Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely well written with tremendous in-depth coverage of RAC internals
By far, the best book I have read on the subject of Oracle10g RAC. Given the success of Gopalakrishnan as coauthor of the book "Oracle Wait Interface: A Practical Guide to Performance Diagnostics & Tuning", I was eager to see his work on a subject as involved as Oracle10g RAC. I am happy to say that Gopal did an outstanding and thorough job! Every chapter of this book is...
Published on April 23, 2007 by JEFFREY M. HUNTER

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deep on some topics
On some of the topics this book is excellent.Looks like this book focussed on topics those are not covered in other books or manuals.

I suggest first read some simple installation and administration manuals.
Later refer this book for specific information.Then you can take more from this book.

THanks,
Mansoor.
Published on December 7, 2007 by Mansoor Shaik


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely well written with tremendous in-depth coverage of RAC internals, April 23, 2007
This review is from: Oracle Database 10g Real Application Clusters Handbook (Oracle Press) (Paperback)
By far, the best book I have read on the subject of Oracle10g RAC. Given the success of Gopalakrishnan as coauthor of the book "Oracle Wait Interface: A Practical Guide to Performance Diagnostics & Tuning", I was eager to see his work on a subject as involved as Oracle10g RAC. I am happy to say that Gopal did an outstanding and thorough job! Every chapter of this book is clear and well written with accurate demonstrations and valuable illustrations. This book is for both beginners as well as seasoned Oracle professions.

What I found most useful was the in-depth coverage of Cache Fusion and Global Resource Directory as well as a thorough troubleshooting section. The author also provides extensive coverage on installation and architecture concerns, backup and recovery in RAC, performance monitoring, workload balancing and distribution, connection management, as well as application development and extensions to the RAC architecture. Oracle's Automatic Storage Management (ASM) feature is fully explained as well as many other basic and advanced administration topics.

The only area of improvement I would suggest is greater coverage on backing up and recovering the two key Oracle Clusterware shared components: the Voting Disk and the Oracle Cluster Registry File. Although the book does contain information pertaining to backing up and recovering these resources, I felt that these two files are critical enough to the operation of Oracle Clusterware that a full working example would be helpful. Possibly a workshop that fully details how to recover a voting disk and cluster registry file after the loss of both files.

I would highly recommend this book to DBA's and Developers tasked with working in an Oracle10g RAC environment. You will not be disappointment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Title: Deep dive to RAC concepts and Cache Fusion Internals, December 12, 2006
By 
This review is from: Oracle Database 10g Real Application Clusters Handbook (Oracle Press) (Paperback)
These days, we find a lot of books on Oracle Technology flooding the market in tandem with the product announcements. Most of the books just rehash the standard (or even beta) documentation, or published metalink notes. This book is certainly does not belong to that category.

First of all, I find that this is the first book which tries to present an accurate picture of RAC. This book clearly demonstrates that RAC is the improved version of OPS and shows the evoluation path of OPS to RAC. I suppose most of the people who have worked on Oracle for a long time will agree with that statement. Most of the current books in the market that I get to read just tend to follow what Oracle marketing says, that RAC is not OPS.

Notably, this is the first ever book on RAC, that has shown me how cache fusion really works. Cache fusion is the secret of RAC and not many people knows how they work under the hood. In this book the author has clearly demonstrated how the resources are mastered, how the locks are coverted and that a row level locks (transaction locks) are different to a buffer locks (Global Cache locks). There are places where the author has used block dumps to explain the internal implementations.

What I see is that the author has tried his best to concentrate on concepts and inner workings of various things inside RAC.

In that sense, this book is well stocked with lengthy discussions for the RAC hungry technicians. the book requires a lot of attention (and sometimes repeated readings) and certainly this is not bed time reading!

The beginning is light and interesting, especially the history of OPS which is difficult to find and collate.I really enjoyed reading the Global Resource Directory chapter along with the Cache Fusion. Many other chapters are worth a mention including the Backup and Recovery, Performance Tuning (No wonder,the author has another best selling oracle performance tuning book!) and Application Development. The consistency and approach is great and the author has tried to keep things in context, most of the times. The author has managed to touch many topics in RAC though some of them could have been lengthier and more conclusive.

One last thing, If you want to buy a book just to get the bunch of day to day commands for RAC and plan to work on RAC, please do not buy this book. You will be thoroughly disappointed as this book doesn't belong to that category. It only tells us how things works internally, what are the concepts behind the scenes and not the magic commands to administer RAC.

As a whole, I find this book a very enriching reference/concepts book to read when I don't know how something works in RAC. If there is a secret in RAC, there is a good chance you might find it in this book rather than any other. Contents in this book are generally not seen in other RAC books that I have read and the quality of presentation is much better.

Good buy but prepare for some heavy reading.!! I recommend this book to every DBA (even architects) who want to know HOW RAC works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you ever wanted to know about RAC and more....., March 3, 2007
This review is from: Oracle Database 10g Real Application Clusters Handbook (Oracle Press) (Paperback)
Just got this much expected book from Gopal! Absolutely fantastic...It is certainly very detailed and in-depth was my immediate impression.

Many topics are detailed, exhaustive and to the point. It is different to the other RAC books available in the market and also this book is platform independent. I am very impressed with this one because it is unique and the style of writing is great, not to mention the depth and clarity of the chapters.

I would like to agree with the other person who has commented that we need lot of attention and concentration to read this book. If you have a RAC database, nothing like it to try the example demonstrations provided in the book.

Not everyone will be fortunate to have a 4 node RAC to test the possible cache fusion scenarios explained in this book. But the author has prepared a very effective demonstration to reveal the internal operations of the cache fusion. A lot of topics like internal of resource mastering/remastering, two pass recovery and past images are dealt to the core. Another unique in the book is a discussion on extended RAC (most commonly known as stretch clusters or geo clusters) and discussions on Application development for RAC.

