Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should you buy Open Water on DVD or Blu-ray?
I'm not really going to talk much about the movies themselves, but my opinion is that Open Water is a good film, and Open Water 2 is a laughably bad one.

As for the decision to buy this 2-pack blu-ray ($9) or the Open Water DVD ($3) it really depends on you. The video quality of the blu-ray looks just like a DVD (or worse, due to the source material) most of...
Published 19 months ago by Nicodimus

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars open water
dear amazon,that was a sad movie but it was good. by now you should know that if you go for a boat ride you need to tell the driver to watch out for iceberg (see titanic review). but if you ever go for a swimm in the ocean, theres a few important rules you need to observe carefully if you dont want to end up like those poor people in the movie. first, make sure you have...
Published 21 months ago by Kent C Strait


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should you buy Open Water on DVD or Blu-ray?, February 10, 2013
By 
Nicodimus (Hanover, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Open Water / Open Water 2: Adrift [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm not really going to talk much about the movies themselves, but my opinion is that Open Water is a good film, and Open Water 2 is a laughably bad one.

As for the decision to buy this 2-pack blu-ray ($9) or the Open Water DVD ($3) it really depends on you. The video quality of the blu-ray looks just like a DVD (or worse, due to the source material) most of the time. They also have the same supplements. So, really, the decision comes down to two things: audio quality, and whether or not you want to own Open Water 2 to make fun of it with your friends. If you are listening to this movie with a 5.1 surround receiver, I say go with the blu-ray. The lossless audio track does sound pretty good and makes you feel like you're out there floating in the ocean with them. However, if you're listening through the speakers on your TV, you will not hear any difference, so save the $6 and just buy the DVD (unless of course you want Open Water 2.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Surprise Sleeper..., November 25, 2010
By 
W. Pender "honuscat" (Cathedral City, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open Water / Open Water 2: Adrift [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I didn't expect too much going into Open Water, but came away numbed and deeply affected. Open water is the film that "Jaws" SHOULD have been but wasn't. The unknown actors, low budget and simple setting only amplified the effect of our character's plight. This film didn't need a deep plot or flashy CGI to keep it aloft. I definite winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Double Feature!!!!, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Open Water / Open Water 2: Adrift [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This was great....a good night with family and popcorn!!!! HIghly recommended. Love true stories and so does the rest of my family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars B+ horror fun!, July 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Open Water / Open Water 2: Adrift [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
These films are cheesy, B+ horror fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Open Water / Open Water 2: Adrift [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I already watch 2 time on this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars open water, December 7, 2012
By 
Kent C Strait (In my pants, behind my glasses) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Open Water / Open Water 2: Adrift [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
dear amazon,that was a sad movie but it was good. by now you should know that if you go for a boat ride you need to tell the driver to watch out for iceberg (see titanic review). but if you ever go for a swimm in the ocean, theres a few important rules you need to observe carefully if you dont want to end up like those poor people in the movie. first, make sure you have your life jacket on. mom says its very important. she says only fools go swimm without their life jacket. 2nd, if you jump off the boat for your swimm, make sure you advise your frind on the boat and make sure that they go easy on boose and wine. mom says this will help prevent "miscommunications and unfortunate events". you see, thats what happen to these poor people amazon. they werent very lucky. in the 2nd movie, they just couldnt get back on the boat! which brings me to my 3rd rule: make sure that at least 1 responsible and sober person is still on the boat and is watching you. mom says she would never go on a boat ride with that bunch of fools. anyway amazon, you be careful and you watch out for hungry sharks in the water.

your frind kent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Movies for a Great Price!, March 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Open Water / Open Water 2: Adrift [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I got the set fast!

I have to say that Open Water was kind of blurry at some parts...but I think that was due to the efforts of trying to convert it to Blue-Ray.

