Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The code examples are available and actually work.
Just bought this after trying out the code examples on the website openglsuperbible.com. Everything built in Visual Studio 2010 and ran without issues. This seems like the first book on modern OpenGL that actually works.

The first three chapters are very good with showing examples and making something happen. Very tutorial based for complete noobs. Chapters 4...
Published 13 months ago by Dan

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Book for Learning OpenGL, But ...
First, let me say that the reorganization of text and code embodied in the Sixth Edition of the OpenGL Superbible was a good move. Oh, I have a few gripes and grumbles relating to the reorganization (e.g., it seems like Chapter 5 will never end. It could be split, deferring pieces to later and appropriate contexts.) The reorganization of the sample code is a good step...
Published 3 months ago by W. H. Niehoff


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Book for Learning OpenGL, But ..., June 20, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
First, let me say that the reorganization of text and code embodied in the Sixth Edition of the OpenGL Superbible was a good move. Oh, I have a few gripes and grumbles relating to the reorganization (e.g., it seems like Chapter 5 will never end. It could be split, deferring pieces to later and appropriate contexts.) The reorganization of the sample code is a good step forward. There is less dependence on mysterious libraries. And, the essential support code has been reorganized into a more attractive “framework.”
Be prepared for a lot of emphasis on shader programming. Face up to it: It’s the nature of the modern beast. If you’re not ready for that, one suggestion is to start with an earlier edition – one that focuses on earlier versions of OpenGL, and then grow to love it.
Having gone through many (aborigines are said to have a ternary number system: 1, 2, many) editions of the Superbible, I find it necessary to keep a copy of a corresponding Redbook (OpenGL Programming Guide) edition handy. In that sense, I find the Superbible to be an essential learning aid. But …

It was indeed unfortunate to find that the current authors and publisher continued to follow the habits of previous authors and publishers of walking away from what I view as their responsibility to their readership:

1. Others have complained about the quality of the black and white illustrations. They were correct: the printing of screenshots is terrible. The majority of the current authors are experienced authors. (a) They should have avoided the problem. (b) The editor should have caught the problem before going to press. (c) The printer should have called attention to the problem before committing to a run.

2. There is no consistent way of tying a screenshot or a code listing to a project name in the source code provided as a download on the book’s web site. I made it a point to deduce, by one means or another, the project name from the text or code if the project name was not explicitly mentioned (which was the usual case). The authors could have provided an index in the download’s README file.

3. In the Preface, an author states, “We made a bunch of mistakes – we’re certain of it. … If you think you see something that doesn’t quite gel, check the book’s Web site for errata.” I’m writing this review in June 2014, almost a year after publication of the book. There are no errata on the web site. Moreover, there is no mechanism for submitting errata.

4. The code I downloaded (dated November 2013) built on Visual Studio 2010 successfully. All but a few projects executed without error. I found the distribution for VS 2010 available on GitHub to be useless: Apparently the last person to build it built it with VS 2013. I considered submitting an issue, but got discouraged when I saw that the last commits were made seven or eight months ago.

5. The book’s Appendix C describes two tools, ktxtool and dds2ktx, which it says is available in the source code. Not so.

6. I searched for but could not find an OpenGL Superbible forum. The best I could find was the general OpenGL forum. The last blog entry on the book’s web site is dated February 2014. Apparently the authors have better things to do.

In scoring a rating for this edition of the OpenGL Superbible, I started with five stars. After all, I consider it and the Redbook to be essential components to learning OpenGL. Then, because of the lousy illustrations and the authors’ neglect, I backed off two stars. A one-star deduction would not have been enough.

It occurs to me that all of the problems enumerated above could be resolved on the book’s web site. I would be glad to improve my rating if the authors (or even someone else) would step up to addressing them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The code examples are available and actually work., August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
Just bought this after trying out the code examples on the website openglsuperbible.com. Everything built in Visual Studio 2010 and ran without issues. This seems like the first book on modern OpenGL that actually works.

The first three chapters are very good with showing examples and making something happen. Very tutorial based for complete noobs. Chapters 4 through 6 deal with a lot of concepts and background things, but were mostly necessary to cover. I personally believe that Chapter 5 should have come later in the book because it deals with atomic operations and memory barriers. The equivalent chapter in the Programming Guide 8th edition covered this in Chapter 11.

I haven't read chapter 7 yet, but it looks like things are about to get interesting. Will further this review once more content is read.

Having the example code is a great help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is it!!!, August 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
After searching years for a good OpenGL core profile tutorial book, I believe this is it. Before the authors release the source code, it was just a good reference for someone already familiar with the core profile, and it was kind of similar to the other excellent OpengGL Cookbooks from Packt Publishing. The cookbooks present great source codes for experimentation but lack some detail for full comprehension.
Now the source code is available and seems to be well organized and good quality as opposed to OpenGL Redbook 8ed. This is the best core profile tutorial book on the market. The codes compiled out of the box. Note that you'll need a good graphic card with OpenGL 4.2 support (which can be changed to other version in sb6.h.) If the code compile successfully but display a window and then exist, you might not have the correct graphic driver support.
Hopefully, some day the RedBook source code will catch up to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well organized, thorough, and readable, October 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
This book has been a critical part of me getting started with OpenGL. I had a general understanding of 3D graphics and limited experience with Direct3D, but it had been a while and I found OpenGL to be fairly intimidating, especially since immediate mode was deprecated. OpenGL SuperBible has gotten me past the intimidation and initial hurdles in pretty short order. There's a lot to OpenGL, but the book presents it plainly and clearly. The tone is clear above all else. It's light and personal, but not super familiar or cheeky - it strikes a good balance.

