Monthly Subscription
$1.49/month
First 30 days FREE
Current Issue: $0.75
October 20, 2014

Deliver to your Kindle or iPad, iPhone, Android reading app

 
 
Opinionated: Voices and Viewpoints on America and the World
 
See larger image
 

Opinionated: Voices and Viewpoints on America and the World [Kindle Edition]

by Tribune Content Agency
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (35 customer reviews)

Delivered: Weekly
Monthly Price: $1.49 First 30 days FREE

  • Available on these devices
  • This subscription comes with a risk-free 30-day FREE period after which the subscription starts. Learn more about subscriptions.
  • We will share your name and address with the publisher, but we will not share your email address without your permission. Learn more.
  • This subscription will automatically renew until you decide to cancel at any time. We’ll renew on your behalf at the lowest price available on Amazon at the time of renewal. Learn more about auto-renewal.


Editorial Reviews

Opinionated presents the week's political and social commentary from the right, middle and left of the political spectrum in one convenient place. Drawing on Tribune Content Agency's list of dozens of contributors, Opinionated includes Pulitzer and Nobel prize-winning commentators opining on topics ranging from the US political process and world affairs to popular culture. The liberal side of the aisle includes Arianna Huffington, Carl Hiaasen and two-time Pulitzer winner Clarence Page. On the right we feature conservative stalwart Cal Thomas and Jonah Goldberg, among others. The independent slot includes the unique voice of Pulitzer winner Leonard Pitts Jr. On world affairs we call on Henry Kissinger, William Pfaff and Paul Kennedy, among many others. Never dull, always provocative, Opinionated provides an insightful and engaging round-up of the spectrum of political views.

Opinionated is published weekly and includes images. Issues are auto-delivered wirelessly to your Kindle.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Tribune Content Agency (November 11, 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B000UECNU6
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,096 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Your name, billing address and order information will be shared with the publisher.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raises the level of discourse in America March 27, 2008
I greatly enjoyed reading the first issue of Opinionated. Imagine the Sunday political roundtable TV shows but instead of smart people trading soundbites, you get smart people explaining themselves coherently. Mind you, they are still out to persuade and Opinionated drops any pretenses on that score; each essay is labeled "Liberal", "Conservative", "Independent" or "World View" - Opinionated readers will not need the labels though it does lend an air of sporting competition to the proceedings. Individual essays are brief, provocative, and tightly written. In just five minutes you are exposed to a point of view, perhaps opposite to your own, that must be taken seriously. And the authors take you seriously, too, as the writing has an intellectual edge; not to worry there is plenty of schoolyard finger-pointing to keep you entertained.

If you are looking for new perspectives and good fodder for conversation at cocktails, without wanting to labor through a long article, Opinionated will fit the bill nicely. And if this concentrated bulletin of thought helps us boil down the complex issues and decide what we really should be doing to improve the country right now, then Opinionated will have served a truly useful purpose.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Price Albeit Slanted April 23, 2008
I have recieved four issues of Opinionated so far, and must say that I have enjoyed reading each issue. The columns are well written, and some will even add a smile or chuckle to your day. I have read just about every column included in each issue. Each column is typically a five minute investment in time, so you can digest them throughout the week between responsibilities if you are a busy person like me.

The one thing I will mention is that the publication is slanted to the left (or at least all the issues have been so far) in the amount of content provided. There are always more liberal views expressed than either conserative or independent, and liberal submissions are always presented first. I don't mention this because I'm some kind of ultra-conserative, far from it, but I thought it was a valid observation.
Was this review helpful to you?
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars happy i tried it April 14, 2008
I'm enjoying Opinionated much more than I thought I would. I am so turned off by the "pundits" on Sunday morning talk shows; and the extremely smart columnists whose rather nasty comments turn me off; but Opinionated is balanced and the essays are thoughtful and I can read them whenever. In fact, I won't ever have to look at television again and am quite looking forward to that.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
55 of 70 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Opinionated? Yes. And lazy. November 19, 2008
I'm not sure I'm going to continue with this mag after the initial trial. The selection of content is good. The "World View" columns tend to be liberal in view, giving the magazine a bit of a liberal bent. But that's not why I rated this magazine 2 stars.

