Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last great rocker for Rod?
(My rating system: 1-Bad 2-Average 3-Good 4-Very Good 5-Excellent/Classic)

This album sold like crazy for Roderick! It was deemed a "comeback" at the time, but Rod hadn't gone anywhere, and he hadn't stopped selling records either, so go figure....

Out of Order rocked harder than anything we'd heard from Rod in years, and certainly rocked MUCH...
Published on January 4, 2005 by Mr.Vengeance

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Songs
1. Lost In You

2. Wild Horse, The

3. Lethal Dose Of Love

4. Forever Young

5. My Heart Can't Tell Me No

6. Dynamite

7. Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out

8. Crazy About Her

9. Try A Little Tenderness

10. When I Was Your Man

11. Almost...
Published on April 1, 2006 by Spy Kid


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last great rocker for Rod?, January 4, 2005
This review is from: Out of Order (Audio CD)
(My rating system: 1-Bad 2-Average 3-Good 4-Very Good 5-Excellent/Classic)

This album sold like crazy for Roderick! It was deemed a "comeback" at the time, but Rod hadn't gone anywhere, and he hadn't stopped selling records either, so go figure....

Out of Order rocked harder than anything we'd heard from Rod in years, and certainly rocked MUCH harder than anything he's done since. It was a return to Rod the Rocker that many of his longtime fans had longed for. Teamed with Andy Taylor of Duran Duran, you wouldn't have expected this, unless you happened to listen to Andy Taylor's solo work. What Out of Order became was a strong mix of solid rock with Rod's balladeering and storytelling.

"Lost in You" was a lead single that immediately received heavy airplay. A little bit of "the Scot" thrown into a nice 80's rock sound. Second up was "The Wild Horse". An excellent tune, which was a bit of a throwback. A strong guitar, very Faces-like tune from Taylor, played at mid-tempo. Suits Rod's voice perfectly.

You had mega-hits "Forever Young", "Crazy About Her", & "My Heart Can't Tell Me No", all with ultra-cool Rod videos, which got constant airplay on your local video channel.

Lesser known rockers from the album are "Dynamite", which is classic Rod- Fast, partying, drinking, & chicks, all to a driving beat. "Lethal Dose of Love" was a nod to Rod's early 80's work. Sounds as if it could have been written for 1983's Camouflage album. Strong beat, fun lyrics. The cd contains a song not found on the original vinyl, "Almost Illegal" which is another fine rocker in the traditional Rod style.

Of course, it wouldn't be Rod without a not to his soul/Motown loving past, and you have a cover of "Try a Little Tenderness", and the lovely, "When I Was Your Man".

Sadly, Rod has never rocked this way since. His Out of Order tour saw his a man possessed on stage, mixing hits from this platter with his old classics. While I have no qualms about Rod's "softening" since then- we all get older- I hold Out of Order as a jewel in his output from the last 20 years. He showed flashes of it on When We Were The New Boys, released in 1998, but it was short lived.

