Customer Reviews


1,580 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,358)
4 star:
 (165)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dazzling!
Orphan Black has many things going for it, original premise, a series of fine directors, a steady bunch of writers who haven't veered off their original course. The filming on location gives it a special visual sense. But, most of all it has Tatiana Mazlany. A 28 year old actress who has talent enough for 11 people. She is simply stunningly brilliant. The role calls for...
Published 7 months ago by Judith Agee

versus
33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A totally different show in season 2
Orphan Black is one of those rare shows that hit the ground running in its first season and quickly established itself as a smartly written, well-plotted mystery that executes a gimmick flawlessly. Tatiana was clearly overlooked in the awards for her ability to play multiples characters so convincingly that you often completely forget that all the primary players are the...
Published 6 months ago by James Beswick


‹ Previous | 1 2158 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dazzling!, May 17, 2014
By 
Judith Agee (SmallTown, Indiana USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Orphan Black has many things going for it, original premise, a series of fine directors, a steady bunch of writers who haven't veered off their original course. The filming on location gives it a special visual sense. But, most of all it has Tatiana Mazlany. A 28 year old actress who has talent enough for 11 people. She is simply stunningly brilliant. The role calls for her to assume several identities, some all on screen at once. It must be a terribly strenuous undertaking. Honestly, she is so chameleon like, I actually forget it is the same actress. the make-up department is awesome at subtle differences in her characters, but it really all comes down to her talent. A small supporting cast does fine work. and after, let's see, the 14 episodes I have seen, the writers are doing a great job of keeping me interested. So far there are two seasons of 10 shows each. I believe I read where a 3rd season has been put in the works. I was really just blown away in just the pilot episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first rate continuation of the series., April 26, 2014
By 
Mister Trope (St. Louis, MO, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This has all the elements of the first season, and the suspense continues at the same level. Tatiana is showing off again playing five characters. Each with different accents and body language. My, that woman is talented! Her performance(s) alone make this whole thing worthwhile.

This episode has a twist at the end fans of the first season will just love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cloned again, April 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Season one reeled me in and season has kept me hooked. Tatiana is so great you forget you are watching one actor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A totally different show in season 2, June 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Orphan Black is one of those rare shows that hit the ground running in its first season and quickly established itself as a smartly written, well-plotted mystery that executes a gimmick flawlessly. Tatiana was clearly overlooked in the awards for her ability to play multiples characters so convincingly that you often completely forget that all the primary players are the same person. Throw in the typical BBC style of delivering understated subtlety (in the midst of clones) and you have an intelligent, unique show that didn't paint itself into a corner and kept the audience guessing.

Fast forward to season two and apart from the exceptional lead actress, it's like they fired all the original writers and decided to jump the shark during the season break. There has been an explosion of weak secondary characters introduced for no reason other than to create B plots - from the cliched nutty religious group to the horribly cliched evil genetics company run seemingly by a handful of people and headed by one kindly grandfatherly (but evil) guy, it's hard to engage seriously with any of these 2-dimensional setups.

Season 2 has failed to create a central dramatic question and has instead opted to use poor dialog to create weak tension that only serves to get the audience to the next scene. The dialog has devolved into exposition where at any given time characters are explaining backstory to the audience, searching for something or trying to find someone that introduces the next step of the odyssey. And the problem with this is that it's lost the dramatic tension that made the audience care in the first place, and now characters are making illogical decisions and operating in a consequence-free vacuum.

I delayed writing this review in the hopes that the episodes would get back on track but at this point it seems to be a lost season. I can only hope that if it gets renewed they have a serious rethink about how bring back the elements that made the first few episodes so engaging. Take away the extraordinary acting ability of Tatiana Maslany and it's pretty clear that this entire season has been treading water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best thing i've seen in a long time, April 27, 2014
By 
Jeff (south florida) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
creative, exciting and shocking are just a few words that come to mind. I was so engaged that I watched the entire first season in less than 3 days. More programming like this please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Distinctly interesting, April 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a fantastic dramatic series, which deals with a broad range of social, scientific, and global issues. Tatiana Maslany has an incredible range as an actress and is a pure pleasure to watch as she brings to life a series of tangible characters. I love the global conspiracy theory elements which reflect the current social conversations about stem cell research, genetically modified foods, environmental engineering, and government observation. A rich and interesting story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She deserves an Emmy., April 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
How can one person play all those roles, and play them so well? She deserved an Emmy. She was robbed last year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am eagerly awaiting season 2..., April 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am in love with this show! Tatiana Maslany is a brilliant actress who breathes life and dimension into each of the many characters that she plays! Each episode has me sitting on the edge of my seat. A must see!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Picks Up Right Where It Left Off, April 27, 2014
Season Two is just about as jam packed as the first season with action and adventure. This is all to the good as the same actress still plays multiple roles as clones of one woman. She does a terrific job. My favorite clone remains the housewife out in the burbs, Alison, who can often be unexpectedly deadly. She is a riot and I love every minute she is on screen. Felix, the faithful gay friend, is back as well. I like him best when he is with Alison too. They are funny together. Perhaps the very best moments though are when Alison is forced into rehab, her husband Donny confronts her there and then Donny, in one of the funniest tv moments ever, accidentally kills one of her worst enemies by pounding a gun against his steering wheel in frustration.

The other clones vary. Sarah has a very big role and she gets in the most fixes of any of them. However, her clone "sister" a Russian terminator is great at killing off anyone who gets in Sarah's way. Another great moment is when the Russian clone is dancing in a bar with a fellow and someone bothers her partner. Her partner is overwhelmed but she is not. She beats the crap out of guy bothering them! There are more clones as well but just tune in and watch Tatiana Maslany act her butt off playing all of them.

This is a BBC production and Tatiana Maslany is from Toronto. One warning, you definitely need to see this in order. So watch season one first.

Visit my blog with link given on my profile page here or use this phonetically given URL (livingasseniors dot blogspot dot com). Friday's entry will always be weekend entertainment recs from my 5 star Amazon reviews in film, tv, books and music. These are very heavy on buried treasures and hidden gems. My blogspot is published on Monday, Wednesday & Friday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I believe this is the best series on tv., April 27, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Orphan Black is compelling, suspenseful, funny, intriguing, alarming, charming and so much more than the sum of its parts.
The writing is witty. The cinematography is brilliant. Each of the primary characters; Felix, Art, Shivon, Delphine are all portrayed powerfully and extremely well. The rest of the supporting cast; Lekey, Paul, Thomas, etc. are all pretty good. But, Rachel, Helena, Cassima, Allison and especially Sarah are all played breathtakingly perfect, in fact, absolutely perfect in every way. IMHO, Orphan Black is the best TV on TV right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2158 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Orphan Black: Season 2
Orphan Black: Season 2 by Various (DVD - 2014)
$29.98 $19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.