Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Shop Now HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on April 12, 2014
We purchased a Hot Air popcorn popper and I needed to get some popcorn. Normally we purchase Pop Secret microwave because it seems to be the only popcorn I can eat and not get hulls stuck in my throat.And that is very annoying. So far, this product has worked out excellent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on May 26, 2013
My first friend and I used to eat pop corn and watch TV when we were little boys in the 50's. I microwaved this pop corn even though it it is NOT microwave popcorn. It popped great! I need a large container like this one,92 oz, to satisfy my urge. Thank you Redenbachers.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
on April 21, 2014
Orville Redenbacher popcorn is always great because it is fresh. They sell a lot of it, and as long as you get it from a major source, you are sure to get fresh seed. Ok, I promised enlightenment, so let’s start with the price. I buy this popcorn in a BJ’s club store, but you should find it in other club stores too. I paid just in eight dollars for a jug that is right around 5lbs. It is also labeled as not NMO seed, something that is important to many consumers, even if congress refuses to forces these facts from being mandatory, it is a company’s best interest to label it if it is NMO.
The next bit of news is about how to properly heat popcorn to insure a full pop. Meaning that the popcorn will expand to its maximum volume. You might do this by accident, and may get it right every time, but maybe you don’t. Some think they have a bad batch of popcorn seed when they pop it wrong.
I use coconut oil, with yellow color. The yellow is beta carotene color, the same color that makes carrots orange. So the oil is not the same as what they put into Microwave popcorn, as Microwave popcorn will increase your bad cholesterol levels. The salt to use is called Flavorcol, and you will only need 1 teaspoon, or in my case, a little less. The proper oil to seed ratio is as follows. Poor oil into the Stainless steel popcorn pot until it just covers the bottom of the pot, you can use more, or less to suit your own tastes, and needs. Take a teaspoon of flavorcol and sprinkle it over the oil evenly. Drop seeds into the pot so that they cover the bottom in one layer, no space between them, and no more than one layer. If you use more, you will have too much. Feel free to measure how much seed that is, but I only measure the florocol. Popcorn seed has three components, the hull, moisture, and thick starch. The starch is what turns to a liquid when heated, and the moisture is what causes the kernel to explode and let that liquid hit the air and turn solid. If the popcorn is heated too fast, the moisture causes the seed to pop before the starch has completely thinned to a liquid. So I suggest that you set the heat medium, and wait for the seed to simmer. At some point one or more kernels will pop. At that point, turn the heat of to medium high. You should be using a Whirly pot, and I use the stainless model, which is wonderful. Once the seed takes off, it will go fast, so start turning the handle and keep the popped kernels moving so they don’t burn, and the un-popped kernels from riding up from the exploding kernel’s. This will result in so few un-popped seeds when you are finished. Do not buy the aluminum popcorn pot, buy the stainless model. I returned the aluminum model because of plastic gears, and because the pot has a very cheap look and feel. I also bought what I thought was gourmet popcorn seed from a popcorn seed internet company. I got petite gold, and one other. Don’t waste your money, I tried it twice and we all agreed it was not half as good as Orville’s popcorn. As you heat the Orville Redenbacher popcorns seed it will start to smell like sweet corn. When it is done, it will have a sweet corn flavor that is enhanced by the flovorcol, which has a butter flavor. Everyone who tasted my popcorn, call it gourmet popcorn, the best they ever had. I bought everything but the seed on Amazon.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on January 4, 2014
What can you say about popcorn?

I got this to go with the hot air popper...

it's a lot better than microwave popcorn in my opinion...add your own butter and salt and it takes about the same amount of time...

I believe it's also a bit more economical...

I cup makes enough for my department of 8 and gives us a mid-afternoon snack...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on January 20, 2014
Great popcorn for "movie night" my husband cookes it on the stove the old fashion way and I use the air popper - either way it's the only brand of poporn we use.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Orville Redenbacker's Popcorn Kernels are the only way to go. I have tried a large variety of different popcorns, but this one is so far superior it isn't even funny. The kernels all pop into big, fluffy popcorn. Super tasty.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on August 7, 2014
My family really likes popcorn made the old fashioned way. While the package looks enormous, I wish the opening were just a little bit larger. It is too big to pour into my measuring cup without spilling, but not large enough to dip my measuring cup into the big jug. If the mouth of the big jug were either larger or smaller it might be more convenient for me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Original Orville Redenbacher Popcorn is really great popcorn. It pops really well in my current Presto PopLite Hot Air Popper, in a paper bag in the microwave and in really old hot oil popper.

I became an Orville Redenbacher fan shortly after they came out last century. I've tried others but keep coming back to Orville and most often the original type. I have consistently had a very low rate of dead kernels and what pops tastes great.

I also like that Orville is Non-GMO. I don't really know what difference it makes but I'd rather not have some multinational conglomerate messin with my food's genetics so it creates its own pesticide and/or herbicide resistance... Yuk.

I get my supply of Orville Redenbacher at my local grocery or wholesale store. This size cost me just under $9 compared to just under $19 on Amazon as of when I am writing this review. Shop around and save money!

Unless you go through a lot of popcorn you might want to get a smaller size. Popcorn is best relatively fresh and it's a good idea to purchase where there is good turnover and fresh stock.
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 11, 2014
Over the last year or so I have given up microwave popcorn and gone back to good old stove top popping. I started with a Whirly Pop and prepackaged popcorn/oil/salt kits, but those were a bit too salty for me. I have since been using store brand popcorn along with a premium coconut oil and the results were everything that I hoped for, so I decided to move up a step and try a name brand popcorn kernel. The Orville Redenbacher pops up as nicely as the store brand, with just a very few unpopped kernels. The kernel size, if anything, is smaller and not quite as fluffy as the store brand stuff, but the yield is noticeably higher. I have the large plastic popcorn bucket, and a half cup of these kernels, the same that I sue of the store brand, will fill that bucket a good 2-3" deeper more than the stuff I was using before. Overall, I am pleased, and I do feel that this is worth of the additional cost over another brand simply from the increased yield, I just wish the poppped kernels were a bit bigger.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 7, 2015
it was cracked open on the corner and spilled out in the box.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions

Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.