A very good album any Rod fan should be happy with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very adventurous album by Rod Stewart, September 19, 2004
This review is from: Out of Order (Audio CD)
I still consider Out of Order one of Rod Stewart's best albums. I still like Forever Young, Lost In You, but still my favorite is My Heart Can Tell Me No. I didn't know if radio would play it because of its 5 minutes, but it's one of Rod's best '80s songs. I tried nearly 2 years to get this album, but I finally heard it in 1990 and it's still one of my favorite Stewart albums. Stewart's raspy voice was in fine form this album. I liked The Wild Horse on here, one of his more rowdy songs. I liked his cover of Bobby Womack's Nobody Knows You When You're DOwn and Out. That proves that he respects his R&B and soul influences. But Out of Order was fabulous pop overall!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable 80s album, March 27, 2003
By 
"swashbuckler1" (Sparks, NV United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Out of Order (Audio CD)
I bought this tape right after it was released. I recently dug it out of storage and was listening to it again and enjoyed what I hadn't listened to for a while. I bought the album because I am an Andy Taylor fan, not so much a Rod Stewart, but I was impressed by their pairing. Excellent rock. The two should have done more together. I particularly enjoyed The Wild Horse, Dynamite, and Almost Illegal. The stand-bys Forever Young and Lost in You were also excellent. I had a harder time with the others, otherwise this album would get 5 stars. Buy it and remember the 80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rod the Bod is really quite Mod, February 24, 2006
By 
This review is from: Out of Order (Audio CD)
I remember returning to the States after being overseas for several years. One of the first songs I heard on local radio upon returning home was "Lost In You." It really jumped out of my stereo speakers, along with rockers like "Dynamite," and "Wild Horse." I think that for Rod to really rock out, he needs to surround himself with musicians that will push him, and Andy Taylor certainly seemed to do so on this album. In fact, Andy practically incinerates his guitar on "Almost Illegal." I love the imagery in that song as well, with Rod rollin' in the hay with the farmer's daughter, and the farmer aiming to put some buckshot in the Mod One's tailfeathers. Rod's voice is in fine some on the ballads as well; his rendition of "Try A Little Tenderness" does justice to a timeless classic. Like other reviewers, I don't much feel like Rod has rocked out since this one, and I miss it. Let the Wild Horse run free indeed, Roddy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rod's Best Album of the 80's, December 12, 2007
By 
This review is from: Out of Order (Audio CD)
Out of Order, which was released in 1988, contains several of his biggest hits - "Lost in You", "Forever Young", "Crazy About Her" & "My Heart Can't Tell You No". All are fantastic cuts & there are a few other hidden gems here as well. Songs like "Wild Horse", "Lethal Dose of Love", "Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out" and Almost Illegal" are all superb rockers & they also probably could've been radio singles if given the chance. The production is also first rate & guest musicians like: Bassist - Bernard Edwards (Chic), Drummer - Tony Thompson (Chic) & Guitarist - Andy Taylor (Duran Duran), who made up half of the supergroup - Power Station just 3 years prior, really brought alot to this album. The highlight as usual though, was the man himself & Rod's scorching vocals were really on fire throughout this entire record. I only wish he'd made a few more harder rocking albums like this one. All in all though, I think this album is definitely Rod's best work during the 80's & one of his top 3 albums of all time. I can't recommend it highly enough.

As for this expanded edition, it is unfortunately NOT a re-master (which I found out the hard way) so be warned. It does however have 6 bonus songs. "Days Of Rage" (which is the only true un-released track here) is a nice rocker & it sounds alot like something the Rolling Stones would've done back in the 80's. It also fits in well with the original setlist. The 3 hip hop style remixes of "Crazy About Her" (Do we really need this many?) aren't terrible but they sound nothing like a Rod Stewart song. They actually sound more like something New Edition would've done. Anyway, I could easily do without them & they are all much inferior to the original version. The last 2 tracks are live versions of "Forever Young" & "This Old Heart Of Mine" which were both recorded at the Greek Theater in L.A. on 10/20/93. They sound pretty good & are definitely worth a listen. My advice, just d/l the bonus tracks or wait for a true re-master of this great album. That is if they ever release one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hard-rocker!, March 5, 2004
By 
andy8047 (Nokomis,Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Out of Order (Audio CD)
OUT OF ORDER was released in 1988. The album's biggest hit FOREVER YOUNG was re-recorded for 1996's IF WE FALL IN LOVE TONIGHT. The latter version is more subtle and non-electric. Other hits include LOST IN YOU and MY HEART CAN'T TELL YOU NO. The latter song also appeared on IWFILT,but it's the very same version. TRY A LITTLE TENDERNESS is an easy listening classic that was first recorded back in the forties. The late great Frank Sinatra recorded his version back then. THE WILD HORSE has the sound of Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band. I think DYNAMITE is cool because it sounds a lot like Bob Seger's NINE TONIGHT. CRAZY ABOUT HER tells about a guy crazy about a girl,of course. ALMOST ILLEGAL is a bonus track only on cassette and CD. All the other songs are good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His Best, September 20, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Out of Order (Audio CD)
As far as I'm concerned, this is Rod Stewart at his best. Great mix of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Album With A Title That Couldn't Be Anymore Ironic, February 14, 2012
This review is from: Out of Order (Audio CD)
Okay so for most of the 1980's Rod Stewart kept making albums,creatively challenging himself by putting himself more and more into the modern musical idiom while dusting himself off from the critical pounding he was beginning to take. Part of that was the perception he had made the journey from romantically weary soul/rock troubadour into some kind of FM rock megastar. Seemed that something needed to be done so he would be universally acclaimed again and still remain contemporary. And he couldn't have made a better choice here if he tried. First of all he turned to Andy Taylor from Duran Duran and Bernard Edwards for help. Nile Rodgers had made a huge name for himself in the production field in the 80's. And his former Chic bandmade/bassist Nard Edwards was himself making his own name via productions for a lot of English dance/rock acts such as ABC,Power Station/Robert Palmer and..of course Duran Duran. Considering his backround coming from a rock,funk and dance point of view Edwards probably understood more than a lot of people who to get someone like Rod Stewart into a suitable sort of groove.

