Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't venture into the bond market without this book...
I always thought that investing in bonds would be a pretty basic activity... You see an interest rate, you buy the bond, you get the payments. Wrong! I've been set straight by the book The Only Guide to a Winning Bond Strategy You'll Ever Need : The Way Smart Money Preserves Wealth Today by Larry E. Swedroe and Joseph H. Hempen.

Contents: Introduction;...
Published on April 29, 2006 by Thomas Duff

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bother with the Kindle Edition
Not only is this Kindle edition high priced but it lacks a usable table of contents, severely limiting navigation within the book.
Published on May 23, 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't venture into the bond market without this book..., April 29, 2006
This review is from: The Only Guide to a Winning Bond Strategy You'll Ever Need: The Way Smart Money Preserves Wealth Today (Hardcover)
I always thought that investing in bonds would be a pretty basic activity... You see an interest rate, you buy the bond, you get the payments. Wrong! I've been set straight by the book The Only Guide to a Winning Bond Strategy You'll Ever Need : The Way Smart Money Preserves Wealth Today by Larry E. Swedroe and Joseph H. Hempen.

Contents: Introduction; Bondspeak; The Risks of Fixed-Income Investing; The Buying and Selling of Individual Bonds; How the Fixed-Income Markets Really Work; The Securities of the U.S. Treasury, Government Agencies, and Government-Sponsored Enterprises; The World of Short-Term Fixed-Income Securities; The World of Corporate Fixed-Income Securities; The World of International Fixed-Income Securities; The World of Mortgage-Backed Securities; The World of Municipal Bonds; How to Design and Construct Your Fixed-Income Portfolio; Summary; Afterword; Appendices; Notes; Glossary; Acknowledgments; Index

While not an expert investor by any means, I thought I understood the basics about bonds. I figured that buying a bond meant that you looked at the rating on how strong the company is, chose something that was investment grade, and then buy the security that provides the interest rate that you want to achieve. The reality is far, far different. I didn't realize there's really eight risks you have to manage when buying bonds: interest rate risks, credit risk, reinvestment risk, inflation risk, event risk, tax risk, liquidity risk, and agency risk. I didn't understand that the lack of transparency in the broker market means that you can get severely burned on a bond purchase and end up losing your stated interest rate *and* your principal. And of course, there are a myriad number of products, each with benefits and risks, and you can easily end up buying something that was designed to be "sold", not designed to be "invested". Swedroe and Hempen do a great job in outlining these things and many more in a relatively clear way. I say "relatively" because there is a fair amount of math and financial concepts presented here that you *do* need to understand and think about. This book would never be mistaken for a "Bonds for Dummies" title, but for serious investors looking to thoroughly understand the subject matter without delving into all the minutiae of formulas and calculations, you'd have a hard time topping this offering.

