Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Gloves
Not really sure what some people are complaining about regarding this glove. It's a glove that can be used as either a liner glove under heavier gloves or mitts OR it can be used on its own in milder tempatures or for short spells in some colder temps. That's it and that's all. If you want a cold weather glove for 20 degree weather then you'll need to buy a cold weather...
Published 20 months ago by Doubles

versus
59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent
I purchased these gloves thinking they would be a good way to combat the relatively mild winters we experience here in central New Mexico. It's true, they are better than nothing, but they offer no protection against water and very little protection against wind, and are only meagerly insulated; I would feel my hands getting extremely cold after only a few minutes in...
Published on December 8, 2011 by Clark


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, December 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased these gloves thinking they would be a good way to combat the relatively mild winters we experience here in central New Mexico. It's true, they are better than nothing, but they offer no protection against water and very little protection against wind, and are only meagerly insulated; I would feel my hands getting extremely cold after only a few minutes in 35-45 degree weather. I would also call durability into question because the fabric they are made from has started pilling after only a few weeks of use and the strap holding the retaining clasp on one of the gloves snapped right off while pulling them out of my back pocket. Again, these gloves are certainly better than nothing, but are near useless if used around water, snow, or ice, and are certainly not useful for use around freezing temperatures. These are almost certainly more suitable for use a a liner for a heavier glove or mitten than as a standalone unit and I would recommend using it as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Gloves, March 27, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not really sure what some people are complaining about regarding this glove. It's a glove that can be used as either a liner glove under heavier gloves or mitts OR it can be used on its own in milder tempatures or for short spells in some colder temps. That's it and that's all. If you want a cold weather glove for 20 degree weather then you'll need to buy a cold weather glove. If you want a glove that's windpoof or waterproof then you need to buy a glove that's windproof or waterproof. This glove is fine for it's intended purpose. I have hands sized just under a large, and paying attention to other reviewers, the medium in these fit just fine. The fingers are longer than expected. And they're not as form fitting as some "stretch" gloves/liners out there, but they're well made. The outer fabric is sort of soft, but not soft like a brushed fleece. And i think i saw someone mention the outer fabric started piling right away - no, i don't think so b/c this type of fabric doesn't seem like it would pill much, unless you put it in the dryer with some socks or something. I think the price might throw some people off thinking they would be getting a more substantial glove for the price...you don't. What you get is a well made glove liner. And there's really no second part to the story. It does what it's suppposed to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OR PL100 gloves, October 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Outdoor Research knows how to make serious gear for those who love to spend time out in the wilderness. Having owned a slew of OR products, I am a fan. I've always been able to rely on OR products.
I added a pair of the PL100 gloves to extend my winter gloves/mitts system, using different weight gloves in combination with shells for varying conditions.
The PL100 gloves are what I would consider to be a light to mid weight glove, suitable for use inside a shell glove or mitt. I found the fit to be perfect for me in the size I normally wear with other brands. The fit is snug, but not overly tight.
The material and construction of these gloves are not meant for hard work. There are no heavy duty panels on the palms or fingers. I will not be using these for snow shoveling, for example. They do have small sticky patches on the thumb and forefinger for grip when handling items.
As a high quality insulation glove to use as part of my full winter system, driving in the winter or just to throw on for an evening walk in the snow, these are perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for very cold weather, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
They are good, not that great. They will be better as a liner for my other gloves if it gets really cold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars quality, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outdoor Research Men's PL 100 Gloves (Apparel)
the quality was a little disappointing, and the leather parts started to disappear from the finger tips, I it's not that good at warming either but it's ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Qaulity!, November 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outdoor Research Men's PL 100 Gloves (Apparel)
I tested this is cold weather, and it works great like a sock under your gloves or if you want it as stylish one, this one is enough and I really love it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars look cool but crappy seams, January 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
seams on palm ripped after a couple weeks of light use. I like color, but otherwise would have thrown these in trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that great, January 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outdoor Research Men's PL 100 Gloves (Apparel)
Nice looking, slim, and warm gloves... but the finger tip coating is starting to peel off after a month. Considering this, I am not satisfied with this purchase considering the high price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Product quality is great, July 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outdoor Research Men's PL 100 Gloves (Apparel)
Product quality is great but unfortunately, the size was too small inspite of measuring and buying the item. Not sure if the item is built small or my measurement is wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as advertised, March 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Gloves are not warm as advertised. The wind blows right through them. They do not provide adequate protection in cold New England Winter weather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Outdoor Research Men's PL 100 Gloves, Black, Medium
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.