Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Suffers All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Amethyst Jewelry Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Winter Sports on Amazon.com Sale

Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$7.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 16, 2010
Born in Tijuana, México, Julieta began studying music at 10 years of age, mastering musical composition and vocal performance, as well as several musica instruments, including guitar, cello, accordion, percussion, piano and keyboards. Julieta has been a 3 time MTV music/video award winner, and has taken home no less than 5 Grammy awards for her previous efforts.
"Otra Cosa" is her 6th studio release, and 8th album release all told, including the 2007 collection "Realmente lo Mejor" (really the best), and her 2008 MTV Unplugged live performance release (not including contributions she has made to recordings released by other artists and the song she contributed to the soundtrack of the film, Maria Full of Grace).
On one hand, with the name "Otra Cosa" ([an]Other Thing in English), one might expect something a little different, something surprising and new.
The truth is, however, that Julieta has not, in this latest disc, deviated from the path that has already made her a great success.
Of course, if it ain't broke, don't fix it, right?
"Otra Cosa" is replete with the same well-crafted, catchy, smart tunes we've come to expect from Mexican pop-star and super-cutie, Julieta Venegas. It's GREAT music with catchy, witty, fun, heartfelt, and often insightful lyrics.
Existing fans will NOT be disappointed, no horrific departures from the known or unpleasant suprises. Just the same great stuff.
When those new to Julieta's music hear what they've been missing, they will be wondering why they hadn't already become fans long ago.
For those who are new to Julieta's great, latin-american, alt-pop tunes, I also highly recommend her prior albums, Bueninvento,,Limón y Sal, and, of course, her live/acoustic disc, MTV Unplugged. From the MTV disc, especially don't miss the great songs she recorded with Brazilian pop-legend, Marisa Monte (two such beautiful, talented singers on stage together = w0w!).

similar artists:
Marisa Monte (Brasileira) Universo ao Meu Redor: Samba
Andrea Echeverri (Colombiana) Andrea Echeverri
Bebé (Española) Pafuera Telarañas
Gepe (Chileno)Gepinto

more great rock en español from México:
Maná MTV Unplugged
Cafe Tacuba Sino
0Comment12 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2010
I love Julieta Venegas and her new album is very good, more laid back with a little less of the "pop" sound that I seemed to have really enjoyed on her previous album limon y sal but still a very good CD. I would recommend it- tunes are good and she always delivers!!! Bueno!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2012
El nuevo disco de Julieta Venegas no es realmente una otra cosa, es la única cosa.....su nuevo disco es uno de los mejores compilaciones de canciones del este ano. Como siempre Julieta corta un camino directo a tu corazón, y después ella llénalo con amor y sentimientos delicados. Es una lastima que ella no tiene unos discos en ingles, porque pienso que todo el mundo necesita la voz perfecta de Julieta. El álbum empieza con la canción "Amores Platónicos" es un mensaje a todos los hombres en la vida de Julieta que pueden estar una parte de su vida, pero no pueden ser una parte. En su disco pasado las canciones de amor eran dulces compañías a sus oídos, pero en Otra Cosa las canciones son mucho mas profundo. Esto es tanto verdadero en mi favorita canción "Eterno." En "Eterno" Julieta domina el tiempo para hacer un momento eterno y completamente perfecto. Es una canción perfecta, en mi opinión. Una otra canción perfecta del disco Otra Cosa es "Revolución." "Revolución" es una canción sobre los cambios que una persona puede tener en las otras. Julieta (con unos niños) canta "dime te causo una revolución, dime te hago cambiar tu canción, dime te hare volver empezar." La belleza del trabajo de Julieta Venegas es su habilidad para decir las cosas en las mentes de todas las personas en el mundo con una frase sencilla y lírica. ¡Diosa de las letras! Es obvio que puse esto álbum fue perfecto, a pesar de mi español malo.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2013
I remember her first 2 albums. So true. Now she's just cranking out pop songs.
Boring and uninspired. How many love songs can you write?
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2010
I am a big fan of Julieta, and even though this is a good album, I have to say it is probably the worst in her career. After listening to it a few times, I just wanted to go back and play Limon y Sal or other previous albums. We would like to see "sweat" Julieta, and less "sweet" Julieta. I just hope that the experience of being a mother will fill her soul with new experiences to share with her audience, instead of pushing her more to a comfort zone.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2012
IT'S GOOD FROM BEGINNING TO END ! I FIRST SAW IT AT A STORE AND GOT IT BUT GAVE IT TO A FRIEND !SO I'M GLAD I GOT IT ALL OVER AGAIN GET IT IT'LL KEEP YOU GOING TO THE BEAT ! SONGS ARE PRETTY FAST PACE .
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2014
Julieta Venegas has been one of my favorite female artists and I have liked every one of her albums and this one is no exception. It's a fun and happy, upbeat album I listen to almost everyday
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2012
Julieta Venegas is a Latin singer/song writer who has move of an India Arie vibe to her music which I call easy listening. But nonetheless she is a great singer. This album is wonderful.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2013
Lots of great songs. The lyrics are clear. I love the music and rhythms. If you like this genre of music Julieta Venegas is great.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2015
Amazing cd, love all of the songs!
Product arrived in perfect condition in a timely fashion.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$8.59
$6.99
$8.48
$8.69

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.