Customer Reviews


427 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (49)
2 star:
 (51)
1 star:
 (183)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most (Critically) Controversial Film of the Summer
Ever since catching a whiff of the plot for Only God Forgives on the internet a few years ago, the film was at the top of my watch-list. Once the movie's subversive first poster (a beat up Ryan Gosling and the title of the film) came to light, I knew it was going to be an event. My own excitement aside, I must admit that Only God Forgives is not for everyone; it's not...
Published 11 months ago by Ben Pieper

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ryan Gosling staring off into the distance...
Some of my friends wanted to see this movie after enjoying Drive. Well, I don't think we all realized how different this one was from that movie. The whole movie plays like a dream, with long shots, strange editing cuts, and sometimes pointless scenes. The "off-putting" violence I have read about in other reviews is pretty fitting here. One minute Ryan Gosling is...
Published 7 months ago by Jim


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most (Critically) Controversial Film of the Summer, August 3, 2013
Ever since catching a whiff of the plot for Only God Forgives on the internet a few years ago, the film was at the top of my watch-list. Once the movie's subversive first poster (a beat up Ryan Gosling and the title of the film) came to light, I knew it was going to be an event. My own excitement aside, I must admit that Only God Forgives is not for everyone; it's not even meant for everyone who enjoyed Nicolas Winding Refn's previous Gosling collaboration Drive.

Only God Forgives has some of the most shockingly ornate film violence in recent memory and that very same aestheticized violence is what has been earning it shaky reviews from critics (currently 38% at Rotten Tomatoes at the time of this review) and audiences (Currently 6.2 on IMDB) alike. What it all comes down to is how much you can appreciate the art of filmmaking. That may sound like the most pretentious critic statement of all time, but Only God Forgives is a film that has absorbed its influence from many cinematic greats. Throughout the movie I could not stop recalling Stanley Kubrick films like The Shining and Eyes Wide Shut. Eventually the credits reveal that Kubrick's frequent crew member Larry Smith was the director of photography for Refn on this picture. Kubrick is not the only auteur whose influence can be seen in this film. Artists like David Lynch and Alejandro Jodorowsky (whom the film is dedicated to) can be recognized by the seasoned eye.

One of the criticisms in customer reviews is the film's violence. Only God Forgives is not for viewers with weak stomachs or squeamish tendencies.If someone reading this is considering showing this to their kids for any reason I can confidently say that they should keep their children under the age of 16 as far away from this movie as possible. Refn delivers the most stylish film of the year so far and I'm a sucker for gorgeous colors and haunting cinematography; Only God Forgives has the look of a film that I treasure and more. At the risk of of sounding like a complete droog, I also dig aestheticized violence. I also dig great performances which OGF is not short on. Gosling and Scott Thomas are solid, but the actor who I had never really taken in before this is Vithaya Pansringarm. Pansringarm's stolid-faced performance as Chang is as badass as it is mystifying. At one point in the film, Chang sings karaoke in front of a group of police officers. How he manages to maintain the high levels of intimidation, I'll never know, but Pansringarm is a brutal pleasure to watch onscreen.

I notice in many customer reviews that people are complaining of the film's lack of plot. I disagree with this assertion. It's not that Only God Forgives has no plot, it does, however it is seldom explained through dialogue. Refn accomplishes a rarity in this day and age; telling a story through the visual language of film. It's what movie's were meant to do; it's what silent film's did for decades. However, while Refn does tell the story through artistic means, it is not exactly a wholly original story for a thriller. What makes the screenplay of OGF so intriguing for those willing to give it a chance is the disturbing textures that Refn gives to the heavily symbolic characters. Only God Forgives has the potential to be analyzed like a short story or an allegorical novel and is rife with justifiable psychological readings.

