Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting insight behind these powerful families
I thought this book did a wonderful job of describing the people behind the names, money, and power of these families. It provided a detailed, colorful history of how the founding family members came to this country; the trials and tribulations they encountered along the way; and how they overcame all of these things on their way to achieving thier ultimate financial...
Published on May 14, 1999

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book Review
Our Crowd is a very long and not very well edited book about the very wealthy Jews of New York city in the late 19th and early 20th century. As with many of these types of books it gives you more than you ever wanted to know and repeats itself way to often. There is interesting information to be gleaned but at times I felt my self slogging through the pages just waiting...
Published 15 months ago by artist


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting insight behind these powerful families, May 14, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Our Crowd: The Great Jewish Families of New York (Modern Jewish History) (Paperback)
I thought this book did a wonderful job of describing the people behind the names, money, and power of these families. It provided a detailed, colorful history of how the founding family members came to this country; the trials and tribulations they encountered along the way; and how they overcame all of these things on their way to achieving thier ultimate financial and social status. The story of these families personifies the American dream - That a strong will, intelligence, and hard work are the keys to success. In addition, the book sheds light on the social, class, and religous biases that were perpetuated by the success of these families, biases that remain in place today within the Jewish community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging history, July 30, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Our Crowd: The Great Jewish Families of New York (Modern Jewish History) (Paperback)
A very interesting history of the great Jewish families of New York. Birmingham flings the door open on some of the most reclusive and secretive oligopolies in business history. Not only is it an eye opening history of the German jews in New York but it is engaging and interesting to read. It does not read like a textbook. Birmingham has really done his homework. If you want to learn about some real eccentric/succesful personalities and about the German jewish families ofNew York, this is the best book on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-written and interesting, April 5, 2007
By 
This review is from: Our Crowd: The Great Jewish Families of New York (Modern Jewish History) (Paperback)
This was a very interesting account of the German-Jewish experience in the United States from the mid 19th century through the mid 20th century. It looks carefully at how a number of families rose stratospherically into the nation's financial elite within a short period of time. While the families were assimilated on some levels (particularly with respect to economic achievement), they clung to their German roots on other levels (as demonstrated by their American-born children being schooled in the German tradition, and by certain political views). Many members of this group saw themselves as being German before being Jewish, and this set up an intra-religious "pecking order" (a member of this group marrying a non-German Jew was apparently out of the question). I only wish that the book would be updated, as it ends in the late 1950s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful Account of A Fascinating Segment of NY Culture, March 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Our Crowd: The Great Jewish Families of New York (Modern Jewish History) (Paperback)
IF YOU'VE EVER WONDERED ABOUT THE HISTORY OF A POWERFUL SEGMENT OF OUR SOCIETY, WHERE THEY CAME FROM, HOW THEY EVOLVED, THE INFLUENCE THEY HAD, BIRMINGHAM'S ACCOUNT OF THE RISE OF THE POWERFUL JEWISH FAMILIES IN NEW YORK THAT ESPECIALLY INFLUENCED OUR FINANCIAL COMMUNITY WILL FASCINATE YOU. IT READS ALMOST LIKE A NOVEL AND IS DIFFICULT TO PUT DOWN. YOU WILL COME TO KNOW WHO THESE PEOPLE WERE, THEIR PERSONALITIES, THEIR CHARACTERS, THEIR BRILLIANCE. IT'S A WONDERFUL READ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendously well-written!, February 7, 2012
By 
Bridget Pumphrey (Shaker Heights, OH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Our Crowd: The Great Jewish Families of New York (Modern Jewish History) (Paperback)
I was so impressed by this book...It's a true tour de force and made me aware of so much about which I had had no idea. I had never known about such important facets of Jewish experiences in NYC and its environs. I recommend this book to everyone! The ways in which Jewish people lived, the important stories Mr. Birmingham chooses to tell, all reflect a felt sensitivity to Jews, which I admire greatly. If you know of anything in the book which is not accurate, I would like to be informed, though it seems immensely well-researched. I'm a critical thinker, however, and welcome corrected information. It seems Mr. Birmingham has not been sufficiently praised, as I have had six years of post BA coursework and never had the luck of seeing his work. May the Jewish people thrive wherever they may be."Our Crowd": The Great Jewish Families of New York (Modern Jewish History)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, February 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Our Crowd: The Great Jewish Families of New York (Modern Jewish History) (Paperback)
I READ THIS BOOK YEARS AGO AND LOVED IT SO MUCH - THIS TIME WAS NO DIFFERANT VERY INFORMATIVE - YOU DO NOT HAVE TO BE JEWISH TO
ENJOY THIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Stories, February 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Our Crowd: The Great Jewish Families of New York (Modern Jewish History) (Paperback)
This book has a lot of stories about my family, so I love it. However, for anyone who wants to hear how some large Jewish families made it in the US, this is a great book to begin with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Other Great Families of New York's "Gilded Age", July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A wonderful book chronicling the Jewish equivalent to "The 400", those wealthy (gentile) society people who were NYC's upper-crust in the last half of the 19th Century to the beginning of the 20th. "Our Crowd" was made up of hyper-wealthy bankers who helped build this nations railroads, banking system and even helped fund GM. Largely unsung, the Seligmans, Kuhns, Loebs, Goldmans, Lehmans, Guggenheims et al rivaled and, in some cases surpassed the Morgans, Astors, Vanderbilts, Fishes et al.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Out of print history, June 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was researching the history of the immigrating Jewish community and the beginning of Wall Street banking & finance. I loved these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great! loved this book!, May 20, 2014
This book is a great read! I bought this for my mother who had worked with some of the people mentioned in the book. She remarked that it was interesting and factual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Our Crowd: The Great Jewish Families of New York (Modern Jewish History)
Our Crowd: The Great Jewish Families of New York (Modern Jewish History) by Stephen Birmingham (Paperback - August 1, 1996)
$19.95 $15.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.