Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Orlando di Lasso: Villanelle, Moresche e Altre Canzone Import

5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, May 23, 1995
"Please retry"
$399.89 $29.99

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Allala, pia calia
  2. Saccio 'na cosa
  3. Lucia, celu, ahi, ahi, biscania
  4. S'io ve dico ca sete la chiù bella
  5. Ecco la nimph'Ebrayca chiamata
  6. Parch'hai lasciato
  7. Io ti vorria contar la pena mia
  8. Hai, Lucia, bona cosa io dic'a tia
  9. Chichilichi? Cucurucu!
  10. Oh Lucia, miau, miau
  11. Ad altre le voi dare ste passate
  12. Tutto lo dì mi dici : canta, canta!
  13. Cathalina, apra finestra
  14. Tutto 'l dì piango
  15. Matona, mia cara
  16. S'io fusse ciaul'
  17. Ogni giorno m'han ditt'a chi favelli
  18. O belle fusa!
  19. Madonna mia, pietà
  20. Canta Giorgia, canta
  21. S'io ti vedess'una sol volt'il giorno
  22. O occhi, manza mia
  23. Sol' e pensoso
  24. Tutto lo dì mi dici: canta, canta!
  25. Mi me chiamere Mistre Righe
  26. Ola, o che bon eccho!
  27. Zanni! Piasi, patro?

Product Details

  • Performer: Orlande de Lassus, Roberto Balconi, Rossana Bertini, Daniele Carnovich, Claudio Cavina, et al.
  • Orchestra: Sergio Foresti
  • Conductor: Giuseppe Maletto
  • Audio CD (May 23, 1995)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Opus 111
  • ASIN: B000005W39
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #333,561 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

I enjoyed this collection of light items (villanelles, morescas, and other songs) immensely. It is a delightful contrast to the more serious fare (madrigals, masses, motets on various religious and secular but intense subjects) we usually get on records from Medieval and Renaissance composers. Much of it is parody and satire. All of it is upbeat and fun to listen to. The singing itself is good and the recorded sound is excellent.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
The main theme of this album of villanelle, moresche (songs in the slang of the black slaves in Italy) and madrigals is love, the laments and amorous advances of the lone lover, mostly rejected by the loved one.

The pretender assails his loved one with serenades like `I'm going to sing you a song just like the drummers do, 'your hair as soft as milk, your forehead like a crescent moon, your mouth like that of a doe, your breasts as big as wine gourds''(13), or `If I were a bird and you were a church steeple ... `(16). There is humor aplenty in the songs: 'I keep crying `Alas!' and my voice is all hoarse. My beauty, put water on the fire that`ll break out, I'm burning, I'm quite roasted.'(8) The refusal can be very adamant: `All your fine oaths, as the Spaniard says, are worth less than nada.' (17)
The loved one does not mince words: `Who's this bumpkin, miaowing at me like a tomcat?'(10); or, 'I s*** in your face! You poxy hound, there's nothing to lick here.'(3)
Also, true love does not always meet the desired results: 'you slept all night without making love to me a single time.'(9)
But, a suitor can also express his happiness at having found his freedom again: `It's the other one that was caught, I got off scot free!' (11)

Some songs are real theatrical sketches, by telling a story (8, 20) or by reproducing the laments/invectives between a master and his drunken slave (27) or between the orally fighting sexes (3, 9, 10, 13). Other songs are based on sometimes untranslatable puns (1, 12, 26).
Metaphors mainly aim at masculine vigor: Mistre Righe (25) or 'dance a little with Master Martino ' (9), while birds and roosters fly all over the place.
Read more ›
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: vinyl pop