Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably Complete
Authors of books in the "Complete Reference" series have always had a tough row to hoe. They attempt to condense an entire set of product documentation to a single, referenceable volume. And all that has to be done in the time frame allowed by software release schedules.

Kudos to the authors of this particular volume for having pulled together a lucid,...
Published 21 months ago by Scott Cromar

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Basic, outdated and inconsistent style
I dislike reading books that have been written by several people at the best of times; there is a lack of cohesion and coherence that is very evident in this volume if you need to use it every day (like I do). Apart from style, the biggest issue I have is context and content; context, in the sense that virtualization and the cloud now sit at the core of Solaris services;...
Published 23 months ago by Anonymous


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably Complete, April 13, 2013
This review is from: Oracle Solaris 11 System Administration: The Complete Reference (Paperback)
Authors of books in the "Complete Reference" series have always had a tough row to hoe. They attempt to condense an entire set of product documentation to a single, referenceable volume. And all that has to be done in the time frame allowed by software release schedules.

Kudos to the authors of this particular volume for having pulled together a lucid, reasonably detailed summary of the most important parts of Solaris. Despite the name, no one book can actually be a complete reference for something as complex as Solaris, but this book is a pretty good addition to any Solaris admin's bookshelf.

One of the difficulties of writing a book by committee is maintaining the same audience and consistent focus across chapters and topics. In this case, there are some chapters where the level of detail does not match what is present in other chapters. And in some cases, there is a distinct audience mis-match.

I came across one howler in Chapter 10: "differences between shells are subtle, indistinguishable to most regular Solaris 11 users." The author of that chapter goes on to explain that for that reason, the chapter will focus on bash. Fair enough on the selection of the most common shell for detailed discussion. But you have to wonder how useful a chapter is going to be if the assumed audience is too clueless to see the difference in how sh and csh (for example) execute even simple actions like setting an environment variable.

It would be nearly impossible for a book of this type to earn 5 stars. But this volume gets a solid 4 in my book.

Scott Cromar
Author: Solaris Troubleshooting Handbook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good Solaris 11 book!, March 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What I like the most about this book is that it's consice, even if it's a complete reference. There are no frills and the chapter separation make it easy for more advanced administrator to skip content they know well. I really recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Basic, outdated and inconsistent style, March 3, 2013
This review is from: Oracle Solaris 11 System Administration: The Complete Reference (Paperback)
I dislike reading books that have been written by several people at the best of times; there is a lack of cohesion and coherence that is very evident in this volume if you need to use it every day (like I do). Apart from style, the biggest issue I have is context and content; context, in the sense that virtualization and the cloud now sit at the core of Solaris services; and content, which is totally outdated in this book. Really, a whole chapter on setting up an FTP server? The same space dedicated to virtualization? Seriously? I suggest that really basic and old technologies be put in one beginner's book, and this one should cover all new technologies, but recast within a virtualization framework. Truly awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Just Ok, October 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Oracle Solaris 11 System Administration: The Complete Reference (Paperback)
Doesn't delve deep into any topics, but covers some of the basics. There aren't many other resources out there right now though, so this is what you're stuck with at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Overview, April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Oracle Solaris 11 System Administration: The Complete Reference (Paperback)
Provides a good overview of what to expect in Solaris 11. Serves as a great means to understand concepts and points you in the right direction to find additional information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some flaws but not bad, April 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Oracle Solaris 11 System Administration: The Complete Reference (Paperback)
If you're somewhere between a rookie and a veteran of Solaris it's not a bad book to have. It's written in a way that makes it an easy read. I didn't like a few things though. First, the pacing is all over the place, for example, they go into lots of detail on the cd command but reference inodes and never explain what they are. Had I not known for previous experience I would have been confused. If you buy only one Solaris 11 book don't make it this one. If you're going to buy a few it's worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Okay reference., December 30, 2012
By 
Just a Guy "Just a Guy" (Santa Ana, ca United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Oracle Solaris 11 System Administration: The Complete Reference (Paperback)
I'm learning about Solaris 11. This is an okay reference. I was looking more into setting up boot from SAN type of environments, but this appears to be more specialized nitch that is not included in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must have for any Solaris Amin, February 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Oracle Solaris 11 System Administration: The Complete Reference (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to anyone who is a Solaris Admin and has experience with the previous OS versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic reference, I wish it existed 20 years ago, January 5, 2013
By 
This review is from: Oracle Solaris 11 System Administration: The Complete Reference (Paperback)
This is the book to turn to if you have questions about Solaris.

I wish that this book or something comparable existed when I was first introducted to Solaris in the 90's. Back then, if you had questions, the system administrators didn't keep books or even printed manuals of instructions, instead referring all questions to the online man. Unfortunately, the man command while providing some information, lacks the overall context and perspective that the experts were able to provide in this well-written guide to Solaris.

If you are using Solaris, you should have this book on your shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oracle Solaris 11 System Administration The Complete Reference, April 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Oracle Solaris 11 System Administration: The Complete Reference (Paperback)
I have purchased this book for exploring new functionality in Solaris 11. I am very disappointed. This is the type of book normally found in the Linux World, Touch everything from a desktop perspective but skimpy on the Details. This book title does not do justice to the content. If you bought Solaris Books from REAL Sun Microsystems Engineers /Admins you will see how different this one is and should not be put in their class..

if you want explore Solaris as desktop for personal use then i recommend it for beginners who are exposed to UNIX in the past. This is not meant for advanced users.You are better of reading Oracle Documentation on their support site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Oracle Solaris 11 System Administration: The Complete Reference
Oracle Solaris 11 System Administration: The Complete Reference by Michael H. Jang (Paperback - September 5, 2012)
$65.00 $40.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.