Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I probably waited too long to watch this rare gem!
Outlaw Star started playing on Toonami back about five or six years ago. I was just getting started then as an anime collector, and dismissed it as a DBZ, Yu-Gi-Oh, or even a Pokemon type thing. Unfortunately, I judged it without watching it to any degree. It played often, so I could hear those annoying voices in my head. I'd always seem to catch a few minutes, while I...
Published on November 5, 2004 by Courtland J. Carpenter

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good anime, but shallow story.
The story is about a man with red hair (the only one in the series with this hair color) flying his ship known as the Outlaw star around the Milky Way. Looking for something known as the lay line..... That is about it. With very little character development other then a couple main people, I personally found myself drifting away from the story and focusing on the action...
Published on January 5, 2007 by R. Cumbee


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

109 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I probably waited too long to watch this rare gem!, November 5, 2004
By 
Courtland J. Carpenter (Fort Wayne, Indiana United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outlaw Star - Perfect Collection Boxed Set (DVD)
Outlaw Star started playing on Toonami back about five or six years ago. I was just getting started then as an anime collector, and dismissed it as a DBZ, Yu-Gi-Oh, or even a Pokemon type thing. Unfortunately, I judged it without watching it to any degree. It played often, so I could hear those annoying voices in my head. I'd always seem to catch a few minutes, while I surfed the channel. The Jim Hawking to Gene Starwind dialog, it seemed a lot like a Robin to Batman type of talk, and grated on my nerves. The only thing that hit home then, "as possibly original", was some talk I overheard about caster shells. Bullets that varied greatly in degree of power, even though they were all fired from the same size handgun.

Over the years since then, I've collected as much of the best quality anime titles, subbed or dubbed that I could afford. Now I've nearly gotten to the point where I must wait for new series to be packaged, so I revisit some of the past ones, just to see if I missed any. I came across a good rating on "Outlaw Star", so I tried a few more sites, and found that sentiment to be consistent. What did I miss? Unfortunately, Outlaw Star has long been off Toonami or Adult Swim, and I'd have to buy the series to check it out further. Fortunately, its dirt-cheap compared to many 26 episode series for sale.

Ok, so what's the verdict? Well as you can tell from my rating, I messed up badly by originally passing over this series! The collection of characters drive a story where, like the "Heroes Journey" in literature, give them life-changing purpose. Gene grows from a slovenly bum to a substantial man. Along the way, he overcomes his space travel phobia, and the haunting events of the past that caused it. Each of the other characters finds, and overcome personal challenges, that stretch them to their very limits. One thing that aids this, and affects the viewer is that we have no nice, nice type of PC anime. Characters are injured, some die, ships are destroyed, and space is a portrayed as a very dangerous place in which to travel! Not just because of Kai Pirates, but asteroids, black holes, and other dangers.

Another good plot device to help make it real for me was the cost of space travel. Maintaining, repairing, and outfitting a ship is not something you can do with pocket change. Many have compared this to Cowboy Bebop. This is probably because they both involve a group of diverse characters that have a similar mix of communication. While it shared some elements of reality in its vision of a future. The goals, plot and motivations were completely different. Still OS stands out on its own merits.

If you're gonna try to rent this first, try the episode: Cats and Girls and Spaceships (#20). It has an excellent blend of humor, irony, and human feelings, all of which transcend a mere anime plot. Another good one is Hot Springs Planet Tenrei (#22), a funny, fan service episode that still had some important plot elements, and it should not have been left off the Toonami showings. It's actually the only episode I remember which explains caster shells.