Overall, it is an excellent text on RAC and worth for your investment on Time and money. There are so less books with good quality and content. It is worth the wait and I hope you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First time about Oracle RAC in so deep & complete way...., January 23, 2007
By 
Lukasz Feldman (Warszawa, Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oracle Database 10g Real Application Clusters Handbook (Oracle Press) (Paperback)
Absolutely fantastic! But do not be misled by the "handbook" term. It is not just the handbook with list of commands, couple of scripts or syntax. It goes more deeply in to the internals of the RAC infrastructure. For example Cache Fusion and Global Resources Directory have dedicated chapters. In my private opinion currently there is no other source of knowledge about RAC technology which covers it in so deep & complete way. As author has mentioned in the introduction this book seems to provide solid background and fundamentals of RAC, which can be a baseline for every RAC DBA. After book lecture, DBA can use received theory to dig into the technology and understand it in practical manner.

If I can do something to improve it I would prefer to have more details about CRS troubleshooting. This technology is quite new and still there is no good review point on what to do when something will go wrong with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear out your other RAC Books - replace them all with this one single masterpiece!, January 29, 2007
By 
This review is from: Oracle Database 10g Real Application Clusters Handbook (Oracle Press) (Paperback)
Following up on his previous runaway bestseller success with the Oracle Wait Interface book, 'X$KG' Gopal has outdone himself yet again! Whether you are a newbie looking to take your first dive into RAC or an experienced DBA looking desperately for help navigating the murky waters of RAC, THIS is THE book for you. KG has cleverly, yet simply crystallized his vast experience with this product into easily understandable, yet deep content. He has explained Advanced RAC concepts (Part IV) with adequate examples that makes it easy to digest this information overload. This book will be a well-thumbed one in my repertoire, along with other books from the best of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short , simple , lucid and practical, February 2, 2007
By 
This review is from: Oracle Database 10g Real Application Clusters Handbook (Oracle Press) (Paperback)
I particularly liked the chapters for cache fusion and the troubleshooting bits as in most cases in practical on the field situations its easy to be armed with the knowledge on how to look at the traces and better understand cache fusion for performance tuning. Could complete reading this book within a few hours which makes it more appealing from its thicker counterparts. A pleasure to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book for DBA, January 22, 2007
This review is from: Oracle Database 10g Real Application Clusters Handbook (Oracle Press) (Paperback)
If you are interest in methodology of Oracle Cache Fusion, and related technology, read this book right now. Useful for tuning and design of Oracle 10gR2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well written and highly informative, July 20, 2007
This review is from: Oracle Database 10g Real Application Clusters Handbook (Oracle Press) (Paperback)
When I first received this book after ordering it from Amazon, my initial feeling was disappointment. "It's too thin", I thought. A subject like RAC needs a much bigger tome. Well, I was wrong.

By concentrating his work specifically on RAC, Mr. Gopalakrishnan has been able to thoroughly cover his subject in a relatively thin volume. But, be warned. This is not a book for beginners nor is it a book about Oracle in general. It is specifically about RAC, how a lot of it works under the covers. For those people who are interested in the subject, it is an invaluable resource. The chapters on the Global Resource Directory and Cache Fusion are worth the price, alone. I was also quite happy to see chapters on installation and ASM management. There are plenty of installation guides available on the web, but it was nice to see the author's version of it. After all, you can't work on a RAC database without first installing it. Mr. Gopalakrishnan understands that.

There isn't much to complain about here and a ton to compliment. The book has already helped me in understanding some of the problems I have encountered with the RAC database I am currently managing. Needless to say, I highly recommend it.

I have a number of books on Oracle, some good and some bad. This book has a place on my shelf next to the books written by Kyte, Millsap and Lewis. That would be in the "good" category, for those who don't know. The very, very good category. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value for money, October 5, 2007
This review is from: Oracle Database 10g Real Application Clusters Handbook (Oracle Press) (Paperback)
If you have his earlier book, OWI Practical guide to Performance Diagnostics and Tuning, you know KG's style. This book is equally good. As you come to expect of him the book is concise, precise, relevant and lucid.

You are low level, mid level or senior level DBA, there are chapters that are of interest to you. I found Part IV, covering Advanced Concepts in RAC very interesting. With his in depth coverage on Cache Coherency, GES & GCS he lays a solid foundation. The ice on the cake is Chapter 12 - Closer look at Cache fusion. Your money gets more than its worth on this chapter alone - if you ask me. The hands on approach for cache fusion are remarkable. Work load and connection management as well RAC troubleshooting are very helpful too.

In a nutshell, you will not be disappointed and it is worth more than its price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know abot Oracle 10g RAC, January 21, 2007
By 
This review is from: Oracle Database 10g Real Application Clusters Handbook (Oracle Press) (Paperback)
This is a good book for all levels of DBA who want to jump onto the RAC enviorment. Its a very hands-on book and also gives a good conceptual knowledge. I had the other RAC on Linux book by Julian Dyke and I had to return it as it had too much of theortical details. That is an excellent book too, but if I can get the same information with less amount of reading, I would rather go for less reading. I have read a few chapters and found some very intresting details esp. in the Cache Fusion details chapter. The chapter on tuning is really detailed and helpful. Overall a very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Oracle Database 10g Real Application Clusters Handbook (Oracle Press)
Oracle Database 10g Real Application Clusters Handbook (Oracle Press) by K. Gopalakrishnan (Paperback - November 22, 2006)
$63.00 $31.16
Usually ships in 4 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.