Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Orphan Black: Season 2
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12,959
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$21.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 17, 2014
Orphan Black has many things going for it, original premise, a series of fine directors, a steady bunch of writers who haven't veered off their original course. The filming on location gives it a special visual sense. But, most of all it has Tatiana Mazlany. A 28 year old actress who has talent enough for 11 people. She is simply stunningly brilliant. The role calls for her to assume several identities, some all on screen at once. It must be a terribly strenuous undertaking. Honestly, she is so chameleon like, I actually forget it is the same actress. the make-up department is awesome at subtle differences in her characters, but it really all comes down to her talent. A small supporting cast does fine work. and after, let's see, the 14 episodes I have seen, the writers are doing a great job of keeping me interested. So far there are two seasons of 10 shows each. I believe I read where a 3rd season has been put in the works. I was really just blown away in just the pilot episode.
0Comment|120 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2014
This has all the elements of the first season, and the suspense continues at the same level. Tatiana is showing off again playing five characters. Each with different accents and body language. My, that woman is talented! Her performance(s) alone make this whole thing worthwhile.

This episode has a twist at the end fans of the first season will just love.
44 comments|88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2014
Season one reeled me in and season has kept me hooked. Tatiana is so great you forget you are watching one actor
0Comment|81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2014
How can one person play all those roles, and play them so well? She deserved an Emmy. She was robbed last year.
11 comment|72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2014
creative, exciting and shocking are just a few words that come to mind. I was so engaged that I watched the entire first season in less than 3 days. More programming like this please.
0Comment|67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2014
Orphan Black is compelling, suspenseful, funny, intriguing, alarming, charming and so much more than the sum of its parts.
The writing is witty. The cinematography is brilliant. Each of the primary characters; Felix, Art, Shivon, Delphine are all portrayed powerfully and extremely well. The rest of the supporting cast; Lekey, Paul, Thomas, etc. are all pretty good. But, Rachel, Helena, Cassima, Allison and especially Sarah are all played breathtakingly perfect, in fact, absolutely perfect in every way. IMHO, Orphan Black is the best TV on TV right now.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2014
This is a fantastic dramatic series, which deals with a broad range of social, scientific, and global issues. Tatiana Maslany has an incredible range as an actress and is a pure pleasure to watch as she brings to life a series of tangible characters. I love the global conspiracy theory elements which reflect the current social conversations about stem cell research, genetically modified foods, environmental engineering, and government observation. A rich and interesting story.
0Comment|61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 4, 2014
Orphan Black is one of those rare shows that hit the ground running in its first season and quickly established itself as a smartly written, well-plotted mystery that executes a gimmick flawlessly. Tatiana was clearly overlooked in the awards for her ability to play multiples characters so convincingly that you often completely forget that all the primary players are the same person. Throw in the typical BBC style of delivering understated subtlety (in the midst of clones) and you have an intelligent, unique show that didn't paint itself into a corner and kept the audience guessing.

Fast forward to season two and apart from the exceptional lead actress, it's like they fired all the original writers and decided to jump the shark during the season break. There has been an explosion of weak secondary characters introduced for no reason other than to create B plots - from the cliched nutty religious group to the horribly cliched evil genetics company run seemingly by a handful of people and headed by one kindly grandfatherly (but evil) guy, it's hard to engage seriously with any of these 2-dimensional setups.

Season 2 has failed to create a central dramatic question and has instead opted to use poor dialog to create weak tension that only serves to get the audience to the next scene. The dialog has devolved into exposition where at any given time characters are explaining backstory to the audience, searching for something or trying to find someone that introduces the next step of the odyssey. And the problem with this is that it's lost the dramatic tension that made the audience care in the first place, and now characters are making illogical decisions and operating in a consequence-free vacuum.

I delayed writing this review in the hopes that the episodes would get back on track but at this point it seems to be a lost season. I can only hope that if it gets renewed they have a serious rethink about how bring back the elements that made the first few episodes so engaging. Take away the extraordinary acting ability of Tatiana Maslany and it's pretty clear that this entire season has been treading water.
1616 comments|95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2014
I am in love with this show! Tatiana Maslany is a brilliant actress who breathes life and dimension into each of the many characters that she plays! Each episode has me sitting on the edge of my seat. A must see!!
0Comment|57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2014
UPDATE: OK, I've been re-watching Season 2. I stand by my review below; except I think I was suffering from recency effect. My comment about fatigue among the writers mostly affects the episodes at the very end of the season, and even there, only pertains to a few of the plot elements. Season 2 as a whole is a great continuation of Season 1. I'm shifting allegiances though, Kira is rapidly becoming my favorite character. Not an easy choice, given Felix and all the clones, but there it is.

MILD SPOILERS AHEAD: A step back in Season 2, but still a whole lot of fun. There are some very good plot threads in Season 2, but there are too many overall, and the surplus story arcs end up diluting the good ones. By the end of the season, it almost feels like the writers are exhausted, losing track, running out of ideas, and just wanted to get the season over with so they could take a break (a pencil from a fire extinguisher? Really?). In spite of my quibbles, Season 2 still hit some of the highest points of the series. The shower scene in Rachel's apt. was just phenomenal (the best scene in the entire series, for me anyway), and Helena continued being a source of wonder ("I'm very good with children"). The CGI continues to amaze, Maslany is superb, the actors overall carry it as well as they can; and that's good enough for me.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.