Customer Reviews


575 Reviews
5 star:
 (286)
4 star:
 (183)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


118 of 127 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should've been a wide theatrical release; I hope it's a huge DVD seller!
I got a chance to see this in the theatres thanks to a friend of mine with a sharp eye. It was only released in a VERY limited engagement - in my area, only one theatre ran it for a week. What a shame!
This movie is a must-see for fans of sci-fi movies like the first Terminator, movies like Ice Pirates, or Pitch Black. It has its own wonderful mythology, and the...
Published on March 4, 2009 by Karl Lee Soule

versus
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Buy Canadian Blu-Ray!
As has been reported elsewhere, the blu-ray version of this entertaining and well-done mash-up of fantasy and scifi, Beowulf and Predator-like narratives, has been irresponsibly and irreparably ruined in the transfer offered by Alliance of Canada. Similar to what Alliance did with Se7en, they have cropped the film's original aspect ratio of 2.35:1 down to 1.78:1! Not...
Published on August 31, 2009 by Elyon


‹ Previous | 1 258 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

118 of 127 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should've been a wide theatrical release; I hope it's a huge DVD seller!, March 4, 2009
By 
Karl Lee Soule (Rancho Cordova, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outlander [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I got a chance to see this in the theatres thanks to a friend of mine with a sharp eye. It was only released in a VERY limited engagement - in my area, only one theatre ran it for a week. What a shame!
This movie is a must-see for fans of sci-fi movies like the first Terminator, movies like Ice Pirates, or Pitch Black. It has its own wonderful mythology, and the casting is great. Could've seen more of Ron Pearlman, though.
Yes, there are a couple of cheesy moments, but the good stuff far outweighs the bad. Very very enjoyable film. Looking forward to a disc release, and hopefully an extended edition - rumor has it that Weinstein and Co trimmed 15 min off the end to make the movie fit on one less reel, saving money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


109 of 119 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This sleeper sci-fi action film is a must see for genre fans!, March 1, 2009
Like Antonio Banderas in "The 13th Warrior" and Director Robert Zemeckis in his 2008 CGI film, "Outlander" takes on the classic tale of Beowulf, but unlike those films it does it with a sci-fi twist. The "Grendel" monster in this film has celestial origins much like the titular Outlander played by Jim Caviezal. The monster design was one of the most pleasantly surprising aspects of the film; its look was unique and had the right mix of cool and creepy.

Some drawbacks to this film include a few flashback scenes with weak CGI, relatively uncharismatic male leads, and a few odd casting choices--John Hurt as a Viking king? In contrast the wonderful Ron Perlman was cast perfectly yet sorely underused. Those complaints aside, "Outlander" is overall a tightly paced, action packed, and entertaining take on the English language's oldest adventure tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth your time, a solid DVD, May 15, 2009
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
Plenty to read about how the W brothers buried yet another fine film, but those two are a case study in having great films distributed incorrectly. Aside from them - what a great sci-fi film.

We have inter-planetary travel, love, loss, awesome looking dragon creatures with firefly (glowing) capabilities, all intertwined within the Norse time period of our history. Caviezel has just the right look to be the believable yet fearless fighter that hunts these creatures across the universe.

The effects looked adequate, and excelled during any of the ship sequences off planet. I have read most of the criticisms about pacing, time period gaffs and such, but overall I think they made a solid film. The DVD has over 32 minutes of deleted scenes that help answer some of the questions raised while watching the theatrical cut (which runs 115 minutes itself). The alternate opening would have helped with the end - but watching a space ship spiral towards Earth works better. The scenes with his Captain would have been nice to see in the main cut, as would most of the others but oh well. Some nice informative supplements for the special effects also.

Customers have been asking for this since last year, and playing it alone has generated quite a buzz. A worthwhile owner for fans of the film that would of course look beautiful on Blu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visual feast!, November 5, 2011
This review is from: Outlander (Amazon Instant Video)
Rarely have I seen such attention to detail in a movie of this type. Rarely do I watch a movie without working on some craft project while it's on. Usually I love to pick movies apart for whatever ridiculous scenes, lines, and implausible situations are offered. Not this one!
Within the first ten minutes I'd set down the needlework to give my full attention to watching the story. Within an hour I knew I would need to own this DVD (not a common impulse for me). Vikings - in a believable setting - and not a horned helmet in sight. Architecture, clothing, homes, everyday items, all done with much care and it makes such a difference! The Outlander's past history works in giving him his new fate. A few events in the story might have been stretching things a bit, but the creature was beautifully done, the scenery was gorgeous, and the people suited their roles. It's a work of art and I totally enjoyed it from start to finish!! This is a movie I know I would enjoy watching more than once - an all too rare occurrence these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, February 17, 2009
Vikings and aliens together would generally be a bad movie on the sci fi channel. but this was actually very good. of course there is a little cheesiness, but the special effects and decent acting make up for it. this movie was the most entertaining movie i have seen in a long time. it reminded me of predator alot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHERE THE HELL DID THIS MOVIE COME FROM?!?!?!, May 21, 2009
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
The first I ever heard of Outlander was in an ad page in last month's Fangoria. It looked and sounded like typical straight to video B movie fair. This is sometimes a very good and fun thing, and other times absolutely dreadful. From sifting through some other Amazon reviews regarding this film I found that it had a very, VERY, limited theatrical run and apparently was bashed by critics. Well, I still haven't read any 'professional' reviews for Outlander and I'm here to tell you that it's totally worth two hours of your life, especially if you're a creature feature fan and, even better, a sword and sandels epic fan.