Open Water 2 was awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open Water 1 & 2, October 19, 2010
This review is from: Open Water / Open Water 2: Adrift [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
On more than two occasions, I have mentioned that I am a huge fan of movies with small budgets, shot in a reduced number of locations, and without special effects. If you can entertain a crowd for the total length of a film under those conditions, you are a real filmmaker and storyteller. And they can make money, too, like the widely successful "The Blair Witch Project" (1999). In 2004, a very smart film that fulfills those requisites, and that I truly enjoyed, was the riveting "Open Water," which was critically acclaimed and had a good box-office. Following its success, another electrifying installment, "Open Water 2 - Adrift", was made a couple years later. Now, thanks to Lionsgate, both titles are available in one spectacular Blu-Ray set.

Based on true events, and written and directed by Chris Kentis, "Open Water" is about a couple that goes to the Caribbean to spend a holiday. Once there, they decide to go scuba-diving with a group of like-minded people. The boat goes far away from the coast in search of a great spot, which they eventually find. However, at the end of the activity, the person doing the head count of the participants inadvertently missed the couple, leaving them behind in the middle of nowhere. As you can imagine, terror follows, as these two human beings try to stay afloat and get help. On the other hand, "Open Water 2 - Adrift", which is also based on true events, but helmed by Hans Horn, follows a situation similar to that of its predecessor, but is more ambitious, as it involves more people. Here, three couples, one of them with a baby, sail on a yacht in Mexico. While at the ocean, they stop for a swim; one problem takes you to next, and none of the vacationers are able to get climb back to the yacht. So, the six humans beings are on their own at sea, trying survive together, all this while the baby stayed alone on the boat. As you can imagine, both stories in both movies make for great, imaginative, and full-of- possibilities suspense.

The cast in "Open Water" and "Open Water 2 - Adrift" was composed mostly of unknown actors, which worked out well, because the stories and directions were strong enough to carry the films. You decide which one you like most. The Blu-ray edition of "Open Water" includes audio commentary by cinematographers Laura Lau and Chris Kentis, and actors Blanchard Ryan and Daniel Travis; deleted scenes; and a making-of feature. "Open Water 2 - Adrift" includes a making-of documentary. "Open Water" (USA, 2004, color, 81 min plus additional materials), "Open Water 2 - Adrift" (Germany, 2006, color, 94 min plus additional materials).

Reviewed on October 18, 2010 exclusively by Eric Gonzalez for [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No payoff / Nudity not mentioned in description, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Open Water / Open Water 2: Adrift [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I bought this for a Christmas present for my husband, thinking my kids ages 7-18 would also enjoy a good shark movie. We couldn't scramble for the lost remote fast enough in Open Water (1) when a naked couple appeared on the screen for what seemed like forever before we finally turned off the TV, but not before seeing pubic hair. Nudity was not mentioned anywhere in this DVD's description, a serious infraction. I can't scrub those images from my kids' minds.

The story was ok, albeit somewhat boring, until the end, which offered no satisfactory ending. I know this is a true story, but to be good, the couple's deaths should have been framed inside another person's story--coworkers, relatives, friends, etc,--to show how living people were impacted by their deaths and give the viewer some sort of payoff for watching.

The only reason I give this two stars instead of one is because I appreciated the effective clean camerawork and I didn't feel like I was watching a low budget film, and there are two movies on this disc for the price of one. I have not yet viewed Open Water 2, but even if fantastic, it would not up my rating of this movie set because of the significant problems with the first movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars why open water2?, September 27, 2010
By 
G. Tafoya "luke58" (Albuquerque, New Mexico United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open Water / Open Water 2: Adrift [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
why is it the blu ray edition has to come with Open Water 2? The movie is horrible. Open Water 1 is a great movie but will not buy this version even tho price is cheap. If they decide to release Open Water 1 on it's own I will buy it. Open Water 2 is a waste of space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Open Water / Open Water 2: Adrift [Blu-ray]
Open Water / Open Water 2: Adrift [Blu-ray] by Hans Horn (Blu-ray - 2010)
$9.99 $7.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.