Customer Reviews


374 Reviews
5 star:
 (302)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New Dream Team Has Arrived....
Danish metal band Volbeat has parted ways with lead guitarist Thomas Bredahl and has also shared that former Anthrax and The Damned Things guitarist Rob Caggiano has officially joined the band. His addition has proved integral to the band's ever evolving sound. Caggiano also served as producer on Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies alongside long-time production partner Jacob...
Published 23 months ago by To The Max"Bax"

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid CD
Solid CD if you've been listening to them for awhile. It's a bit different from their previous albums in regards to "how" heavy the songs are, but still enjoyable.

The thing that corks me is that they had extra songs on a Best Buy exclusive release for the same album. I took a star off just for that. Seriously, if you limit extra content to ensure...
Published 21 months ago by Matthew Spillan


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New Dream Team Has Arrived...., April 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies (Audio CD)
Danish metal band Volbeat has parted ways with lead guitarist Thomas Bredahl and has also shared that former Anthrax and The Damned Things guitarist Rob Caggiano has officially joined the band. His addition has proved integral to the band's ever evolving sound. Caggiano also served as producer on Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies alongside long-time production partner Jacob Hansen, who produced and mixed the band's prior four albums.

"Half of the album tracks will take you into the world of outlaw gunslinger stories sometime in the 1800s. Some of the characters are true legends, while others are fiction. The listener will hear inspiration from classic spaghetti western movies which gives you a clue to the album title and cover artwork."

"You can hear the influence of the Old West right from the start in "Let's Shake Some Dust," an evocative intro track that features harmonica from acclaimed blues harp player Paul Lamb."

This is definitely the most ambitious set of tracks they've committed to tape, the songwriting is tightly focused, there are lots of hooks, most of them heavy -- thanks, no doubt, to Caggiano's presence. The band shifts from rockabilly to thrash, from death metal to heavy metal to country, and often within the fabric of the same song. Hard rock and vintage heavy metal dominate on cuts like "Pearl Heart," the rifferiffic "The Nameless One," and the ultra-aggressive attack in "The Hangman's Body Count."

"The slow, doomy chug of "Room 24" melds early Black Sabbath, Hetfieldishness, to death metal with King Diamond guesting on vocals." Great pick guys!

"Another surprise is in the cover of Young the Giant's "My Body." Thanks to Poulsen's awesome singing and the blasting guitars, it could pass as a Volbeat anthem."

Former "Creepshow" and now in a Canadian band called "Walk Off The Earth" vocalist Sarah Blackwood sings with Poulsen on "Lonesome Rider," where slap bass rockabilly and hooky '80s metal co-mingle."

"Our Loved Ones" is a really slow heavy song, with a great acoustic harmonica ridden intro with an ultra-vulnerable undertone.

"Doc Holliday" is definitely very heavy, inspired by the famous gunslinger. Volbeat refer to this one as "Our Slayer Song". Metallica infused from head to toe with a very uncharacteristic heavy chorus.

This is the best band to come along in some time, with a new vibe, ultra-heavy, vintage and modern rolled into one. A muscular approach, a cool combination of when blisters meet polish.

This album isn't just the best example of what Volbeat are capable of producing it is heavy metal at its best as well. It's like a "horror outlaw movie" unique, unpredictable and so good it's scary.

Poulsen also offers additional detail on the recordings sharing:

"We are very excited about this album. We feel that we've achieved the goals we set out. The heavy stuff on the album is perhaps more old school heavy riffs than earlier, and the rock songs rock out with tons of melodies and take us into unchartered territory. All that without losing the Volbeat sound that is the cornerstone of our band."

It's everything that Volbeat are all about, but taken even further. It finds the core trio of Michael Poulsen (vocals/guitar), Anders Kjřlholm (bass) and Jon Larsen (drums) united with new guitarist Rob Caggiano, a revitalized band, a force to be reckoned with.

5 stars easily, onwards and upwards to superstardom. The New Dream Team Has Arrived....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard Metal Vs. Heavy Rock -or- It's A Fine Line You Walk, Gunslinger, May 26, 2013
By 
Khyron (Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One could easily make the argument that in 2013, modern rock radio is reaching the saturation point that we experienced in 1990 or so with Motley Jovi and the rest of their hair band brothers in spandex. Their level of over-exposure on the airwaves and MTV paved the way for the Alt-rock and Grunge revolution of 1991. Bands like Trixter, Tyketto and Lynch Mob came at the tail end of that scene and despite being composed of talented players who wrote solid music, they were lost in the tidal wave that washed away the old guard and transformed local punk rock kids into flannel flying rock icons. So while the industry continues to crank out a seemingly endless chain of KidNickelDusts, clearly what we need to do is to start importing hard rock bands from Denmark who sound like the sonic love child of Metallica and Godsmack, right?