Basically, the premise of this movie is if Army Of Darkness was taken seriously. We have a space man(from another dimension? The future? Antoher planet?) who crashes his space ship onto earth in the year 709 and brings a big monster with him, that of course escapes and starts problems for the local Viking villages and tribes. That's it. That's the story. Nothing monumental or groundbreaking but totally fun. Hell, this movie has the type of story I would have written myself when I was ten and wanted even more to see it in the multiplex.

Don't get mislead by the Sci-Fi sounding premise, this is nothing close to true Science Fiction. It's a big action/horror/ monster movie on the most base levels. There's no science or hypothesis of the future or past of man to be found. Sorry, it just doesn't reach that high above it's B movie roots, and that is not always a bad thing if it's done well. It's obviously one of those films that has many different producers, most of which are not from the states, but the budget and level of polish on the production could be matched to any of the big summer films coming out now. The sets are good and have the dirty lived in quality required for anything involving Vikings. The CGI creature is mostly convincing. There's a few shots where the beast looks less then stellar but not many. The filmmakers were even smart, considering budget and suspense, by not revealing the creature in full light until the center of the film. It reminded me of the old Roger Corman creature features, but he waited until the third act, well, because his monsters never looked that convincing and were always more convincing when off screen. This could've been a big summer film of 09. Of course it's not a remake, a film based on action figures, one of several sequels to 20 year old properties, and of course there's no car, fast food or toy tie-ins to speak of, but it still could've given me what I long for this summer, something NEW.

The cast is all on spot. Jim Caviezel(The Passion of the Christ, The Thin Red Line, Frequency) stars, and I've always found him to be an underrated actor. He's turning into the king of big films that don't get a shot theatrically but become fan favorites on home video thanks to this and Highwaymen(if you haven't seen it, check it out). The movie even throws us the usual respected older actor in the form of John Hurt to play the Viking king. He's good as always and brings that extra John Hurt-ness he always brings to his roles, big or small. If you've read Beouwulf you can figure out where the plot is going and what it's riffing on but the added Sci-Fi trope helps throw you off for a bit. This isn't going to go down as one of Caviezel's great performances, but he does lend dramatic gravity to what essentially is the typical monosyllobic hero with a past role. After about an hour his characters comes more into his own and leaves behind the usual action character cliche's thanks to him. Ron Perlman shows up late into the film as an opposing tribes leader. He's not give much to do, and I'm not sure why they cast an actor of his caliber for such an nothing part, but it's nice to see him anyway.

The DVD looks and sounds great. Plus, it's loaded with special features. We get some neat special effects tests and animatics of the action scenes, which there are plenty of, and while they're nothing ground breaking, they are done well and leave one feeling satisfied. There's also a great commentary track by the writers, director, producers and special effects technicians that covers so much ground there is no need for a making of doc. They also react to their critics and talk about the original forms of the script. Of course there's also 40 minutes worth of deleted scenes, all of which were rightfully ommitted from the final film. There is an intersting alternate opening that's worth a look though. Can't say the same for the alternate ending.

At least give this one a shot at a rental. You won't be disappointed. Sure, the man from outer space might turn some viewers off, but I emplore you to open your mind and just smile while the B movie ride takes you away. Don't be scared off by the lack of Happy Meals and Tom Cruise level of star power tie-ins. This is a quality B picture on the level of all the big budget B pictures you'll be plopping down 12 bucks to see this summer in theatres. Yes, I'm looking at you Transformers 2 and Terminator:Salvation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vikings and dragons and spacemen, oh my!, December 3, 2010
By 
Muzzlehatch (the walls of Gormenghast) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
Though I wanted to see this film when it came out theatrically in the spring of 2009, I expected very little from it. It was just the concept that seemed cool - vikings and monsters and aliens, awesome! But the movie came and went - I saw posters and a trailer for it, but I'm not sure if it played where I live at all, if it did it was only here for a week. And it got generally poor reviews; I know a lot of people here aren't fans of professional reviewers, but I've followed film criticism for a long time - since well before the rise of amateur critics here on Amazon and other places - and I'm fairly critical myself, especially when it comes to contemporary action movies. I love action as much as the next guy, but to me it's been going downhill pretty steadily as the budgets have gone sky-high and CGI has taken over for pure brawny manly fighting and gunplay. So I really didn't figure this would be much of anything by the time I got around to it last night.

