from the Negro Leagues. Satchel Paige, ever the showman, often asked his fielders to sit down while he struck out a dangerous hitter; Cool Papa Bell was so fast that he could blow out a candle and be in bed before the room got dark; and Josh Gibson may or may not have hit a ball completely...
Published on September 14, 2000 by Hank Waddles

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
my husband loves it
Published 3 months ago by susan koutiel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super book, December 10, 1999
This review is from: Only the Ball Was White: A History of Legendary Black Players and All-Black Professional Teams (Paperback)
This book provides an entertaining look at the Negro Leagues and the years prior, when blacks were banned by the "Gentlemen's Aggreement" from participating in the national past time. Although not a comprehensive study, it does provide the reader with a glimpse of what the Negro Leagues were like. One is left with a whole series of "What might have been?" to ponder. Overall, a great book and well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review of ONLY THE BALL WAS WHITE, July 19, 2000
This review is from: Only the Ball Was White: A History of Legendary Black Players and All-Black Professional Teams (Paperback)
I felt that the book was very good, from an African American stand point. The stories told throughout the book were very interesting because they all symbolize the trials and tribulations that the African Americans had to face in those days of despair. Even though blacks weren't allowed to do a lot of over the years, such as vote, play baseball with whites, and get a decent education, they still found away to overcome these obstacles and succeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their Own Game, July 19, 2000
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Only the Ball Was White: A History of Legendary Black Players and All-Black Professional Teams (Paperback)
This book beautifully captures the heart and soul of what the Negro League was. Not only does it give a real insight into what the game of baseball meant to the players and fans, but helps one understand how the alienation of blacks from big-league play was a great tradgedy to the game. This book makes me wonder how great the game could be today, if this tradgedy had not occurred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks uncle, April 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Only the Ball Was White: A History of Legendary Black Players and All-Black Professional Teams (Paperback)
30 years ago my uncle said he was in a baseball book he showed me the copy he had.I new I had to have my copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, you will learn a lot from this book., February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Only the Ball Was White: A History of Legendary Black Players and All-Black Professional Teams (Paperback)
I'am a big baseball fan and I am very interested in the history of the Negro Leagues . This book covers Negro League baseball from start to finish. I'ts a must read for anyone who loves baseball. Some of the greatest players never got the regognition theydeserved and were subjected to unbelievable prejudice and hardship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than I bargained for, April 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Only the Ball Was White: A History of Legendary Black Players and All-Black Professional Teams (Paperback)
I was expecting articles on all the great black ballplayers of the past. Instead, I got a true history of the negro teams that used to exist in the US as well as a list of the legendary players at the end. If you love baseball history, you need to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, November 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Only the Ball Was White: A History of Legendary Black Players and All-Black Professional Teams (Paperback)
My great-great uncle is listed in this book and I found it to be a significant piece of history for my family and me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, June 19, 2012
This review is from: Only the Ball Was White: A History of Legendary Black Players and All-Black Professional Teams (Paperback)
I read this book not long after it was published (1970), and I remember being awed by the story of the Negro Leagues -- the great players, the games, the prodigious feats, the hard life of travel and the daily racist repressions and insults. This is not only a history of baseball, it's the story of African-American contributions to the sport. These players should be known by everybody who loves baseball. Highly, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Only the Ball Was White, December 22, 2007
This review is from: Only the Ball Was White: A History of Legendary Black Players and All-Black Professional Teams (Paperback)
A scholarly effort by a great Negro Leagues historian, evidenced by Oxford University Press imprint. Highly informative, a tremendous read! Five-star plus*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, September 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Only the Ball Was White: A History of Legendary Black Players and All-Black Professional Teams (Paperback)
my husband loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Only the Ball Was White: A History of Legendary Black Players and All-Black Professional Teams
$19.99 $14.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.