Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hittin the Jackpot!!!!
Twenty years ago I was an avid romance/historical romance novel reader. One of the reasons I gave up on it was because the well known authors I read - those who pumped out a couple of novels a year - ended up being redundantly repetitive in their story lines and 'sing-songy' in their deliverance. It was like reading the same novel over and over again. I'm extremely...
Published 22 months ago by stack609

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Skip a Dream
Note I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

A mysterious man has haunted Lucessa Sarcona's dreams for the last twenty-two years. One day when quite literally the man of her dreams appears before her claiming she is not only part of but in the middle of a war between gods Lucessa's life is once again turned upside down. Now with...
Published 21 months ago by Lauren Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hittin the Jackpot!!!!, September 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Only In Her Dreams (The Oneiroi Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Twenty years ago I was an avid romance/historical romance novel reader. One of the reasons I gave up on it was because the well known authors I read - those who pumped out a couple of novels a year - ended up being redundantly repetitive in their story lines and 'sing-songy' in their deliverance. It was like reading the same novel over and over again. I'm extremely impressed with Ms. McKnight's literary genius and her story content. It's very easy to become engrossed with the characters and story line.....to the point that you don't want to put 'it' down and as such I read the entire novel in about 6 hours. I'm a little disappointed that subsequent story lines are not as of yet in publication - I'd like to read them all now!! I'm intrigued with all the players of this story - the intrigue Ms. McKnight conveys in the personalities makes you 'really' want to 'know' what happened to get them where their at.

If you want a refreshing break from the usual - this is a must read~!! Ms. McKnight is truly on her way to being a New York Best Seller. Good Luck Christina!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Skip a Dream, October 12, 2012
By 
Lauren Johnson (Santa Clara, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Only In Her Dreams (The Oneiroi Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Note I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

A mysterious man has haunted Lucessa Sarcona's dreams for the last twenty-two years. One day when quite literally the man of her dreams appears before her claiming she is not only part of but in the middle of a war between gods Lucessa's life is once again turned upside down. Now with the help of her mystery man she has to discover her past before her human realm is run over by evil.

Right away this book was very reminiscent of Sherrilyn Kenyon's Dream Hunter series. I found the premise intriguing but once again was disappointed with execution. The chapters are extremely short and choppy with random bits of information thrown in places.

As far in as chapter eight I was still wondering why Lucessa was special and why the Dark One wanted her in the first place. Random events happen and things are revealed late in the game that just make all of the other mysterious events happily fall into place.

Lucessa is a strong willed and caring character. I did like her and her attitude towards everything, she took everything in stride and that part came off believable. Maxim on the other hand is a different story. He was watching Lucessa in her dreams for twenty two years and on one hand he knew how to drive and some slang terms like `the guy was six feet under' yet in other instances it was more than apparent he was not a part of the world and didn't know what was going on around him. Also, on one hand he seemed to know everything about her and then in the next moment it switches to Maxim not knowing her at all. The bonding relationship between Lucessa and Maxim did not ring true and their connection seemed fake.

There were also parts thrown in that were really random. The Greek Gods just happen to make an appearance for less than a page during chapter eleven. They seemed disconnected from the story but in actuality they were what caused everything in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Only In Her Dreams (The Oneiroi Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A stunning beginning! Let's support Christina's fascinating new angle on romance! Next book is coming soon, so get this one read quick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Read,, January 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Only In Her Dreams (The Oneiroi Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book was very well written, had interesting story-line and character development and was definitely entertaining. The story kept me wishing I didn't have to put it down, eager to get back to it as quickly as possible. Great job Christina! I definitely recommend this as a good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Less Urban Fantasy. More a thinly plotted Paranormal Romance, October 14, 2012
This review is from: Only In Her Dreams (The Oneiroi Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review and must admit that I'm disappointed. As a lover of Greek mythology, I was stoked to discover a story with the little-known Oneiroi, expecting more Urban Fantasy but getting a thinly plotted Paranormal Romance instead.

Aside from three short appearances from Hera and Zeus, a few references to Morpheus ("shaper" and Greek God of dreams), and some dream traveling (as an unsatisfactory plot device), there is hardly anything otherworldly in Only In Her Dreams (The Oneiroi, Book 1). The demi-gods wield guns, use unbelievable speech or modern phrases like "What the ***k," and come off as ordinary men -- if not less, with their complaining (Darius), self-deprecating (Guy), and self-doubt (Maxim).

The women -- Lucessa, Julie, Hera, and Marie (especially her) -- are stronger than the males, as characters and people, which is refreshing. They stay more consistent, and I liked each of them.

But I could not get into this book. While I understand the need for mystery to build suspense, the withholding of facts makes connecting with the characters and their motives hard. Although everything is straightened out at the very end, the entire family history didn't feel cohesive as each part is revealed. I often found myself flipping back to check the facts when they are because they seem contradictory.

I'm not a fan of books that spoon-feed me info, but with the constant repetition of unnecessary details -- which was all telling, not showing (like Maxim's relationship with Darius, as well as Maxim and Lucessa's) -- on top of the constant twists that drop out of nowhere and are "convenient," giving everyone a happily ever after, the plot was flimsy and hard to discern. Even the ramifications of Darius's rule aren't given or apparent.