Well, what a pleasant surprise! No, it's no CITIZEN KANE or anything, heck it isn't even DIE HARD and I'm not sure it's a patch on the old Kirk Douglas THE VIKINGS or some of the better 50s monster movies - but it's a heckuva lot of fun, it's got no obvious huge flaws, and most importantly it doesn't insult the audience's intelligence. It's a good sign to me when, right away, the film bothers to explain (but not in overbearing detail) how it's hero Kainan (James Cavaziel) is human despite crashing in a spaceship in 700s Scandinavia, and how he can learn the native language (Old Norse). I like how he's held when captured as a likely enemy, as he should be - but the king, Rothgar (John Hurt) is wise enough to listen to him and quick to free him when he's shown his usefulness in killing a huge bear that threatened the king and several men. At this point Kainan essentially becomes a Viking - but it's clear that he's got his own purpose, because there's a monster much tougher than any bear on the loose, a "dragon" called a Morwen, that followed him from another world.

The story is basic, and reasonably predictable - we've got a rival, would-be king Wulfric (the too-handsome Jack Huston), a potential love interest and Wulfric's intended, Freya (Sophia Myles), and rival chief Gunnar (Ron Perlman) who blames Rothgar for his village's destruction. How all the alliances and relationships shake out isn't going to surprise anyone, but it all feels pretty natural - the developing feelings between Freya and Kainan don't ever come off as either forced or cute, and Wulfric's rivalry isn't there just to have a big climactic duel that's going to jeopardize the ultimate mission - destroying the Morwen. And Kainan's eventual choice is left up right until the end, and seems like it could go either way. I did think that the flashback sequences detailing the origin of the Morwen and Kainan's people were unnecessary, and getting into the morality of the destruction of the dragonlike creatures probably was unneeded also; we never get to know them as anything but highly destructive and bloodthirsty animals, so I'm not sure what purpose is served in showing Kainan feel guilty about his hand in their annihilation. These bits and a few others do help push the film to near two hours, not really that long by today's action movie standards, but a bit more than it needs to be, as otherwise it's a pretty lean and fast-moving piece of work.

The cast is all fine; Perlman of course dominates in his unfortunately-few scenes, and Cavaziel acquits himself well - a bit stoic and dull, but that's not a bad thing in this kind of film. The CGI monster looks OK, and I like that we only see it bit by bit until the second half of the film - I think director/cowriter Howard McCain learned some things about monster movies from older masters like Roger Corman. A nice-looking Viking village, and great scenery throughout (Nova Scotia stands in for Norway here). Some of the action sequences are a bit too dark and frenetic for my taste - a bit too much of the modern fast-cutting style where it's hard to know what's going on - but this isn't as overdone as it is in a lot of films, and there's a good understanding of building suspense and putting a longer action sequence together, particularly at the climax. Overall this is one of the better action/monster films to come along since the first two ALIEN films, and it's sad that it got so little exposure initially. Well, let's hope it builds an audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging and Unpredictable, October 21, 2011
By 
vamp fan (San Jose, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
This is one of the better movies I've seen in a while (theatrical releases included). The characters are rich, not forced into stereotypes (e.g., the jealous rival). The extended backstory is revealed in manageable bits that add to rather than detract from the suspense. Plus, Jim Caveziel, Jack Huston, Sophia Miles, Ron Perlman, and John Hurt - how bad can it really be? Take a risk and rent this - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why are all the best movies the least promoted?, June 21, 2009
By 
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
On a lark, I rented this movie at blockbuster this weekend. I was expecting to be dissapointed by some cheesy low budget sci fi channel type film with poor acting, bad effects and terrible plot. What I got was the EXACT opposite. On the surface, you would think the premise of an alien warrior mixed up with Vikings is silly. But this movie pulls it off very well. I am not going to go into a synopsis, what I will tell you is, the special effects are very very good, better than a lot of higher budget movies I have seen, and the acting is very good from a cast largely of unknowns.As other reviewers have stated, there are a couple of cheesy moments, but the ambiance, and the tension that builds through the movie is phenomenal. For any discriminating sci fi fans, I guarantee you will love this movie. The creature has depth and believability that few movie monsters have achieved. The sets and locales are breath taking, the costumes should win an award alone. This is a GOOD movie. Reminds me of blade runner in that I think it slipped under the radar to become a cult classic. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Buy Canadian Blu-Ray!, August 31, 2009
By 
Elyon (Emerald City, Inland Empire, WA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As has been reported elsewhere, the blu-ray version of this entertaining and well-done mash-up of fantasy and scifi, Beowulf and Predator-like narratives, has been irresponsibly and irreparably ruined in the transfer offered by Alliance of Canada. Similar to what Alliance did with Se7en, they have cropped the film's original aspect ratio of 2.35:1 down to 1.78:1! Not sure what "genius" was behind this decision, but for anyone wanting to see this film in blu-ray, hope the currently financially-challenged Weinstein Group are one day able to offer this film in the US with the transfer it deserves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 258 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Outlander
Outlander by weinstein
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.