I rate it two stars because of its lazy organization. Reading the mag in article order results in a tiresome repetition of viewpoints. First, there's the Liberal opinions. Then the Conservative opinions. Then the International opinions. In each group of opinions there are usually two or three themes common to each philosophy. For instance, Education, The War on Terror, World Financial Institutions, Obama, Bush all had opposing viewpoints represented - but spread out throughout the magazine.

Rather than feeling I'm first reading in one echo chamber and then moving to the next echo chamber, it would be far more interesting to read these articles by the theme of their content. I'd much rather read a collection of articles organized topically, forcing arguments against each other and truly engaging the reader.

Frankly, the editorial layout of this mag is just plain lazy and completely uninteresting.

The opinions are fine. The writers are good. And I like the opportunity to read opinions that normally wouldn't make the feed of my RSS Reader. But seriously, is there any lazier way to lay out this type of magazine?
Was this review helpful to you?
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taking a break February 22, 2009
While I have mostly enjoyed reading the opinion pieces, after 6 months I decided to cancel my subscription. It takes too much time out of my reading budget. I have learned a lot about opinions on the left and right, but over time the authors have become too predictable and I found myself skipping more and more of the text.
I may pick up again at a later time, but for now I am taking a break. I still wish the magazine success.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C-SPAN in printed form March 28, 2008
This is a wonderful addition to the Kindle
family...the serious commentary of people
on the left-center-right on the issues facing
this country today...a non-partisan platform
like the C-SPAN cable channel but in a printed
form that we can read while we go about our
busy daily lives.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Opinion On Opinionated August 7, 2008
I shall add my enthusiastic vote for Opinionated. I enjoy being able to read articles from all shades of the political spectrum, from Jesse Jackson to Cal Thomas. The Kindle is simply the perfect vehicle for this type of magazine.

I must confess, I do not understand those who will only read articles that agree with their own narrow political viewpoint. It reminds me of Sir Leicester Dedlock in Charles Dickens' "Bleak House": Sir Dedlock will only read the newspaper issued by his own political party. Needless to say, he derives immense satisfaction by finding that he agrees with everything written in the paper (or, rather, that the writer agrees with what Sir Dedlock thinks).

In other words, Sir Dedlock is so intellectually shallow that he must have continual positive reinforcement of his own viewpoint. He does not understand the concept of reading what the `other side' has to say, and is even outraged that there is an `other side'. Dickens makes it clear that if Sir Dedlock ever by chance happened to read an opposing opinion, Sir Dedlock's world-view would probably collapse, or his head explode.

I may not always agree with the logic or positions taken by Jackson, Thomas, et al, but they do (or should) make you think about the `other side'. Bravo, Opinionated!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Great read with different points of view.
Published 3 months ago by Amanda
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
not enough experience with it yet
Published 3 months ago by david leach
4.0 out of 5 stars Magazine for a discerning reader
This is good you get the Liberal view, Conservative View, And independent view, and a World View on issues of the day. Read more
Published 22 months ago by Gene Brown
3.0 out of 5 stars not as different in viewpoints as I had expected
I thought there would be a bigger difference of view points. Some were but most seemed more closely aligned. I dont think I will buy this again.
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer
1.0 out of 5 stars Liberals should love this publication
I subscribed to this publication for many months and I came to the conclusion that it was basically very liberal in its bias. Read more
Published on July 16, 2012 by John
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty balanced.
I've been receiving "Opinionated" for quite a while now. It's pretty balanced. There are a few more "liberal" opinions than "conservative" ones, but some of "liberal" writers get... Read more
Published on June 30, 2012 by Peter Schaap
3.0 out of 5 stars Why all the Twitter promotions?
This is an edited review. I cancelled Opionionated yesterday (August 12, 2013), after several years. Read more
Published on April 4, 2012 by Thomas J. Robinson
5.0 out of 5 stars A Weekly Must-Have!
For any independent thinker who values different perspectives, this is a must-have! Short, concise articles covering current events. What more can I say - Great periodical!
Published on November 6, 2011 by T. E. Lawson
2.0 out of 5 stars Canceled because
I like the conservative section. The liberal is mostly the usual stuff with a thoughtful exception or two. Read more
Published on July 19, 2011 by Steve Bell
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Love it!
I really enjoy the written words of so many smart people. By reading both left and right viewpoints, you gain an appreiciation for the other sides point of view. Read more
Published on January 4, 2011 by Valerie
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category