Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great live performance!
This is really, as someone has already pointed out, a great live recording. Surely one of the best live electric blues album that I own. Recorded at the Montreux Blues and Jazz festival in 1986 this CD is packed wall to wall with extraordinary feeling and great playing from all the musicians present on the stage. It appears immediately evident from the first note of the...
Published on April 23, 2006 by M. Bernocchi

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would be better if...
I bought this CD only after a reviewer reported below that "the sound is excellent." The sound is not excellent. It reminds me of Albert King's 1967 Fillmore West recordings. The sound is very bright. Fred Barnes's cat quick bass licks lack any low end. This CD sounds best played in my car where the recording's high frquency bias isn't as noticable.

That being...
Published on May 12, 2006 by Somebody


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great live performance!, April 23, 2006
By 
M. Bernocchi "mbernocchi" (Old Windsor, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Otis Rush - Live at Montreux 1986 (Audio CD)
This is really, as someone has already pointed out, a great live recording. Surely one of the best live electric blues album that I own. Recorded at the Montreux Blues and Jazz festival in 1986 this CD is packed wall to wall with extraordinary feeling and great playing from all the musicians present on the stage. It appears immediately evident from the first note of the first track that Otis Rush was in a great form that night, and his singing and guitar playing is simply superb through out the entire concert. If you add to the mix an inspired Eric Clapton (that when plays the blues is second to none) sharing the centre of the stage on 4 songs and "dulcis in fundo" even the great Luther Allison for the closing act, you may start to have an idea of the final result. As a plus, and not a minor one, the quality of the sound is excellent and all the instruments sound clear. Very difficult not to mention the killer version of the classic "Crosscut saw" and an even more intense "All your love (I miss loving)" with Otis and Eric jamming together. In conclusion a five stars plus record that I suggest you should add to your collection if you are a blues fan and you like your blues very much guitar driven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As brilliant as Rush and Clapton are, it's Allison in the end, May 24, 2006
By 
o dubhthaigh (north rustico, pei, canada) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Otis Rush - Live at Montreux 1986 (Audio CD)
that takes this record to places it never would have reached otherwise. Otis Rush is a major force compositionally and stylistically in contemporary electric blues, and he has the voice of genuine authority when he sings. What you get on the first five cuts are a sampling of just how strong those talents are. When Clapton comes on to join him, Rush pulls out of Clapton some of the very best work Eric has committed to recording ever. For my ears, it would be until THE CONCERT FOR GEORGE and the Robert Johnson discs that Clapton would be this incendiary again. And that's odd about Clapton: on his own, he is not his best advocate. Put him in a context like this, where he is working within the blues, and he is a very different beast altogether. Clapton tears up his counterattacks to Rush and they clearly are intensely focused on wringing everything out of each song.

That alone would be enough for any record to aspire to, but wait. Luther Allison arrives for the closer, at first without a guitar, and whips not just the audience, but Rush and Clapton into a frenzy. Strapping on his Strat, Allison takes this recording to heights clearly unaniticipated by everyone else in the room. It is a performance for the ages. But Luther was always like that. For my money, there was and remains no finer or more exciting guitarist in any discipline of music. So, as stunning as the first 8 tracks are, number 9 blows them all away.

And the best part is, the DVD is even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's what i'm talkin' bout., March 25, 2006
By 
Willy (Hazlet, N.J.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Otis Rush - Live at Montreux 1986 (Audio CD)
This is one of the best live albums i've ever heard.I'd put it right up there with BB King's Live at the Regal and The Allman Brother's live at the Fillmore.

Otis is in rare form himself but then add Eric Clapton for five songs and Luther Allison for one and you've got magic.And the sound quality is great.Too bad the rest of Otis's live albums didn't sound like this.Buy this,you'll never hear guitar jams like this anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Otis Rush - Live at Montreux 1986, my review from Barcelona, June 24, 2007
This review is from: Otis Rush - Live at Montreux 1986 (Audio CD)
Otis Rush is one of the best Bluesman of all times. He is a great singer, guitarist and composer, on the same level as the late Magic Sam and the current leaders of the Chicago Blues, Buddy Guy and the really magic Magic Slim, all of them creators of the sound known as West Side. I find this live record a jewel with only one defect, which is its sound. The bass guitar practically is nonexistent, particularly in some themes as for example the one that opens the LP, "Tops", or the one that closes the record, the brilliant Memphis Slim's "Every day I have the Blues". Nonetheless it is an extraordinary record, one of the best live records I have heard. Otis' way of playing and singing is absolutely superb and all the musicians do a great job, with powerful contributions by an inspired Eric Clapton, aka Slow Hand, in four themes, in the last of which coinciding with another top figure as Luther Allison, a great admirer of Otis Rush. The record contains several extraordinary original themes as well as versions. I want to highlight the intensity of the version of the classic Albert King's "Croscut Saw", and one of his great compositions, "All your love (I miss loving)". I'm also partial to "Double trouble", a great Blues with that Otis' feeling, and the blues which closes the record, Memphis Slim's "Every day I have the Blues", with Clapton, Allison and Rush showing their mastery, even though towards the end of the theme the sound loses some clarity. Highly recommended for all the blues and guitar lovers. I give it 5 stars in spite of this somewhat flawed sound and long live to Otis Rush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Bruuuuceee...!" I mean, "Ootiiiiiiss....!", April 4, 2009
This review is from: Otis Rush - Live at Montreux 1986 (Audio CD)
You're absolutely right, I couldn't come up with a headline that made any sense, so I went with the above.