I don't really remember enough about the Toonami showings to confirm this, but I don't know if they left in the narrative prolog for each episode. Voiced by the guy that does Jet in the Bebop series (I think), his voice over gives an important intro to each episode. Its especially effective for character introduction, often explaining the motivations of the new characters that would otherwise take several episodes to figure out. The high quality box set includes six DVD's, two each to a DVD case. Packaging tends to be better than most of the full series boxes I've run across, especially at these low prices!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really 4.8/5, but definitely more to 5 than 4..., July 25, 2005
This review is from: Outlaw Star - Perfect Collection Boxed Set (DVD)
Toonami, Adult Swim... Got so many great memories of Anime from both, actually, I bought 'em. Lol. And this Anime, Outlaw Star, has become my 2nd favorite Anime. Yeah... About 3 or more years back, I caught this on Toonami, and their Midnight Run. I really liked it, so, after more than a year, I finally got around to buying it, and man, it was even better uncut, and from then on out, I loved it! And jeez... On Toonami, they so HEAVILY edited this Series, it wasn't even funny... Even to the point of cutting one whole episode out of the Series. That episode held quite a bit of meaning for the Outlaw Star Series, and was definitely one of the best, and funniest episodes throughout the Series. And all I have to say to all those Anime lovers, Otakus, and such... Just buy it as fast as you can. This Anime is only 2nd to Bebop. My age rating for it is: 15+ (Graphic Violence, Profanity, Nudity, and Sexual Situations). Beyond superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Amazing, October 16, 2002
By 
Bob Marley (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
I was wathcing this anime once and after the first five minutes I was hooked. Before I even knew the name of the series I was hooked. This is such a great series, once you get this, it will be your favorite anime, too.
I'm not sure what some of those other people were thinking - bad music!? Whoever said that, I pity you. Outlaw star's soundtrack is excellent, every song played ties perfectly into that scene. The dialogue is great - though not perfect. There are a few lines I would have changed, and even laughed at because they were so out of place, but that was very rare. Every episode is very funny; Gene Starwind's carefree, comedic, and often impetuous attitude add a lot to the show. His comments are always hilarious, especially when he argues with his partner Jim Hawking, the ship's mechanic and resident computer wizard. Then there's Aisha ClanClan, a Ctarl Ctarl - race of cat-like people that are very strong and often stubborn that can shapeshift into powerful tiger beings. Aisha does not like the crew of the Outlaw Star and is only with them because she wants to impress the empire and get the rank that Gene made her lose back. She often makes fun of Gene and Suzuka (Suzu to her). Though later she develops an older-sister like relationship with Jim Hawking. Then there's Suzuka, a quiet assassin-for-hire that gets stuck with Gene, and used him and his conflict with the Kei Pirates to settle an old score with her archenemy, who I won't mention.
Outlaw star is packed with action and comedy, from fighting the evil Kei Pirates, foiling powerful Tao Priests, battling the deadly Anten Seven to the death, or simply evading Aisha's vengeful wrath, there's plenty happening in the episodes to keep you wanting to see the next one, and then at the end...feeling sad that it's actually over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy - Detailed Review (note, one or two spoilers), May 16, 2005
This review is from: Outlaw Star - Perfect Collection Boxed Set (DVD)
One of the more affordable complete anime series out there, Outlaw Star Perfect Collection is a great buy for the quality of the series. Great visuals and especially nice music. Each episode has the Japanese opening music "Through the Night" with alternating (by episode) English and Japanese subtitles, the complete battle music which plays on the options screen (at least on disc 1), and of course Melfina's end song one (episodes 1-13) and end song two (episodes 14-26). A friend told me the opening didn't air when the show was on Toonami so that and the battle music would be a feature all by itself.

The main features, on every second disc, include a textless version of the opening and two endings, artwork, and video previews for other anime series such as the Angel Links spinoff and Gundam Wing movie. They're not numerous, but Outlaw Star itself makes up for that. The English voices sound great and realistic throughout, much moreso than the optional Japanese voices. English subtitles don't always match what's being said - I would guess that they're a more direct translation with the spoken word being altered so that it aligned correctly with their mouth movements; even so, this is not a drawback. Keeping subtitles on provides more insight into the meaning of the words.

This set also includes all the cut areas including the language (the most noticeable of which is an occassional s***), the so-called perverted but not graphic scenes with Gene, and full and partial nudity (full nudity being Aisha in mid-episode 23 and Melfina in beginning-episode 26). Episode 23 "Hot Springs Planet Tenrei," included in the set, has everyone in bathing suits (even Suzuka ;p) and revolves around a sexual plot that would probably suggest why it was originally cut from broadcast. You can tell because the visual text was translated via computer-generated English inserts and the prologue and facial expressions are very noticebly Japanese. However, it does explain the origins of Gene's caster gun and the four special caster shells he uses in later episodes and provides some action for the only member of the Anten Seven otherwise not seen doing anything.

Concerning the storyline, the casual build-up from Gene as a common guy to essentially hero of the universe is nice. Good interaction all the way through though I should note that the storyline occassionally branches off on a tangent; it's nice, however, to get this background information. I'd have to say that my main issues are toward the end during the final battle which doesn't seem to quite make sense (it seems as if it's meant to be symbolic) and the fact that the guy who killed Gene's father escapes without explanation. Other than that, I like the true ending after the final credits which leaves you wishing it would go on forever.

