Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am from Des MOINES, Great Pop corn!
My first friend and I used to eat pop corn and watch TV when we were little boys in the 50's. I microwaved this pop corn even though it it is NOT microwave popcorn. It popped great! I need a large container like this one,92 oz, to satisfy my urge. Thank you Redenbachers.
Published 18 months ago by carl smith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
This popcorn was so stale we were choking on it!
Published 4 months ago by GBrice


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am from Des MOINES, Great Pop corn!, May 26, 2013
By 
carl smith "Carl" (Santa Rosa, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orville Redenbacher Popcorn Kernel Jug, 5 LB 12 oz (Grocery)
My first friend and I used to eat pop corn and watch TV when we were little boys in the 50's. I microwaved this pop corn even though it it is NOT microwave popcorn. It popped great! I need a large container like this one,92 oz, to satisfy my urge. Thank you Redenbachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best popcorn, but really, all fresh popcorn is great. Read on for enlightenment., April 21, 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Gadgeteer" (Jensen Beach, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Orville Redenbacher Popcorn Kernel Jug, 5 LB 12 oz (Grocery)
Orville Redenbacher popcorn is always great because it is fresh. They sell a lot of it, and as long as you get it from a major source, you are sure to get fresh seed. Ok, I promised enlightenment, so let’s start with the price. I buy this popcorn in a BJ’s club store, but you should find it in other club stores too. I paid just in eight dollars for a jug that is right around 5lbs. It is also labeled as not NMO seed, something that is important to many consumers, even if congress refuses to forces these facts from being mandatory, it is a company’s best interest to label it if it is NMO.
The next bit of news is about how to properly heat popcorn to insure a full pop. Meaning that the popcorn will expand to its maximum volume. You might do this by accident, and may get it right every time, but maybe you don’t. Some think they have a bad batch of popcorn seed when they pop it wrong.
I use coconut oil, with yellow color. The yellow is beta carotene color, the same color that makes carrots orange. So the oil is not the same as what they put into Microwave popcorn, as Microwave popcorn will increase your bad cholesterol levels. The salt to use is called Flavorcol, and you will only need 1 teaspoon, or in my case, a little less. The proper oil to seed ratio is as follows. Poor oil into the Stainless steel popcorn pot until it just covers the bottom of the pot, you can use more, or less to suit your own tastes, and needs. Take a teaspoon of flavorcol and sprinkle it over the oil evenly. Drop seeds into the pot so that they cover the bottom in one layer, no space between them, and no more than one layer. If you use more, you will have too much. Feel free to measure how much seed that is, but I only measure the florocol. Popcorn seed has three components, the hull, moisture, and thick starch. The starch is what turns to a liquid when heated, and the moisture is what causes the kernel to explode and let that liquid hit the air and turn solid. If the popcorn is heated too fast, the moisture causes the seed to pop before the starch has completely thinned to a liquid. So I suggest that you set the heat medium, and wait for the seed to simmer. At some point one or more kernels will pop. At that point, turn the heat of to medium high. You should be using a Whirly pot, and I use the stainless model, which is wonderful. Once the seed takes off, it will go fast, so start turning the handle and keep the popped kernels moving so they don’t burn, and the un-popped kernels from riding up from the exploding kernel’s. This will result in so few un-popped seeds when you are finished. Do not buy the aluminum popcorn pot, buy the stainless model. I returned the aluminum model because of plastic gears, and because the pot has a very cheap look and feel. I also bought what I thought was gourmet popcorn seed from a popcorn seed internet company. I got petite gold, and one other. Don’t waste your money, I tried it twice and we all agreed it was not half as good as Orville’s popcorn. As you heat the Orville Redenbacher popcorns seed it will start to smell like sweet corn. When it is done, it will have a sweet corn flavor that is enhanced by the flovorcol, which has a butter flavor. Everyone who tasted my popcorn, call it gourmet popcorn, the best they ever had. I bought everything but the seed on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good popcorn, August 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orville Redenbacher Popcorn Kernel Jug, 5 LB 12 oz (Grocery)
My family really likes popcorn made the old fashioned way. While the package looks enormous, I wish the opening were just a little bit larger. It is too big to pour into my measuring cup without spilling, but not large enough to dip my measuring cup into the big jug. If the mouth of the big jug were either larger or smaller it might be more convenient for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good ole Orville!, January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orville Redenbacher Popcorn Kernel Jug, 5 LB 12 oz (Grocery)
Great popcorn for "movie night" my husband cookes it on the stove the old fashion way and I use the air popper - either way it's the only brand of poporn we use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Popcorn..., January 4, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orville Redenbacher Popcorn Kernel Jug, 5 LB 12 oz (Grocery)
What can you say about popcorn?

I got this to go with the hot air popper...

it's a lot better than microwave popcorn in my opinion...add your own butter and salt and it takes about the same amount of time...

I believe it's also a bit more economical...

I cup makes enough for my department of 8 and gives us a mid-afternoon snack...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good popcorn., April 12, 2014
By 
Gene Sechrest (Versailles, IN us of a) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orville Redenbacher Popcorn Kernel Jug, 5 LB 12 oz (Grocery)
We purchased a Hot Air popcorn popper and I needed to get some popcorn. Normally we purchase Pop Secret microwave because it seems to be the only popcorn I can eat and not get hulls stuck in my throat.And that is very annoying. So far, this product has worked out excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Popcorn Every!, April 28, 2014
By 
P.A. Ges (Cincinnati, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orville Redenbacher Popcorn Kernel Jug, 5 LB 12 oz (Grocery)
Orville Redenbacker's Popcorn Kernels are the only way to go. I have tried a large variety of different popcorns, but this one is so far superior it isn't even funny. The kernels all pop into big, fluffy popcorn. Super tasty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can you say about Pop Corn..., January 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orville Redenbacher Popcorn Kernel Jug, 5 LB 12 oz (Grocery)
Well, Orville's is the BEST! The price was way better than anywhere else it pops great!

I couldn't find a good sized package anywhere but the web.

I'm happy now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kernels pop well!, May 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orville Redenbacher Popcorn Kernel Jug, 5 LB 12 oz (Grocery)
The kernels pop nicely and taste delicious, even plain. I like to drizzle the popcorn with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fast delivery, May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orville Redenbacher Popcorn Kernel Jug, 5 LB 12 oz (Grocery)
This makes excellent popcorn. Buying the large container really makes this affordable. Delivery was fast, exceeding our expectations and the price is right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Orville Redenbacher Popcorn Kernel Jug, 5 LB 12 oz
$22.31 $17.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.