Even by the time the albums opens up,you realize this album actually picks up pretty much where 1986's Rod Stewart left off soundwise,only with twice the energy level and with a sharper spark to the instrumentation. "Lost In You" and "Almost Illegal" are both excellent rockers,opening and closing the album. But they have a quality of rock that's also very easy to dance to-the type of dancing that makes your hip thrust in and out. On "The Wild Horse","Lethal Dose Of Love" and "Dynamite" the dance/rock aspect is turned up even more. And that funk-via-new wave groove of Taylor's really shows up heavy. "Nobody Knows You When Your Down And Out" is a deep,slower crawling flat out funk groove appropriately dealing with human phoniness to uneasy truths. On "Crazy About Her" it's actually pretty straight up Chic style dance/funk with the sax carrying the melody and Rod himself singing/rapping-talk singing the lyrics. Actually no matter how many times they play it on the radio,"Forever Young" isn't a bad empowerment song that actually avoids being corny. For one,because it's got a very strong rhythmic pattern. "When I Was Your Man" isn't a bad slower number either with it's slick dynamics.

Rod of course is right in his element on Otis Redding's "Try A Little Tenderness". Not only is there a good possibility this might be among his personal favorite songs considering his apparent tastes but he really drains every last drop of soul from the song Redding himself might've caught on his original. There are times he even channel's Otis's softly crying wail to a point where it's...almost creepy. And this album did it! He ended off the 1980's with an album that was huge commercially and got most of the critics and writers back on his good side. Seems you can't please everyone if your trying to. And all it seems Rod was doing here was going out to make a very strong album with a lot of well crafted songs with great production. Not only that his storytelling skills are at peak form-with his tales of passion and self reflection in it's many forms are firing on all cylinders throughout this. Rod Stewart would again get somewhat topsy turvy in terms of his musical consistency in the decades to come. And this is continuing to this very day. But say...even if this ends up being his equivalent to Scary Monsters (the David Bowie album all of his following releases would tend to be measured against),don't think that's hurt anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crazy About Rod Stewart CBE!, December 5, 2009
This review is from: Out of Order (Audio CD)
Before Rod Stewart CBE turned to the classical recording in the American songbook, Rod Stewart was singing his own songs like "Lost in You," "Forever Young," "Crazy About Her," and "My Heart Can Tell You No" in his repertoire. Very few surviving performers like Rod Stewart have not only changed the music industry but they had adapted to it's many changes and it's audiences. Rod Stewart's faithful audiences might be pushing gray hairs instead of dying it pink. As we have gotten older, so has Rod Stewart who has moved his singing into a new direction and perhaps better one too. He has matured from "Do You Think I'm Sexy" to a singer with a lot of depth and range to reach a wider audiences. This compact disc does have some favorites like the ones mentioned above. Too bad, they don't sell the videos with this CD. Rod Stewart has grown as a musical performer from doing music videos for the original MTV to serenading audiences with songs that Tony Bennett and Frank Sinatra made famous. Who would have thought that Rod Stewart would be the one to have such depth in music? I didn't for sure and I'm sure some of his critics did too or maybe he had it all along but we just didn't appreciate it. Rock on, Rod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, May 31, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Out of Order (Audio CD)
Almost all of Rod's other recordings have been remastered. Will someone in the music industry please REMASTER this one? Please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Out of Order
Out of Order by Rod Stewart (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.