Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent FMW Reference Material
I give this book top marks and find it a very engaging, fast-paced and "easy-to-read", and my comments are:

-The authors have done a great job compiling content from 10+ real-life implementations and have distilled that in the form of use-cases accompanied by reference architecture.

-I find it a handy reference on my bookshelf - when one wants to...
Published on January 19, 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Tough Read
Oracle Fusion and Middleware Patterns was not particularly well organized or well written. The book itself appeared to be written by a number of individuals each responsible for differing sections; however their was no attention paid to unifying the diverse styles, or even considering if the title matched the content.

Like the term design patterns, the term...
Published on November 12, 2010 by Bob


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Tough Read, November 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Oracle Fusion Middleware Patterns (Paperback)
Oracle Fusion and Middleware Patterns was not particularly well organized or well written. The book itself appeared to be written by a number of individuals each responsible for differing sections; however their was no attention paid to unifying the diverse styles, or even considering if the title matched the content.

Like the term design patterns, the term Middleware Patterns has specific implications that were not acheived by the authors. Middleware patterns implies that there exist certain Oracle meta-architecture patterns that are reuseable, and these were missing entirely.

The book itself was largely a hodgepodge of case studies that has little to do with any formal architecture definition that could be reused elsewhere. While I am sure that the authors are smart people, they simply cannot write very well, and that is the book's downfall.

Oracle really should have spent more time editing individual author contributions so that the book held together as a cohesive whole, instead of what it became.

I found the book hard to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent FMW Reference Material, January 19, 2011
This review is from: Oracle Fusion Middleware Patterns (Paperback)
I give this book top marks and find it a very engaging, fast-paced and "easy-to-read", and my comments are:

-The authors have done a great job compiling content from 10+ real-life implementations and have distilled that in the form of use-cases accompanied by reference architecture.

-I find it a handy reference on my bookshelf - when one wants to revisit a use-case or an integration pattern and not read up several books instead.

-This book is definitely one of the better books I've read in recent years explaining the "What" as well as some of the "How". Thus ideally meant for architects, leaders, and technology and integration managers.

-Interaction between the different products - Oracle SOA Suite, Oracle BAM, Oracle WebCenter, Oracle Essbase and Hyperion, Oracle Data Integrator, Oracle ADF and Oracle EBusiness Suite, Oracle BPM Suite, Oracle BI Publisher - is explained very well, all in one place.

-SOA Composite Development concepts covering E-Business Suite, SOA Suite, ADF, WebCenter and WebCenter Spaces and BI Apps are explained well, and you realize FMW has become a full development platform.

-SOA caching for Service State and Service Results and implementation of Coherence for Grid Caching. I find this to be very useful - and was able to refresh my concepts and understood the solution quickly.

-The use-case showing integration of relational and multi-dimensional data using Oracle Data Integrator is done well, and it includes Essbase and Hyperion for multi-dimensional analysis.

-The use-case are accompanied by XML/code samples, screen-shots and easy description of concepts and value drivers.

If you are a FMW Developer looking for best coding practices to program any of the individual products, this book is likely not the best fit, but for a end-to-end architectural approach and real-life case studies, this is a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A case study based approach to using Oracle FMW, January 8, 2011
This review is from: Oracle Fusion Middleware Patterns (Paperback)
Over the last few years Orackle FMW has expanded from being an Application Server to being synonymous with an entire suite of products. This rapid expansion in capability has left Oracle practitioners guessing as to what is the right approach for implementing solutions with Oracle FMW. This ambiguity stems not from a limited understanding of the product itself, but from the wide range of options that Oracle FMW provides. There are many right answers and Oracle practitioners have been struggling to leverage field experience and recommended best practices to make the right choices.

"Oracle FMW Middleware Patterns" fills this urgent need to provide field based examples to assist Oracle practitioners in implementing Oracle FMW solutions. The case study based approach is extremely helpful as it makes the product implementation and solutioning process "real". It not only provides guidance in terms of implementing solutions using product components as varied as Oracle BPM and Oracle Coherence, but also provides unique insights into possible solutions that may not have been thought of.