What audiences should NOT go into Only God Forgives expecting is:

A. An effort similar to Drive
B. Ryan Gosling in romantic and/or shirtless mode
C. Anything resembling a commercial "fighting" movie like Never Back Down or The Fighter

I encourage every film viewer to give Only God Forgives a chance, but they should prepare to be challenged and unsettled by this highly divisive work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `Time to meet the devil.', July 20, 2013
By 
Controversial as this film already is (the critics hate it, those who have watched it either hate or love it), it is a solid stretch of cinematic art by writer/director Nicolas Winding Refn. He is an artist who challenges audiences and takes enormous risks: his 1996 film, the extremely violent and uncompromising PUSHER became a cult phenomenon and won Refn instant international critical acclaim. That was followed by BLEEDER and the now cult classic DRIVE. Each of these films is highly stylized and focuses on introverted reactions to outward situations. ONLY GOD FORGIVES pushes those traits even further: completely set in Thailand it weighs in on Asian symbolism, spiritualism and response to revenge or own hand rights. It is very dark, both in the cinematography of Larry Smith and in the ever-present veneer of killing and death and mutilation. The entire film is a study in color manipulation, slow movement (as in Noh theater), minimal dialog, and even more minimal character development. And yet somehow Refn makes all of this work to his advantage to hold the audience, as though imprisoned, to examine the extents of evil.

The setting is Bangkok. Ten years ago Julian (Ryan Gosling) killed a man and went on the run. Now he manages a Thai boxing club as a front for a drugs operation. Respected in the criminal underworld, deep inside, he feels empty. When Julian's brother Billy (Tom Burke) murders an underage prostitute, the police call on retired cop Chang (Vithaya Pansringarm) - the Angel of Vengeance whose other obsession is Karaoke singing. Chang allows the father to kill his daughter's murderer, then 'restores order' by chopping off the man's right hand. Julian's mother Crystal (Kristin Scott Thomas) - the foul-mouthed nasty head of a powerful criminal organization - arrives in Bangkok to collect her favorite first son's body. She charges Julian to find his killers and 'raise hell'. Despite being beaten severely in a fight with Chang, Julian's inability to react to anything - even to the physical relationship with a strange girl Mai (Yayaying Rhatha Phongam) - leads to mayhem that in many ways does not even seem to affect him.

The casting is strange: obviously Ryan Gosling was hired for the role of Julian because of his works with Reyn in DRIVE. He is called upon to do very little and as a result we are not able to appreciate his motivation or his presence in the story. Kristin Scott Thomas is a brilliant actress but here she is merely a source of filthy accusations and Kabuki-like poses. The star of the film is Vithaya Pansringarm, and even though we loathe him and his malicious manner he alone gives us an idea of why he is doing what he is doing, framing it all with obnoxious Karaoke singing in a garish nightclub. Everything about the film is slow and dark and yet for some obscure reason it works. Grady Harp, July 13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unfounded complaints, August 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Most of the critics who did not like this film criticized it on grounds that are not accurate to the film at all. People who liked drive will like this film. The violence is not close to Tarantino films. The film has beautiful technique and every sound and scene is delivered perfectly. The color contrast is excellent.

I do not know where the complaints that this film is pretentious come from. Yes it would be classified as an arthouse film and it is definitely stylized. But it is a beautiful film that anyone who takes film serious needs to see and form their own opinions about it.

I give it the movie five stars because I enjoyed every minute of it. It is cliched but not in a bad way. I do not want to reveal too much of the plot but it is a good guy versus bad people film but don't be shocked to find this cliche exciting and told in an interesting, new way.

My last bit of praise comes from the acting. Everyone was perfect and you will walk away from the film still thinking about each character. People who view this will form different opinions about each character. Kristin Scott Thomas is one of the strongest personalities in the film. (I have no clue where the misogynistic complaints come from, violence and fighting are not misogynistic. The same people who criticized this film have given praise to films with a lot of misogyny. A few characters can be misogynistic, but that is a reflection of tue reality of some people in the world. The film does not endorse misogyny and it in fact strikes it done with harsh punishment.)

If you do not exactly what to think before watching this film I'd recommend Richard Roeper's review from the Chicago Sun-Times. I loved it but not everyone will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ryan Gosling staring off into the distance..., November 20, 2013
This review is from: Only God Forgives [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Some of my friends wanted to see this movie after enjoying Drive. Well, I don't think we all realized how different this one was from that movie. The whole movie plays like a dream, with long shots, strange editing cuts, and sometimes pointless scenes. The "off-putting" violence I have read about in other reviews is pretty fitting here. One minute Ryan Gosling is sitting down, the next minute he is smashing a glass in some guy's face.

