Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
$3.44
Sold by cdgiveaways.

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Customer Direct Add to Cart
$3.99  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
NSN Add to Cart
$7.77  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Oral Fixation vol. 2
 
See larger image
 

Oral Fixation vol. 2 [Enhanced]

ShakiraAudio CD
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (245 customer reviews)

Price: $3.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by Big_Box_Bargains and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, Feb. 2? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 13 Songs, 2006 $5.00  
Audio CD, Extra tracks, 2006 $5.60  
Audio CD, Enhanced, 2005 $3.99  

Amazon's Shakira Store

Music

Image of album by Shakira

Photos

Image of Shakira

Biography

Multi-platinum, Grammy Award-winning singer/songwriter and global recording artist Shakira is set to release her self-titled album SHAKIRA, on March 25, 2014 on RCA/Sony Latin Iberia.

Shakira’s current single and video “Can’t Remember to Forget You” featuring Rihanna is available now via RCA Records/Sony Latin Iberia and has skyrocketed online with over 150 ... Read more in Amazon's Shakira Store

Visit Amazon's Shakira Store
for 177 albums, 27 photos, videos, discussions, and more.

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

Oral Fixation vol. 2 + She Wolf + Laundry Service
Price for all three: $21.08

Buy the selected items together


Product Details

  • Audio CD (November 29, 2005)
  • Original Release Date: 2005
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Enhanced
  • Label: Sony
  • ASIN: B000BOH8XW
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (245 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #169,926 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. How Do You Do
2. Donít Bother
3. Illegal (featuring Carlos Santana)
4. The Day and the Time (featuring Gustavo Cerati)
5. Animal City
6. Dreams for Plans
7. Hey You
8. Your Embrace
9. Costume Makes the Clown
10. Something
11. Timor

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Planet Patrol ~ Oral Fixation Vol. 2

Amazon.com

The English-language Oral Fixation Vol. 2 finds Shakira reclaiming some of the bite she showcased on 1998's smashing Donde Estan Los Ladrones? The Colombian rock goddess is making up for lost time: this is her second disc of new material in 2005. It's quite a feat, considering the four-year gap since Laundry Service, her scattershot, English-language debut album. Oral Fixation Vol. 2 is more mature and better focused than the spin-cycle pop of that 2001 disc. Kick-off track "How Do You Do" starts with a haunting reading of "The Lord's Prayer" before launching into a risky questioning of faith and religion. Shakira touches on the highs and lows of celebrity on a trio of tracks--the bittersweet "Your Embrace," the guitar-driven "Costume Makes the Clown," and the disco-fied, politically charged "Timor." Selfish men and failed relationships--two oft-mentioned topics of interest--anchor much of Oral Fixation Vol. 2. First single "Don't Bother" is a bitter ode to strength, jealousy, and survival; "Dreams for Plans" is a wistful collage of relationship memories; and Carlos Santana slides a sexy guitar riff under soulful standout track "Illegal." The purple haze of Prince hangs over "Animal City," one of the disc's most inventive moments. It's a free-wheeling melange of rock riffs, electronic accents, mariachi horns and confident vocals. Two songs from Fijacion Oral Vol. 1 make appearances--the somber "Something" and "The Day and the Time," which improves greatly upon its Spanish counterpart. Vol. 1, while at times enjoyable, was a portrait of a gifted artist struggling to keep her footing and retain her confidence. Oral Fixation Vol. 2 finds Shakira embracing the eclectic beauty within. It's a wonderful sound. --Joey Guerra


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
87 of 103 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It just kills me to write this... December 13, 2005
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
...but I thought this album was boring.

No seriously. I'm a huge Shakira fan. We're both from the same town in Colombia.
I've been trying to get American audiences to listen to her for years, and no one was happier than I when she finally hit.
I belong to the fan club.
She had me at "Hello."

I really enjoyed "Fijacion Oral, Vol.1", and I naturally assumed I was gonna love this too. I even said so in my Amazon review way back when. But I slipped this into my car CD player, and...

...nothing.

I mean sure, it's impeccably produced and played, and I love her voice with all its' quirks and swoops. She could sing my tax form and I'd love it.

But nothing jumped out as being "awesome" or "amazing"...things I've come to expect with each of her releases. Beginning with "Pies Descalzos", she has compiled a staggering catalog of quality albums. Even her Unplugged disc is one of the best they've ever done.

"Don't Bother" is a weak single. The first one off this record should have been "bigger", yet I don't know which other one to pick.
There are a couple of interesting things on the album...I mean, this isn't by any means a BAD record...it's just not nearly as good as anything else she's done in years.

Carlos Santana's cameo in "Illegal" is typically nice. The two Spanish-to-English conversions work, for the most part...actually I think "Something" improves on its' predecessor.

But the melodies aren't as catchy...overall, the songs themselves just aren't as good as on Volume 1.

I waited so long for this record...it just bums me out that I'm going to have to wait that much longer for the next one...

Shakira fans will have to have this...no question. I would have bought this record even if I read that this was the worst album since "Glitter". But this is not going to add any fans to her already immense following...
Was this review helpful to you?
46 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An oral fixation that will have you begging for more November 29, 2005
Format:Audio CD
No-one can accuse Shakira (real name Shakira Isabel Mebarak Ripoll) of being a run of the mill Latin pop artiste. Her voice can be picked out from across a room, and those dance moves – you’d have to be visually impaired not to notice her.

There’s a reason for her popularity, and in this English language follow up to Fijacíon Oral Vol.1 (June 2005), she proves that she can keep her English-speaking fan base happy too.

Dramatically starting off with a choral rendition of a section of “The Lord’s Prayer”, “How Do You Do” is definitely one to watch, and first single “Don’t Bother” is about losing a lover to an admittedly better woman in all areas but one.

“I’m sure she doesn’t know
How to touch you like I would
I beat her at that one good
Don’t you think so?”

Chock full of great songs, she follows up the first two songs with “Illegal” featuring Carlos Santana, and “The Day and the Time” with Gustavo Cerati. “Animal City” and “Dreams for Plans” are also good, “Hey You” is a bundle of retro fun, and then she turns down the pace for “Your Embrace” and “Something”. Just to make sure you know your rest break is over after the last few songs, she hits you with the dance track “Timor” as a grande finale.

This is an oral fixation that will have you begging for more.

Amanda Richards, November 29, 2005
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
51 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars above average pop/rock for the present day April 7, 2006
By Da Man
Format:Audio CD
from the opening chant of "Our Father" through to the reprise of "La Tortura", which was obviously added to boost sales (as it was the biggest Spanish-language song since Los Lobos' "La Bamba" in 1987), Shakira takes us on a musical journey of many different styles and does a great job.

Track by track:

How Do You Do - part of it sounds almost too Avril Lavigne/Kelly Clarkson like, but the addition of religious imagery and various languages makes it a good track.

Illegal - the made-for-AC-radio ballad includes some fierce guitar playing by Carlos Santana. Very pretty and almost sounds like something from the 1980's

Hips Don't Lie - just added to the album... Shakira successfully did what the likes of J. Lo and Mariah have always failed to do when collaborated, she made Wyclef Jean assimilate to HER style of music, as opposed to her doing a hip hop number. A Latin-sounding booty-shaking fun track that is climbing the charts.

Animal City - one of the two most rocking tracks on the album, Shakira sings about celebrity and the way people change around her and become greedy.

The Day And The Time - a beautiful track about hope and redemption

Dreams For Plans - meloncholy but beautiful, with just a hint of Portishead trip-hop to the mix

Hey You - this sounds almost like something No Doubt would do, very fun song that you will tap your toes and sing along to, a potential single IMO.

Your Embrace - one of the saddest songs on the record, but another pretty melodic ballad

Costume Makes The Clown - instead of being the cheated...
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category

Big_Box_Bargains Privacy Statement Big_Box_Bargains Shipping Information Big_Box_Bargains Returns & Exchanges