Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great storage bag
Very good quality storage bag, nicely paded. Have been using this bag for 1 year now, it still is like new. Use it regularly.
Published on July 3, 2011 by Robert A. Bliss

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok
I like this, but if I could find a hard case that the telescope and tripod fit in I probably would buy it. Had to take mostly all apart to fit into case. Since the tripod and telescope and tripod, and other loose pieces are in there, I would prefer more padding, and better divider, maybe a stiffer bottom. It was supposed to be for my telescope. but barely fit
Published 11 months ago by lynne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great storage bag, July 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orion 15164 47x11x14 - Inches Padded Telescope Case (Electronics)
Very good quality storage bag, nicely paded. Have been using this bag for 1 year now, it still is like new. Use it regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Orion 130ST EQ - Room for Improvement, June 29, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orion 15164 47x11x14 - Inches Padded Telescope Case (Electronics)
The case is excellent quality, which is definitely on par with the $300.00 scope that it protects.

The exterior is tough and durable and the inside is much more forgiving and smooth to the touch, which won't scratch or damage the contained equipment. The interior is also separated into two compartments, with a thick pad incorporated to ensure that the stand and the telescope tube itself don't negatively interact or damage each other. There are also two nylon straps secured with velcro on one end of the case so as to secure the counterbalance weight in place.

The only glaring issue that I have is the fact that it is advertised to comfortably fit the Orion 130ST EQ with these measurements; however, in practice, it is a very tight squeeze. (Not for the tube, but for the tripod.) Everything fits quite well if you're willing to dismantle the entirety of the equatorial mount, tripod, and tube rings, but that's pretty impractical in general and especially in the field. This is particularly great for a standard azimuth mount, but the equatorial mount definitely makes things a little bit of a struggle and you end up having to awkwardly position the mount to get the zipper closed. If you're able to, you'll want to remove the tube ring mounts.

All in all, I would say it is still worth the purchase. It does what it's supposed to do and there's not a lot of high quality options out there to protect your high quality optics to begin with. I've deducted a star for the fit difficulty, despite the advertised compatibility - otherwise, this is an exceptional, clever, and well-made case. No regrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good case!, June 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orion 15164 47x11x14 - Inches Padded Telescope Case (Electronics)
My Astroview 6 fits very well with this case, and I have some space to another accessories. Help to protect against shocks while transporting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great case, April 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orion 15164 47x11x14 - Inches Padded Telescope Case (Electronics)
I use this case for a Celestron Omni XLT 150 reflector. This size fit perfectly for this scope, with room for the OTA, mount, tripod, 4 eyepieces with individual boxes, a night red light and a Telrad. The case also has provision to carry the counterweights but I recommend to carry then separately since them make the case too heavy and unbalanced. Before this case I kept the OTA and accessories in a big plastic box from Home depot and the tripod in the original cardboard box. That makes the scope too bulky and difficult to transport. Whereas this case is great for transportation and the thick padded design keep the stuff safe. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fits well., April 20, 2014
By 
Domino (St. Louis, MO, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orion 15164 47x11x14 - Inches Padded Telescope Case (Electronics)
I purchased this case to go along with the Orion 09007 SpaceProbe 130 ST Equatorial Reflector telescope which I gave as a 30th birthday gift to my younger son. He's so pleased with the case. He said everything fits very well and the case provides a great way to store the telescope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It all fits, February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orion 15164 47x11x14 - Inches Padded Telescope Case (Electronics)
though it could be a little taller to fit the 6 inch Newtonian, the only part I decided not to store in the bag is the weights
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect bag !, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orion 15164 47x11x14 - Inches Padded Telescope Case (Electronics)
this is a very sturdy and well made bag and holds everythng needed as well as keeping it safe from damage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome bag!, January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orion 15164 47x11x14 - Inches Padded Telescope Case (Electronics)
Used for over 7 years w/ different scopes. It's Large and is heavy duty!!! Carry Scopes, stands, etc. Great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fits scope perfectly, but could have used short hand grips as well as the shoulder straps, January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orion 15164 47x11x14 - Inches Padded Telescope Case (Electronics)
I purchased two of these a couple of weeks ago, one for my 6" f/6.5 refractor and another for my tripod and mount. In the case holding the scope, I folded the internal divider to lie flat for a little extra cushioning. This soft case is good for grab and go and taking in the car. I would have liked to have had short handles as well as the shoulder straps. I would have given 4 1/2 stars if I could, but rounded up to 5 because of the overall usefulness and good price point.

Overall, the construction appears to be good. The bag has handy internal straps to hold down the tripod and mount head to keep them from sliding around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orion 15164 47x11x14 - Inches Padded Telescope Case (Electronics)
I like this, but if I could find a hard case that the telescope and tripod fit in I probably would buy it. Had to take mostly all apart to fit into case. Since the tripod and telescope and tripod, and other loose pieces are in there, I would prefer more padding, and better divider, maybe a stiffer bottom. It was supposed to be for my telescope. but barely fit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.