Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folks having fun.
John Hinde's wonderful photos capture a peculiarly British phenomenon, the Butlin's vacation camp. As photographer Martin Parr says in his intro...Billy Butlin had the great idea of providing a holiday park for the working class, where they could have a good time despite the English weather. The price included everything, accommodation, food and entertainment so the...
Published on July 27, 2003 by Robin Benson

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars It had handwritten text on the first page
The book had handwritten text and I was never warned about it. That is not acceptable. The price should have been a lot lower.
Published 12 months ago by Gonzaga


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folks having fun., July 27, 2003
John Hinde's wonderful photos capture a peculiarly British phenomenon, the Butlin's vacation camp. As photographer Martin Parr says in his intro...Billy Butlin had the great idea of providing a holiday park for the working class, where they could have a good time despite the English weather. The price included everything, accommodation, food and entertainment so the camps where very popular with families, ma and pa could do what they wanted knowing that the kids, not being able to stray from the enclosed site, could play all day in safety.

The fifty-five large, pin-sharp photos in this book capture exactly the feel and ambience of the various Butlin camps around the country. They all show groups of people, indoors and out, eating, dancing (ballroom dancing was always a big draw for pensioners) swimming, relaxing or whatever. Hinde used real campers for these photos and in nearly every one, if you look closely, you can always spot one person who is looking at the camera, I bet they were told to ignore the camera and all the lights and look as if they were having a good time. As these pictures show the British relaxing on vacation there are naturally plenty of men wearing a jacket, collar and tie, on sunny days too!

I think this is a lovely book that captures, with documentary style photos, the seventies look of a unique English institution.

***FOR AN INSIDE LOOK click 'customer images' under the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Time and Place, April 11, 2005
By 
Big O (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
Our True Intent Is All for Your Delight will transform you for a moment and take you to another time and place. The photographs are fantastic, and it is interesting to find at least one person in a crowd looking in the camera in many shots. Indeed, you find yourself wondering about the lives of the people in the pictures and where they are now. The write ups are nicely done and help put things in better perspective for people not familiar with Butlin's. Four people saw my copy and asked to borrow it since I bought it last week. I imagine that they will find themselves planning their vacations to Butlin's as I wish I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars --Unintentionally Hilarious?--, September 8, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a big fan of Bruce McCall and his work (Zany Afternoons,New Yorker, early National Lampoon). These photos look like his art come to life. Funny, oddly touching, "real life" photos. A joy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this Book, August 27, 2003
By A Customer
Postcard renderings of the sixties as its kitschiest and most fabulous, completely without any hint of irony to spoil the mood.
The book could have served as a style reference book for the set design of Edward Scissorhands.
I bought it as a style reference for my work. I used to collect old Life magazines, catalogues, books whatever but this is everything you'd like to imitate from the sixties design-wise all in one.
And the reproductions are in perfect brilliant technicolor and the book is beautifully done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It had handwritten text on the first page, January 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Our True Intent Is All For Your Delight: The John Hinde Butlin's Photographs (Hardcover)
The book had handwritten text and I was never warned about it. That is not acceptable. The price should have been a lot lower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Captures another era, April 2, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Our True Intent Is All For Your Delight: The John Hinde Butlin's Photographs (Hardcover)
John Hinde Butlin's photographs provide a wonderful window to mid-century leisure. The colors are amazing and the technical expertise of the photographers is fascinating. The stages elements in each scene and the fact that these photos were for postcard distribution give insight on the visual culture of the time. This is a great coffee-table book that provides a nostalgic look of a forgotten era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Our True Intent Is All For Your Delight: The John Hinde Butlin's Photographs
Used & New from: $16.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.