Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Snake Oil Card Game
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Product Packaging: Standard Packaging|Change
Price:$24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 25, 2013
Snake Oil is about putting two words together from a hand of cards and creating an item to then pitch, from creativity alone, to a person who is a specific market. (Cheerleader, Mortician, Superhero, etc.)

The best part about this game is you can play with with children and it be fairly innocent, or play it with an all-adult group and it suddenly be on a level worse than Cards Against Humanity for 'horrible things stated'/ sexuality.

Very amazing for creative mind play, or those looking to practice their imagination much more. (Also it's great to pitch stuff in a rather info-commercial style.)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2016
I use this in a high school classroom as a preparation for impromptu speaking. It really gets the kids talking and thinking about what to say. I use Apples to Apples also. My students are telling me they like Snake Oil better. The drama instructor is borrowing it for his intro to improv unit.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2015
Snake oil is a great, clever, fun social game

Snake Oil involves pitching fictitious products to the other players. The name references "snake oil salesmen". Each player has a hand of cards. Each round involves one customer, with the other players combining any two cards from their hand and pitching the resulting product to the customer. The customer chooses their favorite product and that salesman gets a point. Players draw back to six cards and the next player becomes the new customer.

Simple! And fun! And educational in a subtle way. Snake Oil requires imagination, a sense of humor and a willingness to enthusiastically present a whimsical product idea to your fellow gamers. As such it is entertaining, light weight and extremely accessible while at the same time develops creativity, public speaking skills and the ability to structure short, compelling elevator pitches. Another reviewer mentioned using it as a sales tool with employees, and it is remarkable that such an engaging game can also have such utility I play a lot of games and Snake Oil is very high and my bang for the buck list. You can play it anywhere, at any time, with pretty much any group of people.

Snake oil is not a hard nosed, competitive, complicated board game. If you play exclusively Euro games this might not be for you. On the other end of the spectrum, if you quiver in fear at the notion of big box games with fiddly bits and pages of rules, then fear not - you will likely find Snake Oil fun and engaging. It's a great addition to family and casual gaming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2013
I use it to train professional sales reps & it's my kids' favorite game right now. What more can be said!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
This game is really fun and different then anything we have played before. It is a easy game so I would think 5 an up cold play this game. You draw cards and put two together and then create a pitch to sell to the buyer. The person that is the buyer will then choose whose product they want to buy(there is no money to keep track of) the chosen seller receives a point. It helps everyone be creative and is a fun and hilarious game. If you have a child with a good imagination they will enjoy this game. with that being said I also use this game, because I have a child who has trouble coming up with writing ideas and hates brainstorming. We play this game and it gets his creative juices flowing and breaks the ice for him to focus and come up with creative writing ideas.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2016
Oh..my..gosh.. This game is so much fun! I purchased it for my daughter and her fiancé for a Christmas present. When we played this game, we laughed until we cried. If you have friends who can spin a tale and sell the rug right out from underneath you, then this is the game for you!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 29, 2016
Purchased this for my brother-in-law as he enjoys tabletop games as well. Very well thought out game akin to Apple to Apples or Cards Against Humanity where one player is judging the cards and interpretations of cards of the other players. Sell your product the best way possible (or the funniest) and be the top salesman of your friends.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2016
If you like games such as 'Apples to Apples' or 'Cards Against Humanity', Then you will love this game. it is simple to learn and allows creativity outside of just passing cards around.

Game Play: one player draws a card from a deck of characters (such as cheerleader, Blacksmith, or Fire fighter). Then, each other player chooses 2 cards from their hand (such as Mountain, Love, Computer, Taco, Ect...) and puts them together. that player then attempts to sell their "product" to the first player.

it is so much fun to listen to your friends try to sell a couch potato a product called Sleep Mountain, or a Vampire a Rocket Coffin
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2015
Nice idea but difficult to get people involved. The game is to have one player draw a card that gives a Job title. Then other use two cards from their hands to create a product to sell to the person with the job. So you have to create a product that applies to the job and then discuss it with them so they choose your idea over any others. Good game tactic BUT if people are not creative they get frustrated. Also if someone takes a big lead then NO ONE will ever choose their product because they would win. The game comes in a box that is not very friendly to open and reuse each time you wish to play, and the cards are designed well and look nice but could be better quality if it is simply a card game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2014
Let me start by saying that Snake Oil is a great game - and a simple game. No dice, no board, no complex rules. It's a social game, fueled by improvisation and a willingness to be goofy and have fun.

The premise: In a group of players, one is chosen as the "customer" and draws a customer card - this endows that player as the character on that card. The customer could be a pirate, a doctor, a zombie, a cheerleader, etc... There are tons of possible customers. Once the customer is known, the other players construct, from their hands of six "product" cards, a pair of words which make a fun product that this particular customer may be interested in. Words like blanket, beard, snow, brush, animal, paint. So, for example, you might choose to sell a pirate "beard paint". Next each "Snake Oil salesperson" takes a turn pitching their product. For "beard paint", the angle might be - "You want to look fearsome as a pirate, to instill fear in the hearts of merchants - and what's more fearsome than a blood-red beard? That's why you need beard-paint." So on and so forth.

Much like Apples to Apples (which Out of the Box Games introduced us to a number of years ago), the customer/judge picks one of the products over the others - and hands that salesperson/player the customer/character card. The first customer to ? # cards wins!

Pros: The game is simple and fun with groups from 3 or more people (a lot of people can play, easily ten or more). Kids can play with adults and everyone can have a good time.

Cons: The content of the game may not be what adults may consider "edgy" enough (but more on that below).

Tips: We used a thirty second timer (a simple hourglass sort of timer, or a smart phone app does the trick) to add pressure to the person pitching. We also allowed the buyer to debate and make snarky comments during the pitch. This game is social, it's a performance game - so bend the rules to fit you and your friends/family.

You can play this game to fit you and your group - if you're all adults with edgier senses of humor, then let loose. And if you're playing with kids - then pull back on that a bit. The game is "safe" for kids to play, but we played it with our group of grown up goofballs and we had a lot of fun.

Introverted, quiet folks may not be overly excited to play, but it's still fun to watch - and they may open up a bit to it once they see how it works. Extroverted folks, people who love to fool around and make jokes will really have a blast right out of the box (I didn't mean to do that).
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

$24.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.