90% of the movie is made up of Ryan staring (he doesn't have more than 8 lines for like the first 20 minutes of the film), or the other actors just...staring. These kinds of scenes made me laugh as the characters, especially Ryan Gosling, seem emotionless. Couple that with the neon lighting and mostly night time shots, and well, it makes for a weird film.

I'm all for an artsy flick. Heck, I can really enjoy a slow-moving movie every now and then. But this is just NOT worth your time. I would have loved to have heard how they pitched this movie to a producer and received funding, because so much of this movie is just people staring (not nearly as much violence as what I have read). One final cherry on top: one thing that could have redeemed this movie, was a scene with cool-sounding Tron-esque music in which a fight scene is set up. The fight scene was short and extremely disappointing. I don't write reviews often, but I had to let others know to not waste their time on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not everyone will get it, but the "right" people will get it., October 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is very hard to get Americans to understand the realities of martial arts, violence and Asian culture. The Thai characters in this movie is pitch perfect. I've never seen such good martial arts violence combined with such subtle acting. It's sad but inevitable that general audiences are not equipped to appreciate this film. I laughed and cried the whole way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HORRIBLE MOVIE and COMPLETE waste of time, November 15, 2013
This review is from: Only God Forgives (DVD)
ZERO stars because there is NOTHING good to report about this film!!! Sad snapshots of depravity, bizarre scene jumps that make no sense, no character building and weak interplay, dark scenes and very slowwww, boring monotonous tones throughout. This seems to be not much more than some producers drug-fueled nightmare that he/she decided would make a good film (apparently originally made for Far Eastern audiences anyway). Nothing culturally interesting to begin the slightest interest for American audiences, either. Don't waste your time or money on this one. Disappointing for Gosling to give this his time and VERY disappointed with Kristen Scott Thomas...maybe an attempt on her part to diverge from her more "refined" characters??? SAD, very SAD. Spent entire movie waiting for something to connect and get my interest. As it drew close to the end, I hoped for some big bow to tie all of the choppiness together...it never came.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Slow paced...confusing...and jumbled up..., April 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Save your money...worst movie ever by ryan gosling...no clue why he was in it...one of the worst movies ever seen...barely stayed awake through it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking and violent, November 14, 2013
By 
Neal C. Reynolds (Indianapolis, Indiana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Only God Forgives (DVD)
It's obvious that this isn't for everyone, but I and those who watched it with me were truly struck with this. It's violent, yes. It is self-consciously artistic, yes. But it has tremendous impact. Ryan Gosling is at his best, and that's good enough for anyone, I should think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My reivew of "Only God Forgives", October 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It doesn't have any character development to speak of, but that's the point: all of the characters are archetypes and they all serve to tell a simple story about the nature of things. In this case, the film largely deals with nature and subjective morality of revenge, but also touches on parent-child relationships (Julian's mother is kind of like Oedipus' mother), the way in which the cycle of violence affects us, and how justice is served and affects us in an abjectly cruel world. While it touches on a lot of weighty subjects, the movie still doesn't say anything truly profound, save, that violence begets more violence but that justice will eventually be served. On the quality of the film, it's what you would expect from Refn: immaculately composed cinematic images, brilliant use of color and mood and a moody soundtrack (from Cliff Martinez, who did Drive as well) which lends a certain intensity to the whole affair. Overall, this a great movie which should be seen by any self-respecting cineaste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Dark, September 16, 2013
This review is from: Only God Forgives [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you don't know Refn's movie you've got to know 3 important things : - He makes contemplative movies. With a lot of silence and a minimalist screenplay. - He said "Art is an act of violence" so don't expect to see a peaceful movie.

This movie is not what you would typically expect after watching say The Note Book. Do not expect this movie to be any less of a movie then Drive. [as this is the same director] You will find this movie to be quite at parts so focus you visually on what is going on, and to suck you into a depressing stupor to become one with theme of the movie. This is done well and the acting sucks you into this dark gloomy movie as the scenes unfold.

If you don't like different, weird, violent, trippy movies, then I can't recommend this to you... otherwise strap in and prepare your mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Only God Forgives [Blu-ray]
Only God Forgives [Blu-ray] by Ryan Gosling (Blu-ray - 2013)
$34.99 $13.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.