Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
It's a zombie movie, go in with low expectations and be pleasantly surprised. The blonde chick can really kick some ass. The brunette isn't half bad either.
Published on September 21, 2012 by Ryan of Indiana

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BECAUSE THERE ARE TARGETS ON EVERY CORNER
If you read the manufacturer's description of the movie, you know it is going to be bad. The question is the degree of bad, and does it make for a decent zombie film? Derek Miller (Jasen Wade) is a conspiracy buff who goes to Afghanistan to kill Osama bin Laden because he believes he is still alive. His sister Dusty (Eve Mauro) takes off after him. In all of Afghanistan...
Published on May 19, 2012 by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BECAUSE THERE ARE TARGETS ON EVERY CORNER, May 19, 2012
If you read the manufacturer's description of the movie, you know it is going to be bad. The question is the degree of bad, and does it make for a decent zombie film? Derek Miller (Jasen Wade) is a conspiracy buff who goes to Afghanistan to kill Osama bin Laden because he believes he is still alive. His sister Dusty (Eve Mauro) takes off after him. In all of Afghanistan they manage to both meet up with the same special forces unit killing zombies. One of which is a cute blond named "Tomboy" (Danielle Chuchran) who shoots zombies and lops their heads off with her sword while wearing a ponytail. They are the front line against a world zombie infestation. There is a scene which describes the zombie creation, i.e. "acute biological mutations".

That is pretty much the entire film, hunting and killing zombies. Some of the zombies are fast moving, while others are leg "drag-ers". There is no consistency. While they are supposed to require head shots, some fall down from a sword to the chest. The special effects are CG: helicopters, gun fire, blood splatter, and even the camp fire. The zombie make-up was decent. The plot could have used a little more variation. The dialogue was solid "B" grade which included a series of bad, somewhat politically incorrect old jokes. I used the punch line from one of the jokes as my title. The Afghans speak in Arabic and the film uses subtitles in case you forgot what "Allahu akbar" means.

No sex, nudity or F-bombs that I recall, just some good old fashion blood splatter. Don't spend too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, September 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Osombie [DVD] (15) (DVD)
It's a zombie movie, go in with low expectations and be pleasantly surprised. The blonde chick can really kick some ass. The brunette isn't half bad either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Inspired Idea Doesn't Push Far Enough: Merely Routine When It Had The Potential To Be A Camp Classic, December 8, 2012
This review is from: Osombie [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Have you heard about the new movie that showcases the greatest manhunt in history? That reveals the truth behind the search for Bin Laden? No, I'm not talking about the award winning "Zero Dark Thirty" (sure to be a major Oscar contender). I'm talking about the equally important and profound "Osombie." Sometimes you hear about a movie that is so ludicrous that it becomes virtually irresistible to lovers of bad movie magic. Therefore, I had exceedingly high hopes for "Osombie." Come on, it's a movie about Osama Bin Laden and a zombie horde! Sure to be filled with camp humor and epic bad taste, this seemed like a can't miss proposition. Unfortunately, though, the movie never really embraces the lunatic possibilities that would have made this unforgettable. There are moments of silliness, to be sure, but the movie plays it surprisingly straight for the most part. And by not taking things to a greater extreme, "Osombie" just doesn't feel special or distinguish itself from the pack of B-movie zombie flicks that have already saturated the horror market.

The movie starts out with promise (and again, realize I am utilizing these terms on the bad movie scale) as a platoon infiltrates Bin Laden's lair only to have the undead unleashed upon them. After a frisky beginning, however, promising much laughter, the movie settles into its main story line. Unfortunately, this is where the film strays from its mark. The bulk of the film follows a Special Forces unit on a secret mission. They cross path with a young women who is searching for her brother, a patriot who is convinced Bin Laden is still alive and is on a personal quest to correct this injustice. Of course, the fact that these individuals are running amok in the desert and collide with each other is preposterous. But the movie, for the most part, doesn't play up the comedic shenanigans. Amidst typical zombie battles (you soon realize that this elite squad isn't particularly smart as the undead constantly get the better of them), the screenplay is content to attempt to develop these soldiers as actual characters. While I did appreciate this endeavor, however, I didn't think hearing the personal stories helped the tone of the movie.

More than anything, I just wanted "Osombie" to be a bit more fun than it actually is. Heck, Bin Laden doesn't even enter the picture again until the final moments and it's all rather anticlimactic. I wanted to LOVE and embrace "Osombie" as a bad movie classic. It just doesn't take advantage of its strongest asset which is the Bin Laden character. The zombie mayhem can be mildly amusing but isn't particularly spectacular. The actors do the most with their material, and a couple of jokes strike home. But overall, the screenplay falls a bit flat. What should have been hysterical madness is rather uninspiring. I didn't hate "Osombie" as a B-movie cheapie, but it is not something I'd go out of my way to recommend. My favorite premise of the year, but it doesn't serve up anything unique. About 2 1/2 stars, I'll round up for a good idea. KGHarris, 12/12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nifty Zombie movie, April 2, 2013
This review is from: Osombie [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This was a well produces and well acted zombie movie with a neat idea. I recommend it to anyone liking zombie movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad Zombie movie, well worth the watch., March 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Osombie (Amazon Instant Video)
While the title and subject matter was a little unique and made me almost not buy the movie.

However, I am glad I did. For a Zombie movie it was very entertaining. It was not your classic zombie movie,

but I liked the change of pace and the acting was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Sevier Shirtless Doesn't Make Sense?, June 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Osombie (DVD)
Interesting premise, ridiculous movie! And what's with Corey Sevier continuously taking off his shirt to fight in combat scenes? Osama Bin Ladin taking a shot and becoming a zombie and releasing other zombies on the world? Bad movie and Sevier made it worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No letter bombs, please, April 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Osombie (DVD)
I'm a zombie movie fan, as in fanatic. There are no bad zombie movies, just some better than others. Osombie is a true zombie movie, Osama is dead and comes back. His followers rally once again behind the Imam of Death who is now the Dead Imam of Death. A team of zombie killers go out for sundry reasons and wind up losing team members, picking up stragglers and in the end doing what Americans always do, save the day.

Some may find the acting a little amateurish, and the gunshot effects are over the top (one shouldn't shoot zombies with a large caliber sniper's rifle akin to the Barrett .50 cal).

Suspend disbelief and enjoy the show. Sorry guys, the T & A is more a matter of imagination than a feature of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, March 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Osombie [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great idea, but crappy movie. Was hoping it would be like one of those sic-fi channel movies like Sharknado or Sharktopus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, March 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Osombie (DVD)
What if Osama And His Followers Were all Zombies? You Do A Night Of The Living Dead On Them Humour and Sarcasm Are A vital part Of This Small Film I AM Glad I Bought It
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Osombie, February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Osombie (Amazon Instant Video)
I strive to be as honest as possible about my movie reviews. I remember beginning to watch this movie and it was so bad that I turned it off. It appeared to be filmed on a shoe string budget and was just plain awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Osombie [Blu-ray]
Osombie [Blu-ray] by John Lyde (Blu-ray - 2012)
$19.98 $8.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.