The clear introduction to the pipeline and the lucid and well-explained code examples have gotten me going far faster than I would have expected. After reading Part I of the book I'm familiar enough with the basics that I'm already working on my project in earnest and reading the rest of the book either as reference and as I have time. The writing continues to be clear and the figures are really clear on the Kindle, both on phone and tablet. The code samples can be a little difficult on a narrow screen, but that's just the nature of reading code on a phone.

I think anyone entering the OpenGL world should be warned that it (OpenGL) is a bit of a mess, especially if you're trying to target multiple platforms and be reasonably backwards compatible. This book is about a particular version of OpenGL and, as it's not intended as a history lesson, doesn't do a tremendous amount to be clear about the differences between versions. It'll take some independent work on the reader's part to come to understand which version of GL suites their purposes best and then a bit more work to understand what parts of the book don't apply to that version. Having said that, I am targeting OpenGL 3.2/GLSL 1.50 and have had no trouble applying my new understanding and only a couple hiccups using the bits of the code I've copied.

On that note, I tend to write my samples from scratch when learning a technology so I end up copy-pasting pieces of the samples and not just using them whole hog. Given this style, the code download works well. I haven't tried to build the samples.

Overall, complaints about difficultly with the code samples on certain platforms and difficulties with color figures in a black and white book (which is acknowledged by the author) seem pretty insignificant when compared with the clarity of the writing, the organization of the content, and the availability of a code download. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for studying, October 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
Overall this book is a great for studying OpenGL. Can serve as a reference book too.
I agree with the fact that pictures in the book sometimes are entirely black)).
But I don't care about it - it is not an art book.

My only concern is not about content of book but about it's format.
Why this book is not available in a hard cover?
It's 800+ pages - sooner or later paperback will unbound and y'll have pack of separate pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Beginners, December 8, 2013
By 
R.E (Savannah, GA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
The main issue I have with this book is the dependency to the sb6 library which is the author's wrapper library around OpenGL.

If the book were titled the SB6 Library superbible, It would have been ok but after reading the claims at the beginning of the book stating that this book is meant to go over the OpenGL library without jumping back and fourth I couldn't help but wonder why the authors chose to include their own library which defeats that purpose to some extent.

Granted the library simplifies things but that's not the purpose of a book. Since the target audience is already familiar with C++, there's no need to wrap the main() function for example, which I find unnecessary. This may be fine for the author but we all have different styles of coding and it's not the author's place to force a framework in order to explain how the OpenGL pipeline works.

This is a book about OpenGL and the code should run out of the box with dependencies to OpenGL, GLUT and GLFW being acceptable. If the authors chose to develop a wrapper library, the library should be part of the text as an illustration to how things are put together. Also what would be more acceptable is if the sb6 library's cpp source code was available to view instead of distributing a black box which may confuse the reader.

Also when adding shader code, the authors fail to mention the appropriate code updates to the rendering functions which can be a bit inconvenient. Also failure to delete compiled shaders in one of the examples shoud be avoided.

The OpenGL pipeline is getting more and more complex and I can see the appeal in simplifying it by making it more accessible but writing a book about a library and forcing a black box framework is unacceptable. This book does explain things well I must admit but for experienced C++ and OpenGL users, I recommend the Red Book for a more thorough read and detailed reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and understandable, the framework serves it's purpose well, January 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
Serves as a good introduction to 3D graphics and the OpenGL API. The framework provided has been the subject of negative reviews, but is actually a very good idea. By providing the window management and context creation, as well as a complete vector math library, they have freed the student to learn about OpenGL without having to select and learn a windowing toolkit. The framework is very low level, (much lower than GLUT), and leaves all OpenGL function calls and shaders to be written by the user. So complaints about having to learn the framework instead of OpenGL are unfounded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best OpenGL Bible Yet, March 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
Any comprehensive graphics rendering system is understandably complex. Introducing it requires detailed modeling of the properties of light transmission, reflection and combination. Defining the interface to such a system requires detailed organization and a proper introduction to the reader. These are difficult to accomplish without an outstanding degree of knowledge of the subject and an admirable presentation. This book raises the standard for OpenGL tutorials while keeping up with the ever increasing capability of the API.

There has been a lot of unbridled dissatisfaction with former versions of this book. Some of it has undeniable validity, and I think that none of it applies to this version. The 780 pages of this book cover the OpenGL API very well and provide enough examples of the more complex operations to satisfy all but the most hardened curmudgeon. Look, the subject fills a full year of study, so don't expect any author to provide the full 2500 pages it deserves. A lot of thinking and experimenting is required to master this subject for any API. It's not a one stop or single volume operation. I cover both DirectX and OpenCL API references in my work and this book is the OpenCL reference to have on your shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Codes are bad, June 19, 2014
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
I just copy another reader's comment here: "but as a beginner the code framework might create more of a distraction from the actual meat of using OpenGL itself."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but OK..., January 12, 2014
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
This book is, in short, a mild disappointment. It's a great start for beginners who simply want to see results as fast as possible, but absolutely terrible for those who actually want to learn the nitty-gritty of OpenGL. Rather than discussing each variable in-depth, the authors simply instruct readers to assign values to obscure variables already defined in their black-box "application class". This wasn't as much as a problem for me, as I already had constructed my own OpenGL class, but for others it is surely detrimental to learning the language as a whole. Sure, the class may have been provided in order to hide OS-specific code from the user, to just focus on OpenGL, but it would have been preferred if a form of overview were provided, so that readers knew exactly what setting variable XYZ was changing. As such, moving away from the sb6 class can be cumbersome. A poor choice on the author's part, but it's far better than the dizzying array of mediocre tutorials online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (6th Edition)
OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (6th Edition) by Nicholas Haemel (Paperback - July 31, 2013)
$59.99 $45.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.