Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding investment book
As someone who owns a large collection of investment books, this latest contribution from Mr. Swedroe ranks at the top of the list. His gift is taking a complex subject and making it accessible to "the rest of us" yet not in any way "dumbing down" his presentation. It's the rare financial writer who can hold your attention chapter after chapter.

In this book...
Published on August 6, 2010 by VoraciousReader

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE ONLY GUIDE YOULL EVER NEED
In this book the author uses some basic economic formulas and builds advice around it. If you know all the terms beforehand, its probably a useful summary. But if you need just one source to get you going, this is not the book for you. Terms such as VALUE STOCKS and GROWTH STOCKS are used frequently, with little explanation. And the areader is frequently sent to one of...
Published 10 months ago by Phil


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding investment book, August 6, 2010
This review is from: The Only Guide You'll Ever Need for the Right Financial Plan: Managing Your Wealth, Risk, and Investments (Hardcover)
As someone who owns a large collection of investment books, this latest contribution from Mr. Swedroe ranks at the top of the list. His gift is taking a complex subject and making it accessible to "the rest of us" yet not in any way "dumbing down" his presentation. It's the rare financial writer who can hold your attention chapter after chapter.

In this book Mr. Swedroe carefully but succintly provides superb information on asset allocation (with sub-chapters on the various types of equities, bonds, alternative investments etc.), even including valuable discussion on whether or not to prepay your mortgage vs. increase your tax-advantaged savings, and asset location (i.e., in which retirement or taxable accounts to place particular investments for maximum tax-efficiency. With tax rates going up in 2011, that's more important than ever).

When you read this book you will also see he has included cogent chapters on college savings plans, long-term care insurance, IRAs, Social Security, and determining a safe withdrawal rate for your golden years.

This is the kind of investment book you will refer back to over and over again. If you read just one investment book this year, this should be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the Intermediate to Advanced DIY Investor, September 17, 2010
By 
Mike Piper (Manitou Springs, CO) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Only Guide You'll Ever Need for the Right Financial Plan: Managing Your Wealth, Risk, and Investments (Hardcover)
This book is brief, but it contains a great deal of helpful information for managing your portfolio.

For example, I particularly enjoyed the authors' discussion of risk tolerance as having three components: need to take risk, desire to take risk, and ability to take risk. In my experience, most investors don't take the time to consider that last one--ability to take risk. If you don't have a specific plan of action for what you'll do (specific ways you can cut your retirement spending, for example) if your portfolio doesn't put up the returns you expect, then you can't afford to take much risk in your portfolio.

Bravo to the authors for pointing that out.

My one caution would be that, if you're brand new to investing, this may not be the book to start with, as Swedroe and crew make no apologies about using technical terminology. If that sounds intimidating to you, I'd suggest starting with Swedroe's "Wise Investing Made Simple" instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooray for Another Gem !!, August 22, 2010
By 
K. Ibarra (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Only Guide You'll Ever Need for the Right Financial Plan: Managing Your Wealth, Risk, and Investments (Hardcover)
If you own or have read most of Larry Swedroe's books on investing (like I have), there isn't anything really new in his latest book. However, if you have not, and are into Do-It-Yourself financial planning, this book is priceless. Larry Swedroe's principles on index investing, risk management, asset allocation, portfolio diversification, choosing an adviser, fail-safe retirement withdrawals, and estate planning are concisely explained in this easy-to-read text. In short, this book summarizes all his previous works into a well written guide that removes the mystery and complexity out of financial and retirement planning. I started reading Larry's books when he first published in 1998, and it is so refreshing to know that his investing principles have not changed after 2 rip-roaring bull markets and 2 brutal bear markets that have followed. Unless you are a multi-millionaire with no concern about money, applying Larry's principles will not make you wealthy in retirement, but at the same time, you won't die poor and destitute in retirement either. Larry along with John Bogle, William Bernstein, Rick Ferri, Burton Malkiel, Jason Zweig, Jon Clements, and all the other wonderful Bogleheads, have truly given empowerment to the Main Street investor, and in so doing have made the so-called Wall Street gurus look like over-rated village idiots that they are. Larry, thank you for another one-two punch on enlightment and simplicity, and please keep the hits rolling !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview for investors and investment professionals, October 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Only Guide You'll Ever Need for the Right Financial Plan: Managing Your Wealth, Risk, and Investments (Hardcover)
As a registered investment advisor and candidate for CFP designation, I have eagerly read all of Larry Swedroe's books. I have read his entire series on "The Only Investment Guide You'll Ever Need," with this book being my most recent. This is a book that I would recommend to my financial planning clients so that they could better understand the work that we were doing together. And for "do it yourself" investors, I highly recommend reading this book - and the other books that Swedroe references in this book (his Alternative Investment book being a key one). Plus, even with all my training and experience as a financial planner, I learned enough useful material from this book to feel that it was well worth my time and money. He provides updated data post-market crash that I found very interesting. Many of his ideas and suggestions will find their way into my own clients' financial plans. Larry Swedroe is one of the good guys in the investment management world and I feel good following his lead in investing and financial planning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Even if you have a financial planner, this is worth a read ..., February 19, 2011
By 
John C. Hembruch (Greater St. Louis, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Only Guide You'll Ever Need for the Right Financial Plan: Managing Your Wealth, Risk, and Investments (Hardcover)
You're likely to be a fan of this book if you accept two premises: 1.) passively managed, low-expense, index funds or ETFs generally are better investment vehicles than actively managed funds; and 2.) Determining and maintaining the proper asset allocation among fund types is a better path to achieving your investment goals than attempting to time the markets. The text is organized into four parts and seventeen chapters that attempt to cover financial planning from beginning (creating a personal investment policy statement) to end (estate planning and preparing your heirs). People with some exposure to financial planning probably will be able to follow the author's thought process most of the time. Occasionally, I got lost, such as when he describes "efficient frontier models" (no matter, he doesn't believe in them, anyway), or when he plows his way through a long list of alternative investments like "covered calls" (which he doesn't recommend). He describes as well as anyone I've read the reasons why your home probably doesn't add "real estate" diversification to your portfolio, mainly because one home can never be as "diverse" as the total real estate market. One new (for me) and counter-intuitive thought I'm still pondering is his assertion that a small allocation of collateralized commodity futures may reduce the overall volatility of your portfolio in a way similar to fixed-income instruments. I was introduced to Swedroe's work by Jack Naldi, who used to write a personal investing column for the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Naldi is a champion of passive investing strategy, which probably did nothing to attract advertising dollars from financial services providers, and may be one reason that his tenure didn't seem to last very long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simplicity Born of Common Sense, September 30, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Only Guide You'll Ever Need for the Right Financial Plan: Managing Your Wealth, Risk, and Investments (Hardcover)
If you're looking for solid simplicity born of common sense, Larry Swedroe is the author for you. At 62 and having tried many investing techniques...some with good results, some with bad results...I've concluded that you can't do better than basic and simple. Larry Swedroe puts this supposedly complex topic into its basic form and one from which you will profit...period.

I don't always agree with his individual fund selections but that's very minor compared to the foundational insight he provides in all his books.

Two of the quotes that stuck with me from this particular book that influenced my investment philosophy in retirement were:

"One gets rich by working hard and taking big risks and that one stays rich by limiting risk and not spending too much."

"If you've already won the game, why still play?" Or put in my terms, "If you've won the gold buckle in the rodeo of life, why continue to ride the bull?"

I highly recommend his books, his blogs and his advice...

Soldier on Larry!

Colonel Dan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Financial Planning Book!, September 25, 2010
This review is from: The Only Guide You'll Ever Need for the Right Financial Plan: Managing Your Wealth, Risk, and Investments (Hardcover)
I agree with the other 5 star posts here - this is an excellent book. I have other books by Larry Swedroe, and follow his comments on the Bogleheads Forum and his Wise Investing site. He is a clear thinker and writer - and likes to share his insights, experience, and knowledge to help educate others. As others have said, this is not an introductory book - The Bogleheads' books and some of Larry's other books may better fit the bill here. It is also not a detailed text. Rather it is a well-written, concise, practical, and comprehensive book that provided me with lots of helpful `next level' thought, insight, and advice. I quickly read it straight through as soon as I got it, and continue to refer back. Definitely a 5 star book, from someone I respect - both for what he shares, and his willingness to share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Worthwhile, November 5, 2010
By 
J. Malpeli (Champaign, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Only Guide You'll Ever Need for the Right Financial Plan: Managing Your Wealth, Risk, and Investments (Hardcover)
This is the most valuable of Swedroe's books since his initial 'Only Guide to a Winning Investment Strategy You'll Ever Need', which outlined the rationale for an investment approach in tune with Modern Portfolio Theory. With the exception of one devoted to bonds, the subsequent books of this series mostly illustrate and reinforce the general principles advocated in the first book. In contrast, The 'Only Guide You'll Ever Need for the Right Financial Plan' provides specific, practical information for implementing this investment strategy, taking into account individual circumstances and risk tolerance. The bulk of the book is devoted to useful advice on asset allocation, but in addition there are several chapters on more idiosyncratic issues, such as college savings plans, insurance policies, retirement accounts, and post-retirement withdrawal tactics. As usual, Swedroe presents his arguments in clear and easily understandable style. This is a must read for anyone inclined to accept the general principles outlined in Swedroe's earlier books - read it carefully and you will be well rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy the paper version instead!, February 13, 2013
By 
Mary Ann (Illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was very informative. The information was very helpful in developing a financial plan. Although much of the infomration can be found online, this book puts it all together in a way that is easily and quickly read. It only took a few hours to read the whole book. I especially liked the sections on social security and tax strategies.

My only concern was the format as the digitization was very poorly done. Much of the book was done in center justification which is annoying to read, and the tables were too small to be readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belongs on every investors shelf, September 5, 2010
By 
A Sophisticated Reader (Mill Valley, California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An excellent book that covers all aspects of investing in a simplified and straightforward way.
For those who will believe the truth this book may obviate the need to highlight a "professional"
investment manager - one can follow his advice and manage a portfolio with minimal expenses.
I'd disagree with him about dollar cost averaging which I favor - and he doesn't point out
one of the key advantages of owning your own home, that you can deduct up to $250-$500,000
if it goes up tax free - but he hits the highlights on all aspects of investing, asset mix,
retirement planning and college planning. One can't go wrong buying and reading this book from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Only Guide You'll Ever Need for the Right Financial Plan: Managing Your Wealth, Risk, and Investments
$27.95 $21.13
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.