Start reading The Opal (Matt Turner Series Book 2) on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Add Audible Narration
The Opal: Matt Turner, Book 2 Narrated by Chris Patton $13.99 $2.99
Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

The Opal (Matt Turner Series Book 2) [Kindle Edition]

Michael Siemsen
3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (152 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $14.95
Kindle Price: $2.99
You Save: $11.96 (80%)

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Audible Narration

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $2.99 when you buy the Kindle book.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $2.99  
Paperback $11.87  
Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged $14.95 or Free with Audible 30-day free trial
Star Wars
Star Wars: The Digital Movie Collection For the First Time Ever on Digital HD. Own it today. Learn more

Book Description

The follow-up to the #1 Sci-Fi Adventure, THE DIG.

A Cuban logging company discovers an Egyptian opal sealed deep within a downed tree, hidden from the world for at least 1,000 years--centuries before Columbus explored the region. With his gift of psychometry, Matthew Turner seems the obvious choice to extract the gem's history, and an enemy Matt thought long gone isn't giving him any choice in the matter. In Book Two of the Matt Turner Series, the stakes are raised higher than anything the 26-year-old has previously encountered, and the fallout will change Matt for the rest of his life.

Book Three of the Matt Turner Series, RETURN, is slated for Spring, 2015.


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Michael Siemsen lives in Northern California with his wife, three kids, dog Brody, cat Atom, four fish, one demon, and two chupacabrii. His most recent release is the new Sci-fi thriller, Exigency. He is currently at work on the 3rd book in the Matt Turner Series, Return, and often laments the bygone days of yore, when mature adults used terms such as "make whoopie" and "hanky-panky."

Product Details

  • File Size: 953 KB
  • Print Length: 317 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Fantome Publishing; 1 edition (January 13, 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00A2T05R2
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #26,211 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shocking degeneration August 5, 2013
By lvrorx
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Warning, some spoilers here....

I was addicted to the first book "The Dig" and could not wait to read this one. But like many other reviewers, I found "The Opal" to be so disappointing. About halfway through the story, it just changed, almost as if someone else took up the storyline.

The reunion between Matt and Tuni was contrived, the dialogue ridiculous. Yes, he had always been a little selfish, and a little childish, but considering his history and youth, that was expected. But it was like he just completely changed into someone else. And where did the "princess" crap come from? There was never any hint of Tuni being that shallow anywhere in the storyline before. I would have understood it if the reunion had happened AFTER Matt was afflicted, but at that point he was still in good shape.

And the whole idea of the severely damaged Rheese going up the hill to see the site? The man had a hole in his calf, seriously broken ribs and possibly internal bleeding as well as major head trauma and he is blithely traipsing around the jungle for several more hours? He must have been superman! And how did he suddenly become all brave and noble? There was no lead up to this change.

I hope that if there is a 3rd book, these bizarre discrepancies will be addressed, but as another reviewer noted, it seemed like the author just got tired of the whole story and wrapped it up as fast as he could.
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first book. February 26, 2013
By Dawn
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I read this book because I liked the first book DIG. This is an OK read but is a little too busy with too many characters. If there is a book 3, I probably will read it in hopes that the story line is more straight forward.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing after The Dig December 31, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Last year, like many others, I happily stumbled upon Michael Siemsen's first book "The Dig". It was wonderful! Great concept, well executed, characters were developed good, very unique idea, it was a terrific read. I liked it so much that I "liked" Mr. Siemsen on Facebook and enjoyed his decidedly thoughtful posts, and looked forward to his next installment, "The Opal" (which kept getting delayed, so anticipation was heightened even more). I was really looking forward to the next installment in the story of this character.

As soon as The Opal was released I downloaded it to Kindle and looked forward to a great story. It started off with a bang... that was good. Things were looking up for another great adventure in the life of this very unique character.

Then it just went downhill, about the midpoint of the book. The main character began to make decisions that were very odd, and out-of-character in my opinion. His female companion also made stupid decisions, so that you ended up thinking of him as a jerk, and her as a weak and gullible girl.

