Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great value on some incredible music, July 3, 2009
By 
Bill (Washington - State) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
You could pick any five of Rory's albums and have a killer set of CD's. I bought this for the hard to find Duece and Jinx CD's. I already had the other three and they are great with Top Priority being my favorite.... until I heard Duece! You can't lose with this collection - a great start for new Rory fans! Instead of figuring out which one to buy you get five great albums at an unbeliveable low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rory Gallagher 5 CD set, July 7, 2010
By 
R. Walsh (Norristown, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
This is a great set. You get 5 of his CDs in cardboard sleeves for a great price. The CDs are Deuce, Calling Card, Top Priority, Jinx, and Fresh Evidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Blues ever plus bonus tracks, August 1, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I just received this 5 cd set from Amazon and I love it! Five great albums with bonus tracks from the studio sessions which were left off because of time constraints. It's a whole lotta Rory beautifully remastered and at an incredible price. You can't go wrong.

One side note is that the slip case is very chunky and solid, so it feels like a real collector's piece. Nicely done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 CD Box Set..Great Deal/Great Music, October 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic deal for anyone wanting to overdose on Rory Gallagher. Five excellent classic Gallagher CDs for a fantastic Amazon price.

You Get:

-Deuce(1971 release)

Rory Gallagher - Guitar, Harmonica, Vocals
Wilgar Campbell - Percussion, Drums
Gerry McAvoy - Bass

-Calling Card (1976 release)

Rory Gallagher - Guitar, Harmonica, Vocals
Rod De'Ath - Percussion, Drums
Lou Martin - Keyboards
Gerry McAvoy - Bass

-Top Priority (1979 release)

Rory Gallagher - Dulcimer, Guitar, Harmonica, Vocals, Multi Instruments
Gerry McAvoy - Bass
Ted McKenna - Drums

-Jinx (1982 release)

Rory Gallagher - Guitar, Harmonica, Vocals
Gerry McAvoy - Bass
Brendan O'Neill - Percussion, Drums
Bob Andrews - Keyboards
Ray Beavis, Dick Parry - Saxophone

-Fresh Evidence (1990 release)

Rory Gallagher - Dulcimer, Guitar (Acoustic and Electric), Vocals, Mandola, Sitar (Electric)
Gerry McAvoy - Bass
Brendan O'Neil - Drums
John Cooke - Keyboards
Mark Feltham - Harmonica
Dick Hanson - Trumpet
Lou Martin - Piano
Geraint Watkins - Accordion

The power and the passion of Guitarist Rory Gallagher is unparalleled, excellent soulful blues and blazing rock. As you go through the CD's in order you can get a taste of how Rory's talent progresses from one CD to the next.

Rory is a rare talent who lived for his fans and tried to outperform his self with every performance. He lived to perform live. A very emotional lyricist, sonic guitarist, and genuine human being. Rory deserved better exposure and a much higher rating as an all round performer.

He's gone and that's a shame, but his music will live on.

Listen to the next Irish sensation Simon McBride Since Then

So many discs. So may tunes. For previews of music and videos not available on Amazon, check out Rory Gallagher's "Original Album Classics Tunes" on You Tube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have In Any Guitar Fan's Collection!, October 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
This 5 cd set is a must for the new or casual Rory Gallagher fan. Rory Gallagher devotees will also appreciate the extra tracks on each album and the inclusion of Deuce, which is out of print. Awesomeness from a HIGHLY underrated musician!The price is unbeatable for such a superb artist. A MUST HAVE set! BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a talent!, April 20, 2012
By 
Old retired teacher (north of Baltimore, MD) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I first heard Rory Gallagher on Deep Tracks on XM/Sirius radio, I was so impressed I was on Amazon.com that day purchasing the CD that had the song I heard ("Messin' With the Kid"). I have since purchased about three other CD's of his. This set is well worth it, price and quantity. There are actually five CD's in this set, five Rory CD's for a little more than $20.00. Need I say more? I won't pretend I know a lot about the sound or the songs,some are more pleasing to my ears and played more than others, but all display his talent. This is especially good if you are like me and never even knew of him before (he died of liver complications in 1995 after a transplant; that alcohol ... it takes its toll). Good addition to a collector of excellent guitar work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good cd box set, May 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
If you want to buy the second cd of Rory, Deuce you can buy this box set because is not easy to find this cd, is out of print, and some people from here sell deuce mere than every cds here, and in this box set you can listen calling card, the best Rory Gallagher cd ever, If you don't have nothing of this great musician, don't buy a single cd of his best, but buy this box set,because you have a lot of music to listen and It's very cheap, you have one or two bunus tracks in every cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got to have for guitar fans, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Rory just never got the following he should have in the states. I had 2 of his vinyls in the 70's and kinda lost the brain cells attached to his great ax work. Got back into him on DVD albums in the mid 2000's and now adding more and more of him to my CD collection. Now my 22 year old son jammin' to him. Pass it on - great album from great artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! What a Great Set!, December 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I have always loved Rory Gallagher since I bought Top Priority. I just liked the album cover, he looked good. Anyone willing to put a picture of himself with his guitar, on their cover, is worth a listen and it proved a worthy risk. It was one of my favorite albums...yes albums. When I bought it, it was his latest LP and I was just entering high school. It changed my musical tastes forever! This 5-CD pack is really a great listen, not to mention a wicked bargain. it is highly recommended to anyone that listens to music primarily to hear guitar! Buy it, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatness At A Great Price, February 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Pretty much the most bang for your buck you're likely to find anywhere. Five fantastic discs from the late, very great guitarist, all remastered for superb sound. The packaging is pretty bare-bones, but who cares? At somewhere around $20, this is a steal. Buy it and you won't be sorry - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Original Album Classics
Original Album Classics by Rory Gallagher (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.