Only In Her Dreams (The Oneiroi, Book 1) has an interesting premise, but it's poorly executed. The only reason I give it two stars instead of one (other than my not wanting to be extremely harsh) is because of every scene with Marie. Those scenes and her love with Guy are wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book has it all..., September 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Only In Her Dreams (The Oneiroi Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Only in Her Dreams is a modern day story about demigods, written in a fast-paced fashion, it is difficult to try and savor this book. There is romance, intrigue, mystery, and turbulence; and with so many twists and turns in the story, one can't help but keep reading until the last page to see what happens.

Lucessa is a strong heorin, she isn't shy to say what is on her mind or afraid to fight for the ones she loves. All alone in this world (except for her beloved boxer Goosey), Lucessa thinks she is going crazy when she sees the man in her dreams since childhood suddenly appear in the flesh. Ever since her father died in a car crash when she was a young child, this man appeared in her dreams and now he is here and Lucessa wants to know why. Maxim knew he was sent to keep her safe, it was his duty, but he wasn't supposed to develop feelings for her, let alone fall in love. Although there is an immediate connection between the two, there is danger lurking behind everywhere, even Lucessa's home is not safe. Soon, Lucessa is in the middle of a battle between the demigods, brothers who will stop at nothing to gain what they seek. In the end, things weren't as they seemed in Lucessa's life. So many secrets from the ones she loved, her father, her husband, and now Maxim. A raging battle ensues, and not everyone escapes unharmed.

The author does a great job leaving out information to keep the reader in suspense until just the right moment. Can't wait for the next book to see what intrigue these demigods will inspire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked!, September 1, 2012
This review is from: Only In Her Dreams (The Oneiroi Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Picked up this book and couldn't put it down! I am not an avid reader, so when I pick up a book and finish it in 7 hours it must be good. Only In Her Dreams kept me intrigued from the first page to the last. I definitely recommend this book to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want him in my dreams!, September 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Only In Her Dreams (The Oneiroi Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Imagine losing your loved ones. And years later, you lose your husband. It takes a strong heroine and some good therapy to move forward with your life.

Lucessa's therapy was going well, until the subject of her dreams steps out of her head and enters the real world, and he's sitting in the coffee shop where Lucessa works.

Good gawd! Should she tell her therapist this latest revelation? And set back all of her progress? Lucessa wonders if she's losing it, but when the stranger shows up again, at her house, she gives him a good beat down! But he's persistant and speaks some crazy need to protect her and Lucessa wonders who's really the mental case. That is until things spin out of control and she realizes maybe there is some truth to his words... and he's pretty damn hot!

Maxim's mission is to protect Lucessa from the many dangers surrounding her, but he's also determined to find and bring his brother back to safety, all while coveting the the secrets of Lucessa's family, and a few of his own. The one thing he wasn't supposed to do is the one thing he can't control. Falling in love with Lucessa.

Lives are shaken and the Gods have spoken. The battle of wills begin when evil stops at nothing to get what they came for. Can the demigods protect the good from the evil surrounding them? Secrets, lies and evil war against truth, future and love in this intriguing story, but what does the future hold for all those involved? You'll have to step into ONLY IN HER DREAMS to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Story has twists waiting for you at every corner, February 25, 2013
By 
b00k r3vi3ws (Hyderabad, India) - See all my reviews
After years of therapy, Lucessa Sarcona, is finally dealing with her loss and moving on with life. With one small exception of a recurring dream about the same man for over two decades, her life is almost normal. That is until the man of her dreams literally walks into her life. Maxim's appearance in her life makes Lucessa question her sanity at first, but pretty soon she learns to take things in her stride. For instance, her link to the world of Oneiroi, the identity of her father and the truth about her husband! Really this story has twists waiting for you at every corner.

Granted that she can frustrate you, but the character of Lucessa is really strong and loveable. The things she has had to experience in life aren't all rosy, yet she is quick to `believe' and take things into her stride. While her behavior towards Greg and Maxim are conflicting, as a reader it was pretty easy to feel her insecurities and quirks and actually understand her. Maxim is strong and honorable and Greg is just plain creepy. While Lucessa's character was well developed, I felt that the demi-gods had more `humanity' in them than godly characteristics. I really felt that the `x-factor' was missing in the demi-gods.

As a plot, `Only in her Dreams' is good with the potential of being amazing. It's a whole new world out there at Oneirei, one that I find intriguing and would love to explore more of. The author's general language is easy going and the pace of the story is set after the first few chapters. The elements of Love, Loss and Sacrifice have been blended well into the plot. While I enjoying reading a book with more than POV, this book zipped back and forth between different POVs a bit too much. But the number of amazing twists simple makes up for it. The letdown was the climax which wasn't all what the story was building up to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Only in Her Dreams, February 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Only In Her Dreams (The Oneiroi Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
It was a good book and kept me reading and wanting to find out what the next twist would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Only In Her Dreams (The Oneiroi Book 1)
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.