Still I trudged along, hoping the book would pick up. It didn't. There were too many groups of people all with different (and odd) agendas, and the story spent way too much time with everybody traipsing around in the jungle, this person kidnapping that person, that person shooting another person, this team tracking down that team... ugh, enough already. In addition, I didn't even find the whole point that the archaeologists were all excited about, all that intriguing. It just didn't interest me as a plot point (again as opposed to The Dig, which drew me in to the ancient world that he was "reading").

Finally the ending was just too depressing for me.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun but a let down after "the dig" February 11, 2013
By BDM
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This was a fun fast read that continued the story from "The Dig." It has some plot holes and left me looking for the next book to continue the story but overall i suggest anyone looking for a value buy to read "the Dig" and then "The Opal"
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
By LJ
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I was eager to re-visit Matt Turner so was pleased to have a second book to go to. I didn't enjoy it quite as much as the first book in the series, but having said that it was still a very good read. Interesting to see some of the same characters from the first book re-appear in this one, and I found it hard to put down as I wanted to find out quickly how things were going to pan out. I reccommend this book, but suggest that you do read the first one in the series before tackling this one as it does set the scene and introduce you to some of the characters (The Dig is book 1). Hope you enjoy them as much as I did.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Opal - bring on more Matt Turner April 9, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Although I liked his first book "The Dig" a little more. This book was thoroughly enjoyable to read from beginning to end. I especially emjoyed how he worked through his character's dealing with almost OCD qualities to avoid much of the world around him. I was an excellent follow through from the previous book. I will certainlt look for more from him!!!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Novel From A Great Author November 1, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
Michael Siemsen scores again with this new sequel to "The Dig". It continues the story of Matt Turner, a man who has the ability to see into the past through touching objects. He only sees the past of that object though, not anything he wants.

This book was a joy to read. I had been logging onto Amazon.com every day for a week now waiting for it to be released, and when I saw it up I finished it in just a few hours. I just hope Mr. Siemsen decides to continue the series (it would be a shame if he didn't).
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm
The main character, Matt, somehow aged from an extremely immature 19 to age 26 in this sequel to The Dig, though the text implies only 6 months had passed????
Published 6 days ago by rcswallow
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Good read Waiting for book 3 of this series.
Published 9 days ago by James Gobble
3.0 out of 5 stars Uninspired
The author just rattles on with a couple of intertwined stories,both of which were rather uninspired. Read more
Published 14 days ago by Frank1229
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story! I'm following the author so I can ...
Great story! I'm following the author so I can be updated when a new book comes out!
Published 21 days ago by A. Toro
2.0 out of 5 stars Fans of The Dig, STOP NOW!
I chose to read The Opal because Michael Siemsen's first book, The Dig, had been so good and so full of promise. Read more
Published 1 month ago by Paige Ellen
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
I never read this book since I didn't like the first one;
Published 1 month ago by Beth
4.0 out of 5 stars still good read.
little far fetched. still good read.
Published 1 month ago by margaret walker
4.0 out of 5 stars Matt Turner fan club book. Interesting.
If you read the first book you will like the second. It is pretty violent and there is a lot of unnecessary killing off of characters. Read more
Published 2 months ago by Amazon Customer
1.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs down
Couldn't wait for it to end. Too many players. Hard to follow, and it got to be a bore. The dig was so much better.
Published 2 months ago by A. Jackson
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I loved the first book. This one was confusing and jumbled. Almost as if it were written by a different author.
Published 2 months ago by Nadine
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

Michael Siemsen is the Bestselling author of 6 novels including The Dig, A Warm Place to Call Home (a demon's story), and Exigency. He lives in Northern California with "the wife," "the kids," "the dog," "that cat," and he occasionally wears pants.

http://www.facebook.com/mcsiemsen
http://www.michaelsiemsen.com
twitter: @michaelsiemsen

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category