I'd definitely recommend this book to anyone who is serious in their financial investments and takes personal responsibility for them. While you may be at the stage of life where equities are more important to you than bonds, there's information here that will allow you to round out your financial education and acumen, and it's a purchase that will pay for itself many times over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be missed, April 19, 2006
By 
This review is from: The Only Guide to a Winning Bond Strategy You'll Ever Need: The Way Smart Money Preserves Wealth Today (Hardcover)
The strength of this book is in combining thorough coverage of the published research with practical, easily applicable advice. The authors know all the academic studies, explain them in a way that we nonspecialists can understand, and digest them into a clear, very usable strategy. Both authors have years of real-world, top-level bond trading experience, which also makes their advice especially useful; but the coverage of research, for me, is what sets the book apart. If you know nothing at all about bonds, I wouldn't necessarily start with it (I think it assumes you are not an absolute beginner); but once you have a sense of the basics, this book is essential reading, on the shortest short list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonds made clear, March 23, 2006
By 
J. Malpeli (Champaign, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Only Guide to a Winning Bond Strategy You'll Ever Need: The Way Smart Money Preserves Wealth Today (Hardcover)
This book strikes an unusually nice balance between comprehensive treatment of the subject and a style understandable by the average investor. Swedroe and Hempen's explanation of the pitfalls of the secondary bond market is particularly valuable, and the advice on Treasury Inflation Protected Securities more than paid for my copy. It's a great complement to Swedroe's first book ("The Only Guide to a Winning Investment Strategy You'll Ever Need"), which lays out Modern Portfolio Theory, but does not go into different types of bonds or the mechanics of the bond market in any depth. While Swedroe's advocacy of Modern Portfolio Theory comes across, I doubt that any reader would understand this theory from the book on bonds. The book ends with short, informative appendices on callable bonds and TIPS, plus a glossary that's particularly valuable because of the arcane terminology used in the bond market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb primer on bond investing, April 19, 2006
By 
This review is from: The Only Guide to a Winning Bond Strategy You'll Ever Need: The Way Smart Money Preserves Wealth Today (Hardcover)
Very well-written and thorough. Swedroe offers a very level-headed, articulate approach to bond investing. He offers a perspective which is hard to argue with, and ushers the reader through the whys and hows. If you read the book, it's unlikely you'll make any significant mistakes, and you'll actually enjoy the process. This is a book I can't imagine NOT having in the library. Before you purchase anything other than treasuries at auction, read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Understand Bond Investing, March 11, 2006
This review is from: The Only Guide to a Winning Bond Strategy You'll Ever Need: The Way Smart Money Preserves Wealth Today (Hardcover)
Mr. Swedroe and Hempen's book continues Mr. Swedroe's aim to educate and empower the average person in the area of investing by making financial markets more understandable. Detailed expalanations of bond types like TIPS, corporate, municipals, etc.reveal to the patient reader the strengths and weaknesses of each.This detailed information is not easily available in typical financial magazines. Guidelines are provided to readers who create a recommended bond Investment Policy Statement allowing them to structure a personal bond plan while avoiding excessive expenses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Bond Book, March 8, 2006
This review is from: The Only Guide to a Winning Bond Strategy You'll Ever Need: The Way Smart Money Preserves Wealth Today (Hardcover)
Larry and Joe have joined forces to produce a much-needed reader-friendly bond book. When your asset allocation calls for bonds and/or bond funds, you need to understand what you're buying, and this book takes the mystery out of bonds and bond funds. I predict that this will become THE bond book for the majority of investors. It's definitely a winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding book about bonds for individual investors., March 22, 2006
This review is from: The Only Guide to a Winning Bond Strategy You'll Ever Need: The Way Smart Money Preserves Wealth Today (Hardcover)
I have read many books about bonds. Most are highly technical and beyond comprehension by ordinary investors.

"The Only Guide to a Winning Bond Stratey You'll Ever Need," by Larry Swedroe and Joseph Hampen, is just what the title implies--a book that gives its reader, in understandable language, all the information he or she needs to select the fixed income investments required in a well diversified portfolio.

I recommend this book highly for anyone who wants to know more about bonds and other fixed income securities.

Taylor Larimore

Miami, Florida
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excllent practical guide to the bond market, May 31, 2006
By 
anon (las vegas, nv United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Only Guide to a Winning Bond Strategy You'll Ever Need: The Way Smart Money Preserves Wealth Today (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book for the novice investor, but it also goes into enough detail on the quantitative underpinnings of the recommended strategies to satisfy a more sophisticated audience. I had read Thau's book and had slogged through various articles on inflation-indexed bonds (including those compiled in Brynjolesson & Fabozzi's book) before I found this book.

Mr. Swedroe's descriptions of the market are straightforward and I really appreciated his efforts to reduce complicated theory into a workable strategy for individual investors. (Appendix B which outlines a strategy for investing in TIPS was particularly interesting). I was also pleasantly surprised that the author quickly responded to a clarification question I sent via e-mail. Mr. Swedroe appears sincerely committed to investors' getting the best information.

That was really refreshing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book for bonds out there, July 3, 2006
This review is from: The Only Guide to a Winning Bond Strategy You'll Ever Need: The Way Smart Money Preserves Wealth Today (Hardcover)
I've read book after book about equities, but there isn't much information about fixed-income asset investing. This book covers more than enough information to teach you about a winning bond strategy. If you are even trying to create a portfolio and wondering which funds to choice and why for your fixed-income selection, I would recommend this book. This book has taught me things I wish I would have known years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for a "bonds 101", June 7, 2007
By 
This review is from: The Only Guide to a Winning Bond Strategy You'll Ever Need: The Way Smart Money Preserves Wealth Today (Hardcover)
Great first book to learn about bonds and similar financial products... what they should and should not be used for, what to buy for what, and what not to buy, and of course, the soundest advice that you should get a professional to review your individual situation to find the best strategy to preserve capital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Only Guide to a Winning Bond Strategy You'll Ever Need: The Way Smart Money Preserves Wealth Today
$26.99 $19.06
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.