Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Timely Topic Well Told
John Corrigan has come up with an intriguing look inside the world of the PGA Tour (again) and what he sees is troublesome. In this 5th novel involving PGA touring pro, Jack Austin, Corrigan confronts the issue of the use of performance enhancing drugs and the response of the tour's policy makers to the threat it poses.

All of Corrigan's Jack Austin mysteries...
Published on February 21, 2007 by John R. Linnell

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Out of bounds
Ok I do not appreciate writing a review of a book that I have just started. I just want to read my book.
Published 22 months ago by Brad Miller


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Very Timely Topic Well Told, February 21, 2007
By 
John R. Linnell (New Gloucester, ME United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Out of Bounds (Hardscrabble Books-Fiction of New England) (Hardcover)
John Corrigan has come up with an intriguing look inside the world of the PGA Tour (again) and what he sees is troublesome. In this 5th novel involving PGA touring pro, Jack Austin, Corrigan confronts the issue of the use of performance enhancing drugs and the response of the tour's policy makers to the threat it poses.

All of Corrigan's Jack Austin mysteries have a very authentic ring to them and this one is no exception as well as being extremely timely.

Golf courses are getting longer, but so are the players. Is it the equipment? The Ball? The conditioning programs?

Or in some cases, is it something they ingest?

That's the question that is troubling some in this book as events unfold and the mystery deepens. The PGA Tour is not all fairways and greens. In some cases it is danger and death.

This is a well done story which will hold your interest whether you know Tiger Woods from Tony the Tiger or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quick, fun read, August 7, 2014
Jack Austin is a PGA golfer who seems to play better when he has a mystery to solve. This five book series moves fluently from the PGA tour to whatever mess Jack has somehow managed to get involved in. These books are a quick, easy, fun read weather you're a golf fan or not. The characters are individually strong, but blend together well. Each book takes on a difficult subject matter in a realistic and believable way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best so far, April 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the best book in this series, where has Jack Austin gone to ? Wish that series continued !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Out of bounds, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ok I do not appreciate writing a review of a book that I have just started. I just want to read my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like the whole Jack Austin series, November 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have read many the books in the Jack Austin series and enjoyed them all. Being a golfer I lke the golfing background but don't think this would preclude others from enjoying the stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facinating look at pro-golf and enjoyable characters, March 17, 2007
This review is from: Out of Bounds (Hardscrabble Books-Fiction of New England) (Hardcover)
When a pro-golfer accuses another golfer of cheating through drug abuse, Jack Austin gets dragged into the middle of things. For one thing, he's a pro golfer--for another, he's a member of the policy committee, responsible for helping to set the rules that deal with issues like mandatory drug testing. But Austin is badly conflicted--he believes in his game and doesn't want it to be caught by the stigma of drugs--like baseball and other sports. Austin gets involved even more deeply when his friend, who works security for the tour but who was injured in an earlier book asks for his help.

Austin finds himself investigating both performance-enhancing drugs and the mysterious death (an apparent mugging) of another pro golfer. But when more of the golfers responsible for a failed golf venture turn up sick or dead, Austin starts to see hints at a connection between his two problems. Managing to golf well through all of this is a problem, though, especially as Tiger Woods is on a hot streak. Austin's two year waiver after winning a tournament is running out and he must either win again or he'll find himself hanging onto the tour by his fingernails.

Author John R. Corrigan combines a fascinating look at the world of professional golf with interesting characters, nail-biting action on the course, and a nifty mystery. I really enjoyed the way golfer Austin tried to balance his family and his love for his sport, the way he saw the game as a practically zen experience, and the interaction among the golfers, and between golfers and the rest of the world.

You don't need to be a golfer to enjoy OUT OF BOUNDS or the other books in the Jack Austin mystery series, but I suspect that serious golfers will take even more out of this story than will duffers like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Out of Bounds (Hardscrabble Books-Fiction of New England)
Out of Bounds (Hardscrabble Books-Fiction of New England) by John R. Corrigan (Hardcover - October 31, 2006)
$24.95 $21.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.