Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very general coverage of material
You will need expert's knowledge in UNIX, Linux and Blade Servers to attempt this material. I found the book very useful for shops that have the newer Hardware technology. This book will show you how to implement the new Oracle 10g GRID technology coupled with RAC on blade servers and what is involved in the configuration process. I highly recommend only professional...
Published on May 30, 2006 by Dominic Sputo

versus
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Little more than a theory book
This book is a theory book and little more than a recapitulation of the Oracle documentation and HOWTO documents provided on metalink. There are some helpful sections on RAC performance and tuning which add some value but there is simply too much filler, including the first five chapters, that contains little more than the ABCs of Oracle and fundamental OS...
Published on March 20, 2005 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Little more than a theory book, March 20, 2005
By 
Amazon Customer (Moreno Valley, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Oracle 10g Grid & Real Application Clusters: Oracle 10g Grid Computing with RAC (Oracle In-Focus series) (Hardcover)
This book is a theory book and little more than a recapitulation of the Oracle documentation and HOWTO documents provided on metalink. There are some helpful sections on RAC performance and tuning which add some value but there is simply too much filler, including the first five chapters, that contains little more than the ABCs of Oracle and fundamental OS principles.

There are a number of exciting and provocative areas for RAC research which are occurring in SUN, HP, and LINUX laboratories, focused on scalability with topspin infiniband and scaling the cluster above 4 nodes. Some of this research is coming into view with the new TCP-H numbers. Little mention of this in the text. How to scale RAC clusters by expanding the number of interconnects is not addresses or quantitized. Use of network storage and NetApps with NFS over IP or with iSCSI is not addressed. Although it is mentioned that Oracle packages its own clusterware and file sharing tools, there is no in-depth analysis of why other tools such as SunCluster, Veritas Storage Foundation suite or RehHat clustered file system might not have superior methods for data protection, performance, or usability. None of the problem areas for installation or configuration are addressed( there are many problem areas ) beyond the simple textbook installation. No mention of the new Opteron systems using Red Hat 3, 64 bit operating systems with 64 bit versions of Oracle 10g are explored. This is an important new area which SUN, HP and other vendors are providing cost/performance effective, scalable architectures when married with infiniband.

In all fairness to Mr Ault, RAC is a complex animal with adjunct 3rd party hardware and software components which are changing all the time and keeping up with the new technologies is daunting. Still, the author adds no substantial value to those who want to go beyond simple hand-waving into implementation. This is where the the text falls down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very general coverage of material, May 30, 2006
This review is from: Oracle 10g Grid & Real Application Clusters: Oracle 10g Grid Computing with RAC (Oracle In-Focus series) (Hardcover)
You will need expert's knowledge in UNIX, Linux and Blade Servers to attempt this material. I found the book very useful for shops that have the newer Hardware technology. This book will show you how to implement the new Oracle 10g GRID technology coupled with RAC on blade servers and what is involved in the configuration process. I highly recommend only professional Database Administrators with new hardware & server(s) with more than 4gigs of memory for this book material. This is definitely not for a beginner. Please go here if you want DBA material for passing your Oracle Certification
Oracle 10g Database Administrator: Implementation and Administration
Oracle 10g Database Administrator II: Backup/Recovery and Network Administration
My favorite book in my collect besides the Bible is Oracle 9i Performance & Tuning by Course.com (over 1,000 pages and covered more information than any other Oracle book I have ever read).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got them all - This is the one I use., February 6, 2006
This review is from: Oracle 10g Grid & Real Application Clusters: Oracle 10g Grid Computing with RAC (Oracle In-Focus series) (Hardcover)
I have worked with RAC for 2 years and this book has addressed some of the missing pieces of the puzzle. This book is first in a new series "Oracle In Focus" and will give O'Reilly a run for their money.

I really like this book and although I did have some critiques I felt that I could not resist. However, RAC is a very sophisticated Product and the authors have done a splendid job in bringing all of the material under one cover.

This book does a great job laying out the differences between RAC and OPS. It also covers the architecture and implementation of RAC for all major platforms including Veritas DBE/AC. The architecture discussion covers areas such as I/O Fencing, SCSI3 Persistent Reservations, and Quorum Disks in Chapter 3. This is important information which sets a basis for the next chapter. In Chapter 4 RAC technical Architecture is thoroughly reviewed after a brief overview of the OPS evolution.

Chapter 5 is a brief chapter that covers Hardware and RAC and explains the Implementation of RAC from a hardware perspective. I liked the approach taken by the authors because they do a good job tying in CFS or RAW with the disk subsystem.

Chapter 6 is a 100 page chapter that covers RAC Install and configuration for almost every platform. It is high level but covers the subject matter well. It is very current in relation to where Oracle is with Patch sets and such. I had only wished they covered the Linux install better and covered the watchdog/hang check timer kernel transition.

