Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Orchestrated Death Mass Market Paperback – March 1, 1993


Amazon Price New from Used from
Mass Market Paperback, March 1, 1993
"Please retry"
$3.59 $0.01

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on selected titles, including the current pick, "The Good Girl" by Mary Kubica.

Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback
  • Publisher: Avon Books (Mm) (March 1993)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0380719673
  • ISBN-13: 978-0380719679
  • Product Dimensions: 6.7 x 4.1 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 4 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,710,164 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

In this masterful debut, a beleaguered British detective struggles to solve a series of murders that shake up the world of classical music.
Copyright 1993 Reed Business Information, Inc.

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By S. Schwartz on November 16, 2000
This is my first time reading a book with Inspector Bill Slider, and this is the first in the series. I will certainly be reading the rest. This is a great detective story. Tight plot, great characters, and enough human interest to keep your attention. Slider is an endearing hero, a good cop, a sweet man, and enough humbleness to make you like him a lot. I definitely recommend this series.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Sheila L. Beaumont VINE VOICE on September 3, 2000
This is the first in Ms. Harrod-Eagles' engaging police-procedural series featuring the likable and very human policeman Bill Slider. While he's content with his rank of inspector, his socially ambitious wife constantly nags him to go after promotion. The intricately plotted story involves a murdered female violinist, an extremely valuable Stradivarius, some large tins of olive oil from Italy, the mob, a key witness whom Slider finds very attractive, and a veterinarian who isn't exactly James Herriot. There's a good chance that readers who like Ruth Rendell's Wexford novels or Reginald Hill's Dalziel/Pascoe mysteries will enjoy this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Hans Castorp VINE VOICE on June 23, 2005
Here we have a mostly fine story of a UK policeman stuck in a bad marriage, investigating a gruesome murder, with the naked body found dumped in a high rise apartment. Most of the investigation aspects are very well done, and there is enough outstanding and amusing dialogue to keep the pages turning. Also, some nice comments on European smuggling, and antique violins and bows. Slider's fling with the victim's chair partner is way overdone, and as in many current thrillers, apparently no one even considers that some of the suspects may be on the killer's future list, including the detective. A good editing job should have made this a really top notch procedural, but it is still mostly worth while. And lastly, it does give an interesting perspective on contemporary British society. As a first in a new series, this is a most noteworthy debut.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?