Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pro Oracle Database is a great book
On the back cover of this book it says "Pro Oracle Database 11g Administration is a task-oriented guide to managing complex database environments using Oracle Database11g".

The thing I like most about this book is that it lives up to this promise. The book covers all aspects of Oracle Database 11g Administration. It starts with installation and...
Published on January 31, 2011 by B. Reich

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Text for Existing DBA's
I found the book to be very helpful for people already using the Oracle platform but quite frustrating for someone just coming to Oracle from SQL Server or PostGres. The author frequently references the Oracle Flexible Architecture before speedily mentioning he doesn't adhere to it and you should do whatever is best for you. I found myself repeatedly looking for more...
Published on August 26, 2012 by Brooks Garrett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pro Oracle Database is a great book, January 31, 2011
This review is from: Pro Oracle Database 11g Administration (Expert's Voice in Oracle) (Paperback)
On the back cover of this book it says "Pro Oracle Database 11g Administration is a task-oriented guide to managing complex database environments using Oracle Database11g".

The thing I like most about this book is that it lives up to this promise. The book covers all aspects of Oracle Database 11g Administration. It starts with installation and implementation, goes through database management, understanding and managing users/security, architecture, etc. It has several great chapters on RMAN. I cannot think of any area that is not covered.

I really like the "task-oriented" approach. For every topic, the author provides step-by-step instructions, complete with scripts for accomplishing each task. Something very nice is that he discusses alternatives for accomplishing tasks, the pros and cons of alternatives and then says how he likes to do it and why. For me, this approach provides a real-world practicality.

If there is one thing I would have liked, that is not present, it would be a separate section devoted to 11g features. Although the author discusses what is specific to 11g, it is scattered throughout the book, within the relevant topic chapter. My style is that I would like a separate section, in addition to this, that summarizes new features.

The last chapter of the book talks about troubleshooting and auditing. This is where a dba needs to act quickly and effectively. I think this is where most dba's can do better and where this book can help. The book addresses identifying the most common issues and identifying them quickly. Again, the author provides great step-by-step instructions in the sequence that they should be performed. He gives the exact commands (sql and os) that should be entered, why the command is used and how to view the results. There are also scripts that automate some of this. There is even a very nice script that lets you view the alert log from anywhere on the server. This script, like many of the provided scripts work on any server with no alterations (using functions, etc.). The author again tells you his personal methodology and approach to troubleshooting, which I think really adds a lot of substance to the material.

Overall, I think this is a great book. By providing step-by-step approaches, the scripts, and the author's own methodology for addressing these tasks, I think this will be a valuable and unique addition to any library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very practical book for any level DBA, November 19, 2011
This review is from: Pro Oracle Database 11g Administration (Expert's Voice in Oracle) (Paperback)
Simple - it is practical and very helpful.

All DBAs have read the books that are almost a "pull" from the Oracle doc. And yes, when a full set of paper doc (ah, some of you young-ins do not remember) was about $1,000, it was OK for a book to be a re-wording of the doc with some examples.

Now - not so much. We want to see examples of the use of new features, hints, tricks, and insights from DBAs who really do DBA tasks for a living.

This book is full of examples and real-life use of 11g. It is very practical. It is written by a DBA for other DBAs. It is great.

Buy one today - OK, you can wait for tomorrow if you are studying for the OCP right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Text for Existing DBA's, August 26, 2012
By 
Brooks Garrett (Fernandina Beach, FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found the book to be very helpful for people already using the Oracle platform but quite frustrating for someone just coming to Oracle from SQL Server or PostGres. The author frequently references the Oracle Flexible Architecture before speedily mentioning he doesn't adhere to it and you should do whatever is best for you. I found myself repeatedly looking for more information as to why a specific file was placed in a different location than other files (e.g. redo vs dbf's) and going back to the Oracle documentation and OTN. Overall it is a decent guide but certainly assumes a good bit of familiarity with Oracle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, December 25, 2012
By 
Olen R. Kline (Fairfax, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro Oracle Database 11g Administration (Expert's Voice in Oracle) (Paperback)
Well written, has enough of the facts to be a good guide, brings out some of the new features. Product arrived on time and was as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its a must have book....., June 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro Oracle Database 11g Administration (Expert's Voice in Oracle) (Paperback)
This is a must have book for any up coming Oracle dba because of the valuable information that it carries. However, certain stuffs may not be necessary in the book but in all "its a must have book"......

I simply love it with all the examples that are straight forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too general, March 20, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro Oracle Database 11g Administration (Expert's Voice in Oracle) (Paperback)
This book should be titled Oracle without the 11g, for it doesn't discuss 11g very much. It's really just another Oracle book. I was very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft Windows hosts need not apply., February 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro Oracle Database 11g Administration (Expert's Voice in Oracle) (Paperback)
Microsoft Windows/Server users are completely ignored in this book. If you're looking for help with installing and configuring Oracle on a Windows host, look elsewhere.

Installation and configuration are "explained" with a lot of unix/linux shell text. There is little explanation in OS-nuetral terms, and absolutely no help in Windows terms.

The book would be more aptly titled 'Pro Oracle Database Administraion for unix/linux hosts'. I give it two stars because the non-OS-coupled subjects may be usable, and it's not the author's fault that Oracle isn't intuitively easy to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for Oracle database professionals!, September 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro Oracle Database 11g Administration (Expert's Voice in Oracle) (Paperback)
With the exception of one chapter (Chapter 20), I read this book cover to cover, and I'm glad I did.
The book is well-written and contains a lot of practical advice from the author that I've found very useful. It's always nice to read about a seasoned DBA's approach to database administration.

I'd definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, February 9, 2011
This review is from: Pro Oracle Database 11g Administration (Expert's Voice in Oracle) (Paperback)
Darl Kuhn delivers again. This book is very well-written and gives clear, real-world examples. In my opinion, chapters 15, 17, 18 and 19 are worth the cost of the book. I highly recommend this book for any DBA (beginner or veteran).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro Oracle Database 11g Administration (Expert's Voice in Oracle) (Paperback)
Very good book, will recommend it to every Oracle DBA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pro Oracle Database 11g Administration (Expert's Voice in Oracle)
Pro Oracle Database 11g Administration (Expert's Voice in Oracle) by Darl Kuhn (Paperback - December 28, 2010)
$59.99 $37.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.