Chapter 7 is dedicated to the RAC internals and is good at condensing the internals that is covered in the Oracle RAC concepts guide. It is in Chapter 8 that the authors cover Threads but they stop short of explaining of how threads are used to generate SCN's and the role they play in recovery and Data Guard gap resolution.

Chapter 10 covers TAF (Transparent Application Failover) connectivity to RAC. Although this chapter covers the subject matter okay it is weak in when they cover load balancing on the nodes.

The remaining chapters are pretty good after skimming over them. I will update my review after finishing the book. Don't get me wrong by my critiques. I like this book very much. This book is a must for anyone who is interested in RAC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, November 25, 2005
This review is from: Oracle 10g Grid & Real Application Clusters: Oracle 10g Grid Computing with RAC (Oracle In-Focus series) (Hardcover)
Oracle RAC and Grid is very complicated and I have purchased every Oracle book on the subject with this one being the clear winner. The problem with Grid is that every installation is completely different and it is very hard to find a book that give operating system and disk specific configuration tips. This is a huge book and not everything will apply to you but the authors have done an excellent job in explaining how to succeed with clustered technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much theory.., June 18, 2007
By 
Prasad Mahale (Riverside, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oracle 10g Grid & Real Application Clusters: Oracle 10g Grid Computing with RAC (Oracle In-Focus series) (Hardcover)
Too much theory and too much to go through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent information in an unwieldy wrapper, October 9, 2006
This review is from: Oracle 10g Grid & Real Application Clusters: Oracle 10g Grid Computing with RAC (Oracle In-Focus series) (Hardcover)
I found the information in this book to be quite good. There was a lot of focus on the interweaving of multiple techonologies that is required by RAC, and a significant amount of detail in each chapter. I think this book is a great start for a RAC DBA or DB and systems architects.

I found this book to be very poorly edited however, with enough grammatical mistakes to detract from my overall enjoyment of the book. I know that rampant focuses on getting books out fast, and this shows in the editing. Unfortunately, this detracts from the professionalism of the work.

Additionally, I found there to be a lot of filler material, either in the form of theoretical discussions of little relevance, extremely rudimentary concepts that should be assumed in the subject matter, or redundant material. The font was much too large, with too much whitespace per page, and too many useless and non-amusing pictures. They could have removed 300 pages from this book, which would result in a rich and smaller tome. For those of us who travel a lot or who have a large collection of books, 800 page books are a detriment unless the material warrants the size. In this case, the material did not.

Overall, I'm glad I own the book. It has proven practical in my work and gave me some great insights. But I would like to see Rampant step up a notch in editing and packaging, and provide a new edition since this field is so fast-paced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing deal for me, March 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Oracle 10g Grid & Real Application Clusters: Oracle 10g Grid Computing with RAC (Oracle In-Focus series) (Hardcover)
I purchased this book for my brother,I can't comment on the content but this book arrived on time and it is as good as new book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really really good, June 22, 2005
This review is from: Oracle 10g Grid & Real Application Clusters: Oracle 10g Grid Computing with RAC (Oracle In-Focus series) (Hardcover)
This is cledarly the best book on Oracle 10g grid and clusters. I have the others, and this is the only one that goes into enough depth to be useful and the authors have real experience using Oracle grid computing.

I also like the downloadable scripts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good technical details, February 21, 2006
This review is from: Oracle 10g Grid & Real Application Clusters: Oracle 10g Grid Computing with RAC (Oracle In-Focus series) (Hardcover)
I found that Oracle RAC is very complex and I was very happy to find the amount of technical details in this book. It guided me stepwise through a complicated RAC installation and the online scripts were most helpful to me. This is a book I recommend to all who are getting started with RAC and Grid tech.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars overall a good book, April 21, 2005
By 
This review is from: Oracle 10g Grid & Real Application Clusters: Oracle 10g Grid Computing with RAC (Oracle In-Focus series) (Hardcover)
This book covers grid and RAC. The grid part is mostly theoretical. Infact, I am not sure how well the Oracle in grid architecure works, as I havn't tried it.

The RAC part of book is good, though I think more coverage on moving from 9i RAC to 10g RAC would have been useful.

This book covers both 9i and 10g. Infact, some of the areas like Statspack and RAC is relevant to 9i only. Chapter on Performance monitoring and tuning is good.

In my opinion, its much better than Murali Vallath's book, which is primarily written for single instance with no more than 50 pages of information on RAC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Oracle 10g Grid & Real Application Clusters: Oracle 10g Grid Computing with RAC (Oracle In-Focus series)
Used & New from: $4.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.