This is the CD companion to Sony's similarly titled DVD featuring guitarist Otis Rush's 1986 appearence at the Montreux Jazz Festival.
Rush is backed by "Professor" Eddie Lusk's ensemble, including pianist/organist Lusk himself, who plays tasteful blues piano (and some hideous Toy 'R' Us-organ on a mediocre take on Albert King's "Let's Have a Natural Ball"). The rhythm section of bassist Fred Barnes and drummer Eddie Turner is rock-solid, and Eric Clapton shows up for the second half of the set, adding guitar and occationally vocals to the last four songs.

There are a couple of minor cuts here, including the uninspired opening instrumental "Tops", and the overall quality of "Otis Rush & Friends" doesn't quite match the greatness of live recordings such as "Live in Europe" and "Live and in Concert in San Francisco". But there are also some real highlights, such as a tough, hard-rocking "Mean Old World" which showcases both Lusk's piano and Rush's explosive lead guitar, and a dense, powerful take on guitarist Willie Cobbs' classic "You Don't Love Me" (covered by Junior Wells, the Allman Brothers Band and several other acts - and credited to "Willie Cobb" without the S).

This swaggering rendition of "All Your Love (I Miss Loving)", probably Rush's best-known original composition, is terrific as well, and Otis Rush plays some searing blues guitar on several songs, including another original, "Right Place, Wrong Time".
His guitar duets with that of Eric Clapton on a terrific seven-minute "Crosscut Saw"...on the DVD you'll notice Clapton looking intensely concentrated at the beginning of the song, focusing on Otis Rush and obviously deferring to the older man, and while Rush is a stronger vocalist than Clapton, Clapton does pretty well on Rush's "Double Trouble".
Fellow guitarist and singer Luther Allison strolls on stage to perform with Rush and Clapton on a semi-improvised take on what is supposed to be Memphis Slim's "Nobody Loves Me (Every Day I Have the Blues)" which brings the disc to an enthusiastic, if slightly disjointed, close.

A few tracks are disappointing, and the overall quality of this material doesn't quite reach the heights of Rush's best live recordings, but there is still a lot of great stuff here.
It's not an absolutely necessary purchase, but fans of Otis Rush in particular will find a lot to like here nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would be better if..., May 12, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Otis Rush - Live at Montreux 1986 (Audio CD)
I bought this CD only after a reviewer reported below that "the sound is excellent." The sound is not excellent. It reminds me of Albert King's 1967 Fillmore West recordings. The sound is very bright. Fred Barnes's cat quick bass licks lack any low end. This CD sounds best played in my car where the recording's high frquency bias isn't as noticable.

That being said, it is a satisfying performance. Especially with Eric Clapton featured on three of the nine tracks and Clapton and Luther Allison on a fourth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Live, January 3, 2007
This review is from: Otis Rush - Live at Montreux 1986 (Audio CD)
This is the Otis Rush CD to get. It has great songs, and captures him live very well. The guests actually play with Otis and don't just hang out and have fun. He has a great version of Crosscut Saw. If you don't have any Otis, or much live blues this is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three giants !, November 26, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Otis Rush - Live at Montreux 1986 (Audio CD)
Otis Rush, Eric Clapton, and Luther Allison all on the same album ? Are you kidding ? Not the best Otis Rush "live" album (that title goes to Live in San Francisco" from 1997, which is great), but very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RICK "SHAQ" GOLDSTEIN SAYS: "A 20 YEAR OLD TREASURE NOT AS VALUABLE AS A 30 YEAR OLD TREASURE", January 20, 2007
This review is from: Otis Rush - Live at Montreux 1986 (Audio CD)
This is a "new" release, 20 years after the actual performance. I suppose one of life's unknown questions, along with what went on in Area 51, is why is Otis Rush's "Live At the Wise Fools Pub" (See Shaq's previous review!) recorded 30 years ago, louder and clearer than this one! Oh well! Back to the musical review. Part of my reason for rating this a 4 star as compared to "Wise Fools Pub" 5 rating, is due to the clarity and sound volume. Other than that, this is still worth purchasing. Starting with the 6th song Eric Clapton, joins Otis on stage, and that was probably the last time; Clapton ever did anything positive in the electric blues arena. His guitar playing does pick things up a bit. To me, the pinnacle, of the CD, emotionally, as well as physically, is on the last song #9, when Luther Allison, comes on stage, and gives a speech to the audience, stating (What Shaq already knew.) for the record, that Otis Rush was his idol! The fact that, that declaration of thanks and admiration, was recorded for posterity, to me was a singular point in time, emotionally. How many times in everyone's life, does just praise, come when it's too late? When the person deserving the recognition is gone! I'm happy, for Otis, and Luther, that it was stated for the record, with witnesses, for time, in- memoriam!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If it OnlySounded Better, May 8, 2007
This review is from: Otis Rush - Live at Montreux 1986 (Audio CD)
I was blown away and at the same time disappointed in this cd. The music and performances are stellar. This is superb blues, my foot never stopped tapping. The problem is and I agree with the reviewer Somebody, the sound is not excellent by any means. I have an expensive stereo sytem and it reveals the recording as very sub par. Bass lacks and the guitars are not all that clear. Albert King and SRV In Session is a notable example of a great recording. If this cd sounded as good it would be tough to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Otis Rush - Live at Montreux 1986
Otis Rush - Live at Montreux 1986 by Otis Rush (Audio CD - 2006)
Click for more info
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.