Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Original Yosion Apple Peel 520 II for IPT4
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 26, 2011
I am using an AT&T sim card (USA) and the phone portion works well.
A few things to know:
1) you must jailbreak your ipod to install the apps needed to use the phone and sms messaging.
There is a site on the internet that will easily jailbreak your ipod over the internet using your ipod.
2) If you are using the latest apple ipod version of software the GPRS connection will not work
3) SMS messages arrive in chinese.

This actual hardware is slick. It fits the ipod perfect and looks good. It has a quaility feel. Device holds a long charge.

This will be a great product once the software issues are resolved. Mainly the SMS messages arrving in chinese.

The company does frequent updates of the software. I will update my review as I test the updates.
55 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2011
Had some issues installing it at first, but once i got online and read the forums, i was able to get it up and running. so far i am enjoying my peel. as far as network compatibility i have only been able to get a AT&T Go phone simcard to work and have read that other people got verizon, and tmobile to work with it. some installation issues mostly are with the ipod 4th Gen, and just means you need to be a bit versed with navigating a manual jail break instead of auto jail breaking due to Apples 4.3.3 update, also you need to assign the simcard number to your IMEI. but once i got past all the red tape MAn it is truly worth the buy. Thank you Yosion, i hope your latest firmware updates can solve this issue in future. in terms of functionality i give it a 5/5 installation with ipod 4th gen 4.3.3 i will have to score a 3/5 for complications etc. If your a tech minded individual you should have no problem figuring it out. the chat forums really helped of course quite often i had to use the Google translate in order to find what i was looking for.
33 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2011
My husband ordered a refurbished ipod4 from Apple and an Apple Peel 520 II. He upgraded the ipod4 to 4.3.5 and was able to jailbreak 4.3.5 using a tethered method. The yosion software for the Apple Peel is compatible with 4.3.5. We did not have any problems other than the chinese sms character issue when an sms came in from google voice, but sms that came from another phone were in English. Overall the software is very impressive for what it is meant to do. I do not plan to use gprs data. I plan to use all data over wifi. This simply bridges the gap between having to carry around a dumb phone and your ipod4; however, the increased functionality which comes with the synthesis of the Apple Peel and the ipod is really cool. I would certainly recommend the Apple Peel II to any ipod4 owner that doesn't want to pay the iphone4 tax. The sim card with unlimited talk and text form airvoie wireless only costs $39 a month and works over the AT&T network. Wifi is free.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2012
i do not own a apple peel 520 but i do know how to fix the sms Chinese problem there is a folder that has the Chinese Language package on the sms app you have to delete that folder and it should work.
NOTE:
I AM NOT 100% SURE THIS WILL WORK BECAUSE I DO NOT OWN A PEEL 520 BUT I FOUND THIS OFF A WEBSITE SO GOOD LUCK TO U PEOPLE!!!!!!!! :)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2011
Well first at all this does not convert your ipod in an iphone, the hardware is at least 5mm bigger than the iphone 4, doesn't support 3G, only EDGE/GPRS and if you are using your data network you can't call or send sms, doesn't work on newest firmware (4.3.3) only in iOS 4.3.1 or older, the apps are just like the original apps from apple wich is good, there are some issues with some sim cards and networks sometimes you receive the sms in chinese and other times you receive wrong sms, send sms sometimes doesn't arrives, all this are known issues and not always happend.
Works perfect for me, the signal is great, FM, bluetooth and peel battery works perfect.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2011
gret seller thanks.. but the product is a completly waste of money!!! sms sometimes come in "chinese language" (the most important sms) :( im really disappointed now i have to save money and buy a real celphone...updates keeps not fixing anything :( people should think it twice!! you can make calls but, sms are the big problem you can send messages but you receive them in chinese i dont understand chinese that's not comunication!! :( :( thanks for nothin..!
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2011
I've seen several complaints here about SMS messages arriving in Chinese. I did not experience this problem when I installed my Peel. I didn't buy my Peel directly from Yosion, but from Exquis, a company based in Singapore. Perhaps Exquis fixed that bug, because I am receiving my text messages in English. I did initially experience a problem with sending SMS messages. Apparently, the Peel phone software doesn't automatically insert the SMS prefix to the phone number, and I was getting messages from my cellular provider stating that the number I was trying to reach was invalid. I was able to work around that problem by setting up an additional phone number in the profile of my contacts that included the prefix. After that, I had no problems sending SMS messages.

Overall, this is a great device. As someone else has pointed out, the hardware is very slick and form-fitting for the Ipod. Jailbreaking my Ipod was a fairly smooth process. I decided to leave my firmware at version 4.2.1, which is what the came installed with, because Peel doesn't support 4.3.5, the latest firmware. Also, the jailbreaking procedures for 4.2.1 seemed less complicated than for the later firmware versions. I also like the fact that I can build a custom ringtone directly from my Ipod music library.

The only minor annoyance I experienced was when I hooked up my earphones to the earphone jack on the Peel. The Ipod sees it as a docking connector and while it works, I am unable to adjust the volume with the volume control on the Peel, and the volume control on the Ipod screen doesn't appear. However, I managed to get around this by using my set of lightweight Koss stereo headphones instead, which has it's own volume control which I can adjust.

In a nutshell, I am satisfied with my purchase of the Peel.
66 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2011
It works fine as a phone. But the itouch4 will hang for a while once in a while and some programs might not work until you have reboot your itouch. While texting, it bothers me that it seems like to have a margin that will cut the words into the next line. 3g is not working. good thing is that it will give your itouch extra battery like what the juice are doing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2012
I was expecting something better. Didn't expect to have to jailbreak the ipod for this to work. Nut if you want the iphone for half the price or if you already have an ipod touch, this will do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2013
Product Dimensions: 49.6 x 5.4 x 25.2 inches ; 3.2 ounces
Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds
ASIN: B0050MLR96
Item model number: YS520II
Batteries 1 Lithium ion batteries required.
Average Customer Review: 3.2 out of 5 stars See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
Date first available at Amazon.com: May 13, 2011
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.