Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 6, 2011
Having the solutions manual to go along is a must. Access to all the problems and answers as well as reviews of concepts and vocabulary is great. There are a lot of mistakes and errors but that is expected for a first edition I guess.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2012
Buy the solution manual with the textbook; there are no solutions in the textbook itself. It is well written, easy to understand, however the errata of the 1st edition are somewhat annoying - there are just too many. Also Chapter 7 and 8 (Substitution and Elimination reactions) are composed in a very confusing way. Hopefully that will change in future editions, as this is one of the better Organic Chemistry textbooks.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2016
I love David Kleins Textbook, it is so wonderfully written and the problems are applicable and clear, that the solutions manual is an absolute necessity for any organic chemistry student. I teach Organic Chemistry in high school and I do use the problems for my higher level students.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2015
Obviously, this goes with the textbook. David Klein's materials for OChem are fantastic. If your teacher isn't using his books, you should get them anyway. Now go buy Organic Chemistry as a Second Language, and get to practicing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2012
Has some errata, but the textbooks companion website has a list of the errors. This is the workbook and study guide. The textbook and this book are great for self instruction.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2012
This book contains the answers to all of the skillbuilders and problems from its companion textbook. Additionally, there is a bit of review for each chapter at the beginning of each section with fill in the blank definitions and problems. (These are essentially extracted from the textbook with a few blanks added, so they are easy to check).

If you are going to be using Klein's Organic Chemistry textbook, I would strongly recommend this book because the textbook does not have any answers and in order to learn, you're going to want the answers so you know you're doing everything right! Orgo can be a tough subject, but with the multitude of problems Klein provides, orgo was a breeze for me - but only because I had this book at my side always.

The solutions themselves are generally comprehensive. However, on certain occasions (not always!), there aren't any explanations for a multiple choice-type question where I would have liked them. Besides this, though, this solutions manual is excellent in every way and works perfectly with the textbook. If I could rank in half stars, I would definitely give it a 4.5. But because of the answers that are sometimes lacking, I ranked it 4 stars.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2013
This solutions manual is a must for any organic chemistry student. Although the homework should be done without it, sometimes a tip as to what the solution should be is super helpful. This book diagrams mechanisms out gives an answer for every problem.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2012
Dr. Klein's book, "Organic Chemistry," is amazing enough on its own. There are a lot of
exercises in the book, and absolutely no solutions whatsoever. There aren't even answers to odd-numbered problems, which isn't always typical of college texts.

Even though Dr. Klein teaches the skills, a student still needs the ability to check his or her own work. The solution manual is excellent for this. It coincides with the book, extraordinarilly well.

The reviews that conclude each chapter of the text, become "fill in the blank" style questions in the solutions manual/study guide. The solutions manual has every single problem, worked out, and explained clearly (when needed).

Typos are scattered throughout the book. Fortunately, they're usually really minor,and they are fairily spread-out.

The shipping through Amazon was incredibly fast. I got my order a day earlier than I had expected, and the book was in perfect condition. There was not a SINGLE sign of ANY wear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2013
This goes with the corresponding text book by Klein and was in great condition. It was required for one of my classes. I would have liked more explanation and context with the solutions, but it's a very thick book and wouldn't be practical to go into detail with everything.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2014
I found his organic chemistry as a second language book extremely helpful. This book is extremely heavy, and a pain in the ass to lug around, but the problems were diverse and challenging. Definitely worth investing in the solutions manual as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse