Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars14
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$18.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 17, 2000
For those who have heard Making Bones, you are probably already familiar with the very distinct sound that Red Snapper has created. On that CD, they demonstrated a sound that blended jazz, drum and bass, and trip hop. But it wasn't ordinary forms of any of those genres. The drum and the bass was TRUE drum and bass, using mostly live instruments. The vocals by MC Det were deep and comanding, but never taking away from the music. Making Bones was a near perfect blend of all of these styles, yet it didn't take it far enough for my tastes. There was just too much bland techno.
But I knew what Red Snapper could do, and I was beyond myself in excitement when I first learned of Our Aim Is To Satisfy Red Snapper. From the moment I heard the promo CD, I knew that this was the one. And it IS the one, in my opinion. Every style that I loved from Making Bones is taken and streched and reinvented.
Red Snapper removed just about all of the bland techno that plauged Making Bones on certain songs, and they replaced it with the familiar jazz/D&B sound that they are known for. Fans of the MC Det songs on Making Bones will LOVE this CD. They kept the same routine from Making Bones in that they only used vocals on 3 or 4 songs. This makes you truly appreciate the style of MC Det, and what he brings to the table.
Sure, there aren't any songs as deep and emotional as Image Of You, but there is plenty of substance on this CD. Songs like Some Kind Of Kink and The Rake will get your body moving, but they don't become techno-y, which is what I love about them. Songs like Alaska Street, Belladona, and They're Hanging Me Tonight, take the sound that we first heard in "4 Dead Monks" and expands on it, taking it to a much more beautiful level. These instumental songs are full of atmosphere, and will certainly chill you out.
As I said earlier, MC Det makes his appearance again on select tracks. His layed back rapping on The Rake makes it one of the best songs on the album. On the track "I Stole Your Car", MC Det adopts a new style, sounding more like reggae than rap. This song is one of the best on the album.
But if it is so great, why only 4 stars? Well, it could have been better. Songs like Keeping Pigs Together get a little repetitive. And also, they couldn't resist having one bland techno song on the album, The Rough And The Quick. This is a good, raunchy song, with lyrics similar to that of the Lords Of Acid, but it just doesn't fit at all with this album. I listen to Red Snapper for the double bass, the live drums, and the jazz elements, not for a club song. But these minor quirks aside, Our Aim To Satisfy Red Snapper takes what most people loved about Making Bones, and it expands it to new levels, remaining very fresh, but keeping within the style that they created.
A must buy for anyone remotly interested in trip-hop, jazz, or drum and bass (this is REAL drum and bass, not "house drum and bass").
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2002
I've noticed some rave reviews on amazon.com for this record, but none of the reviewers seem to have heard of Red Snapper before. I've been a fan of this uncategorisable jazz/funk/hip-hop/ambient outfit since 1996's "Prince Blimey," and I was surprised at this album on the first listen, because the sound is less experimental and less distinctive than previous records.
The sound is cleaner and more commercial; Ali Friend's pizzicato bass-playing is less conspicuous on the record, and keyboards and samples have taken over from the rawer, stripped down line-up of early records such as "Reeled and Skinned."
That said, repeated listening reveals this to be a good record nonetheless, particularly "Bussing", with its strident groove, subtle melody and jazzy horns- classic Red Snapper. Another highlight is the closer "They're hanging Me Tonight" a track every bit as spooky as its title suggests.
The instrumental tracks are strongest- MCs are brought in for a few tracks which are the album's weak point, particularly "The Rough and the Quick" which is really just a commercial dance track with naughty lyrics.
Anyone impressed by this should definitely check out the earlier records mentioned above- both are a better showcase for this band's outstanding variety and talent.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2000
That infamously difficult second album has caught Red Snapper right in it's net. It was always going to be tough, if not near impossible to emulate '98s exceptional 'Making Bones' LP, let alone eqaul it. On 'Our Aim Is To Satisfy' the albums seedy gangland Britain sentiment is as dead as the holywood films that they doff their hats towards, but it's not all doom and gloom. There is far to much talent on show in this band to restrict themselves to any singular theme, yet Red Snapper have slightly regressed by forcing themselves into a box, the complete opposite of which made 'Making Bones' such a vibrant, creative, boundless delight. The album has good moments though, the opener 'Keeping Pigs Together' is a pulsating instrumental piece whilst 'Shellback' provides a cool slice of electronica-funk, similar invigorating moments are to be found spread around the album, although it is all too often reduced to a type of repetitive staticness, dare I say, as if the ideas have either run out or been incarcerated. Even MC Det is a pale imitation of himself on 'The Rake', he was positively on fire the last time we heard him. It's not until we hit 'The Rough And The Quick' that Red Snapper jumps off the plate and into the frying pan, it's a pure porno-funk extravaganza and an absolute killer club track to boot. 'Bussing' also sees the boys approaching form somewhat, an ambient, scratch inflected brass laden instrumental, not spectacular, but listenable stuff nevertheless. 'Belladonna' also sees Ali Friend's double bass in top form, even if the remainder of the song fails to deliver quite as highly. Disappointing follow up to 'Making Bones' it has to be said, but I remain confident that Snapper will be back to their best in the not too distant future.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2001
Contrary to what one of the other reviewers has said, "Our Aim Is To Satisfy" is not Red Snapper's second album, it's their third. In 1996 they released Prince Blimey, which stayed very much underground but received a lot of praise from most people who heard it. It's a good insight into the early dynamics of the band ... they concentrate very much on instrumental brilliance, making use of a huge variety of rhythms and melodies which has remained one of the band's trademarks to this day.
Before that they had worked on three eps in '94 and '95, eventually compiling them on "Reeled and Skinned".
But never mind all that ... what about "Our Aim Is To Satisfy"? Well, a few things have changed. Alison David, who provided vocal on "Making Bones", has been replaced by Karime Kendra. The sound of the new album has been described as "production-centric", suggesting that the band have lost the live edge which ran through "Making Bones" and made it such a vital record. In fact they have lost nothing, they've just developed. By concentrating on what happens in the studio, they've achieved intimacy with the listener. It's like being brought right inside the mind of Red Snapper for the first time. It's wierd, twisted, sexy, dirty, corrupt, and fascinating. It would be fair to say that it takes a while to get to know "Our Aim Is To Satisfy" - it is less immediate than its predecessors - but the effort is worthwhile. "They're Killing Me Tonight" is a full-on challenge of a track, rounding off an lp which reveals far more of the band than we have seen before. A vital stage in the Red Snapper story.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2013
"I cannot begin to tell you how great Our Aim is to Satisfy... is. It reminds you how much this band still kicks on strong and is more of an improvement and quirkier addition to their catalogue than Making Bones. This is Prince Blimey all over again but with more vocals and electronic music-inspired cues.

The two songs that steal the album's thunder a lot include Some Kind of Kink (a suggestive song full of extremely funky basslines, drums, and chaos with a disturbingly creative music video), Belladonna (a calm-tempered song that reminds you of their great acoustics), and The Rough and The Quick (a racy song full of groovy vibes and a sense of dance music wonder not found in the 2010s). Among other songs, Bussing (which has a great opening to any "trip-hop" song I've heard recently) and Shellback (which sounds like Portishead but with more of a funkier flair) steal the show here with the bizarre and danceable The Rake with rapping from MC Det.

The way the artwork on the cover, its witty cues, and the music here is presented shows you how much they put into work here to create a full-fleshed album much in the vein of their first album but with more budget. While that is a very rare thing for me to say that a later album is just as good as their original, this one and The Campfire Headphase are a few exceptions.

It is no wonder that this album got into the 1001 Albums to Listen Before You Die collection. It's just that good. Nothing more to mention. You'll have to listen to hear it for yourself."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2002
I have to admit. I had no clue what I was getting into when I purchased Our Aim Is To Satisfy Red Snapper. But like so many things in life, the element of suprise can really be refreshing. My first interest in this band(and this album) simply came from the band's name. Come on, you can't tell me that you aren't the least bit interested in a band called RED SNAPPER? Taking to that, I didn't meditate on the CD for a second and bought it(along with some Flogging Molly and Gene Krupa). The result is what my title says, a refreshing electronica band.
The sound can best be discribed as a battle of eclectic guitar noise, a barrage of keyboard riffs, amazing break beat drumming, thick bass grooves and some light sampling and scratching(a noticible and welcome change from most turntable heavy electronica). The end result of that those sounds is mix that sometimes is used to create atmospheric grooves(Keeping Pigs Together, They're Hanging Me Tonight) to dance floor hits(Somekind of Kink, Shellback,). The consistant songwriting never shows signs of stagnation as each song continues to get better as the album progresses, making this album a pleasure to listen to. Production, though nothing terribly special, is mixed well enough were every layer can be heard clearly and distinctively. Its varied song style makes it accessible for any mood. Generally, Red Snapper has made an excellent release that any electronica fan should get their hands on. If their aim is to satisfy, then they've certainly acomplished that. I can't wait to see what they do next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2000
"Our Aim is to Satisfy" is a darker, moodier album than the previous 'Jazz-dance' album, Making Bones. It features more in the way of synths and orchestral sequences than the the trumpets and bouncy sounds of their previous album. There's no one track that stands out as well as "Image of you" from Making Bones but there are more pieces of a higher and consistent standard throughout.
'Some Kind of Kink' is a true classic, a very bizarre meld of sounds and drumming and is no wonder it's the choice for their first single. The final 3 tracks are slower, moodier and more instrumental than the more soul inspired middle part. "They're Hanging me tonight" being a haunting end to a great album. So buy a copy on CD, then buy another copy on Vinyl because you should have it on display somewhere.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2001
This CD kicks off smashingly-- "Keeping Pigs Together" is easily one of Snapper's best tracks. The next couple tracks are top-notch, signature Snapper trip-hop. But, things start to go slowly downhill from there. By the fifth or sixth track, I'm thinking this might not be a keeper.
Alas, I'm glad I didn't give up on it. Packed at the end are the album's four most dynamic, powerful tracks: the ragga-tinged "I Stole Your Car," plus the orchestral maneuvers of "Alaska Street", the beautiful ambience of "Belladonna," and the spookiness of "They're Hanging Me Tonight." You'll be blown away! This is Snapper's best album yet, easily superior to 1999's Making Bones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2004
i was given this cd totally by random, and im so glad that i was, because that is how i discover many great bands. this album has definately grown on me more and more each time i play it. some songs are better than others, but overall it is a fantastic collection of musical ideas which makes a great album. definately worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
some urban electro beats and jazz rhythms in this album are genuine and easily adds another star. ideal of distant expressions and the capabilities to engage the distant ear..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$19.58

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.