Yes, yes we do.

Volbeat return in 2013 with 'Outlaw Gentleman and Shady Ladies,' the follow-up to their 2010 release 'Beyond Hell/Above Heaven.' Stop for a second and simply take in the fact that less than three years have passed since Volbeat gave us their breakthrough record. That's somewhat remarkable, especially given the fact that the last Tool and Metallica LPs were released when we had a different President. That 'Outlaw' is essentially a non-stop anthem that embraces American hard rock's soaring power chorus' and tidy song structure, while deftly incorporating the darker thematic elements and technical guitar solos typically reserved for heavy metal, effectively separates this band from those whom they clearly draw so much inspiration from.

What's done right here is done really right. The majority of the tracks on 'Outlaw' adhere to a Western theme, complete with galloping drum rolls (Dead But Rising, Black Bart), harmonicas (Let's Shake Some Dust), and even a bit of Banjo (Doc Holliday). What could have come off as kind of gimmicky and inauthentic feels rather like a concept album in which we are offered a glimpse of what the old west would have sounded like had Les Paul and Jim Marshall been born 200 years earlier. The non-traditional instruments are wisely incorporated into some of the album's strongest tracks, as opposed to separating them into experimental dittys of their own; a move that certainly would have made the theme feel like an afterthought rather than a starting point.

Though Volbeat is composed of very competent players, now including Antharx alum Rob Caggiano on lead guitar, it's Michael Poulsen's lead vocals that rightfully take center stage on 'Outlaw'. With the power and presence of David Draiman and Sully Erna coupled with the range, inflection and delivery of James Hetfield, Poulsen sings with commanding authority on every track here. The up-lifting chorus' on 'Pearl Hart' and 'Lola Montez;' the later with its almost Jimmy Eat World-esgue infectious, joyful groove, are turned into absolute power anthems through Poulsen's voice. Even the jock jam cover of Young The Giant's 'My Body' is a guilty pleasure thanks to Poulsen and his ability to sell, "My body tells me no/ But I won't quit 'cause I want more". Lead vocals are shared with King Diamond on 'Room 24', a brilliant and dark piece of metal that finds Poulsen standing shoulder to shoulder with the banshee wail of King Diamond as they trade verses before the song descends into vintage Black Sabbath electric evil. 'Lonesome Rider' features vocals from Sarah Blackwood and is a much lighter track in which Blackwood's voice is somewhat monotone and disengaged in the verses. Pity, as the chorus is positively alive with major chords and an impassioned vocal from Poulsen.

So the take away from this album should be two-fold. One, it's never too soon to follow up a great album with another great album. Two, modern rock is a long, long way from burning itself out. 'Outlaw Gentleman and Shady Ladies' is a compelling reason to turn on your terrestrial radio, call up the DJ (who has been ordered under penalty of death to play Halestorm and Nickelback every hour), and request some Danish hard metal... or heavy rock. Whichever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid CD, May 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies (Audio CD)
Solid CD if you've been listening to them for awhile. It's a bit different from their previous albums in regards to "how" heavy the songs are, but still enjoyable.

The thing that corks me is that they had extra songs on a Best Buy exclusive release for the same album. I took a star off just for that. Seriously, if you limit extra content to ensure people buy it at an inflated price at another vendor, I lose respect for you. This is why people pirate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AAAARRGGGG!!!, June 12, 2013
It is so hard to write this review without using profanities. I was totally on another wavelength in my music listening when I realized that Volbeats new album came out (do I age myself when I say album ? ) and now I have to listen to them all day, maybe for the next few weeks. When their first album came out to me it was love at first listen and every album since has been the same. They are one of my favorite bands and I think they have been able to keep the same fantastic sound with every album even though they have been through different lead guitar players over the years. This is both splendid and groovy at the same time, thanks again Volbeat. If you have not listened to these guys its like Sha Na Na and Slayer did the wild thing and this is their funked up birthchild.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gunslingers, gamblers and ghouls, April 16, 2013
By 
This review is from: Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies (Audio CD)
It's been nearly three years since Volbeat released Beyond Hell / Above Heaven (Extra Track Version), and the Danish band has certainly not been idle. The album was a huge success, thanks in equal parts to extremely catchy and unique metal songs and almost nonstop touring, especially in the US. Now the band is back with their highly anticipated follow-up. Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies is their fifth album overall, and it is the first Volbeat album to feature former Anthrax guitarist Rob Caggiano, who replaces Thomas Bredahl on lead guitar. Caggiano also produced the album alongside Jacob Hansen.

On Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies (and how great is that title, by the way?), Volbeat's core sound - that unique mix of Metallica, Johnny Cash, Social Distortion and Motorhead - is very much intact. As with Beyond Hell/Above Heaven, there's a major focus on melody and enough radio-friendly rock songs to balance the album's heavier tracks. You can tell right off that "Lola Montez" and "Cape of Our Hero" are this album's "Heaven Nor Hell" and "Fallen," and the surprising but wickedly infectious cover of Young the Giant's "My Body" has the potential to be a huge radio hit.

Beyond the obvious singles, Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies is a very strong album full of songs that are very easy to get into. The band knows exactly where the line should be between heaviness and melody on each song, so you'll get a full-on Metallica thrasher like "Doc Holliday" after a more radio-friendly song like "The Sinner Is You," and a song like "The Hangman's Body Count," which sounds like it could have been written by (or for) Johnny Cash, right after the darker "Room 24" and before "My Body." Not once do you lose interest or start to tune out, and with 14 songs on the album that's no mean feat.

Like previous Volbeat releases, Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies is more or less a concept album. You can enjoy the album without getting into the story, and the songs absolutely stand on their own, but a pass or two through the lyrics does enhance the overall experience, and helps bring this Western ghost story to life. Songs about gunfighters, stage coach robbers, saloon dancers and an undead avenger are given the perfect accompaniment by slide guitar, harp, banjo and double bass, and guest vocals by Sarah Blackwood and King Diamond help add to the conceptual feel of the album. That and it's just extremely cool to hear King Diamond singing with a band he undoubtedly inspired.

It's hard to imagine Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies disappointing many Volbeat fans, unless you're looking for a return to the much heavier The Strength/The Sound/The Songs days. This is a natural progression of Volbeat's sound, and it's just a fantastic experience overall. There are those rare albums that you know on the first listen that the songs you're hearing are going to be part of your life's soundtrack for quite some time, and Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies, like the Volbeat albums before it, is definitely one of those albums. Once you put this one in the player, it's going to be a long time before you're willing to take it out.

Edition Notes: There are multiple versions of Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies available, including digital, CD and vinyl. There is a deluxe CD version that has a second disc featuring four bonus tracks that are well worth hearing. It has the new (and quite heavy) studio song "Ecotone," a harp version of "Lola Montez" that's even better than the album version, a live recording of "7 Shots" (featuring Kreator's Mille Petrozza) and the demo version of "Evelyn" that has Michael Poulsen instead of Barney Greenway handling the growled vocals. For the truly hardcore, there is a deluxe hardcover book edition that comes with an exclusive 45rpm vinyl single.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have 2013, April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies (Audio CD)
I have all of Volbeat's albums. this is record is true to what got them to where they are today. I don't like long reviews so I will keep it short. All volbeat's stuff is great. if you like all kinds of music: metal, country music, and old '50 style music. Volbeat is for YOU!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than thier last album, April 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies (Audio CD)
Many people loved Volbeat's last album. I liked but did not love it like many. This is the album I was hoping to get last time. There is no weak track. Every song feels independent and different. If you want awesome music this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great record, May 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies (Audio CD)
Don’t hesitate to rock out with this one. You won’t be disappointed. Another sold album from start to finish. A++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER MASTERPIECE, July 21, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies (Audio CD)
WHAT I WOULD LOVE IS IF THESES GUYS WOULD JUST PUT OUT NOTHING BUT A HARD AS HELL METAL MASTERPIECE !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST ALBUM EVER!!!!, April 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies (Audio CD)
I have been listening to hard rock/heavy metal almost all my life and this album BY FAR is probably the best album I've ever heard!!!!You won't fast forward through any songs on this album because EVERY SONG KICKS ASS!!!.....How did it all start? Well legend has it that it is what could have happened if Elvis's third cousin had gotten out of juvenile detention, started hanging out with Johnny Cash and Gene Vincent and the first thing they got their hands on was a Slayer album. He would be singing metal a la Volbeat and vis a vis Michael Poulsen.
YOU HAVE TO BUY THIS ALBUM!!!!....ALBUMS LIKE THIS DON'T COME AROUND TO OFTEN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies
Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies by Volbeat (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.