For examples the section on Process Driven SOA development succinctly covers the BPMN to BPEL round trip processing in the context of a solution built for a utility provider. Similarly the section on "Code free Application Extension" is quite insightful in the use of ADF, all in the context of a travel and expense processing business process.

I would recommend this book for gaining valuable field insights from implementations that have been completed. It expands the horizons that Oracle FMW can be used for, as well as, providing a good reference for similar requirements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A business view of Fusion Middleware, January 7, 2011
This review is from: Oracle Fusion Middleware Patterns (Paperback)
Fusion Middleware Patterns consists of 10 chapters, with Chapter 1 serving as an introduction to the following nine chapters, grouped into 3 sections: Process Improvement, Business Visibility and Collaboration & Security. Generally speaking, each chapter first explores its central topic at a theoretical level, then presents one or more actual case studies as working examples. I found this approach particularly effective in bringing the reader from theory to reality. But most noticeable for me was the degree to which the various authors, who are clearly technologists, viewed their work in business terms. I found it refreshing and the key strength of the book.

It continually strikes a balance between technology and process (i.e. technology as a business process enabler rather than as an end to itself), although the potential downside of course is that this could be viewed as a turn-off for readers looking exclusively for either view. It's most appropriate for those CIO's and their staffs who are evaluating or pursuing a transition from 1st generation ERP packages to 2nd generation Enterprise Systems Platforms. While from a technology view it represents various Oracle Fusion Middleware products, its approaches and sentiments are product-agnostic.

My only criticism (and the reason for the 4 stars out of 5) is that it would have been very helpful for the authors to have summarized the learning's from the 10 chapters and explored the `impacts and implications' that the case studies uncovered. Surely there are some key themes that could have been `aha' moments from the book when viewed in the aggregate.

I'd offer one that hit me as I finished Chapter 3 (Code Free Applications) and read the Summary, which starts out with "The next generation of IT principles: SOA, BPM, Web 2.0, and BI-will make business applications work the way business users perform tasks, ........The resulting dynamic applications will be adaptable in real time to suit situational changes........". While this statement is certainly true, and the chief reason that the 2nd generation enterprise systems platform will be the game changer that 1st generation ERP was not, it will require a range of IT and Business linkages that typically do not yet exist. `Business Savvy IT' will be a pre requisite of achieving success, and initiatives such as those explored in the case studies should not be attempted without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - Real Life Info, January 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Oracle Fusion Middleware Patterns (Paperback)
This book was specifically written for solution architects, designers, developers and users leveraging Oracle Fusion Middleware. You need to know that going in.

As someone who makes his living with Oracle products, I've found this book to be invaluable. Why? Because it contains design patterns that are currently used in the real world. As a consultant myself, I've recently used some of the patterns provided by the authors to provide some very successful solutions for some very satisfied customers.

Each of the patterns presented includes a detailed description of the "before" state, the design pattern itself, and the mechanics of applying the design pattern to deliver the solution. Great stuff, both as a cover-to-cover read and as a constantly-used reference.

For those involved with providing customer solutions using Oracle Fusion Middleware, this is a great book full of real-life information. It will stay in my library and I'll continue to use it often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Book has nothing to offer, December 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Oracle Fusion Middleware Patterns (Paperback)
I found this book very much un-structured and doesn't have any good revelent info that one can benifit. It is collection of some case studies at 20K feet high level..

I bought this book by looking at table of content which was very attractive but the actual Chapters has nothing to offer...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for Oracle Fusion Middleware, September 16, 2010
This review is from: Oracle Fusion Middleware Patterns (Paperback)
This book has 10 chapters in 3 sections: Process Improvement, Business Visibility and Collaboration and Security. If you are responsible for planning, designing, providing, and operating software solutions, you have to read this book, this book can help you for ideas and solutions.

[...].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Oracle Fusion Middleware Patterns
Oracle Fusion Middleware Patterns by Harish Gaur (Paperback - September 9, 2010)
$44.99 $40.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.