If I had to complain about anything else, it might be that disc 4 of 6 was not properly secured in the case on delivery and so was a little scratched up. While that disc gave me no playback problems, disc 5 of 6 occassionally wouldn't play right with freeze ups or a green screen, but not during playback, only on the main menu thankfully. The problem was alleviated by simply reinserting the disc into the DVD player (I'm not sure if it was the player or the disc). Also, when played on a computer, the quality was greatly diminished with many glitches (esp. sound) using the NVIDIA DVD codec so I'm not sure how it would play if you wanted to use it on a computer or portable DVD player.

Barring these minor problems, this is a great set especially for the cost and I would definitely recommend it to any anime fan ... Despite being Japanese, it's been integrated so seamlessly that it seems very much American and is thus very appealing. 5 stars! :p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Between Life and Machine... An in depth perspective!, January 14, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outlaw Star - Perfect Collection Boxed Set (DVD)
Gene Starwind dreams of a life as an outlaw, and fate smiles on him as he seems to suddenly wind up with a great job. But things go awry, and he finds himself the new owner of the fastest, most technologically advanced space ship in the galaxy. Unforyunately, Its stolen and the owners want it back..

Along with his prtner Jim and the lovely Melfina, Gene must fight his way across the galaxy battling pirates, aliens, and assassins as he attempts to discover the secrets of the Outlaw Star.

Gene's Castor Gun:

An extremely rare item, The Castor Gun is the product of some very old technology. Instead of firing normal bullets, it fires projectiles called Castor Shells. There are twenty different types of Castor Shells, And each one has a different use.

The Caster Gun itself is a mixture of science and sorcery. What is actualy contained in the Castor Shells are potent magic spells. When fired, the spells inside the shells are activated by the life force of the person firing the gun. As some of these spells are quite powerful, they draw a large amount of energy, and using several in succesion has proven fatal.

Since the Castor Gun is a rater uncommon piece of technology, finding shells for it is often very difficult. As a result, Jim is constantly reminding Gene to use them sparingly.

Yet, despite the dangers and the difficulties involved with using the Castor Gun, Gene still finds it to be his weapon of choice, and it has helped him survive numerous difficult confrontations.

Grappler Ship: The Outlaw Star (Model #: XGP15A-II):

Grappler Ships are a special type of ship with a pair of large arms attached. These arms were used for manipulating equipment and other objects, giving Grappler Ships a great adavntage in feilds like space construction and mining. However, They were also quickly embraced by criminals as the ship of choice. Soon, Grappler Ships were also being used in combat, and large weapons were developed. Of course, they could also be used in a rather unique kind of hand-to-hand ship combat.

Grappler Ships have become common, and they range from standard equipment ships to state-of-the-art cruisers like the MacDougall brother's ship, The El Dorado. But the most advanced Grappler Ship is the state-of-the-art XGP15A-II, colloquialli known as the Outlaw Star.

The XGP15A-II is a special state-of-the-art ship, created by joint cooperation between the Pirates and the Space Forces. Since the Pirates would never had the technology to create such an advanced ship, they used their money and connections to covertly involve a division of the Space Forces. Upon completion, the ship was stolen by the Pirate Hilda and it is now in Gene's care.

The Outlaw Star is equiped with a state-of-the-art computer named Gilliam II, and employs a special piloting interface using the android Melfina. It also has state-of-the-art weaponary, plasma engines, and other standard amaments and equipment.

Episodes List:

1. Outlaw World

2. Star of Desire

3. Into the Burning Space

4. When the Hot Ice Melts

5. Beast Girls, Ready to Pounce

6. Beautiful Assassin

7. Creeping Evil

8. Forced Departure

9. A journey of Advanture...Huh?

10. Gathering for the Space Race

11. Adrift in Subspace

12. Mortal Combat with the El Dorado

13. Advance Guard from an Alien World

14. Final Countdown

15. The Seven Emergre

16. Demon of the Water Planet

17. Between Life and Machine

18. The Strongest woman in the Universe

19.Law and Lawlessness

20. Cats and Girls and Space Ships

21. Grave of the Dragon

22. Gravity Jailbreak

23. Hot Springs Planet Tenrei

24. Cutting the Galactic Leyline

25. The Maze of Despair

26. Return to Space

This Collection comes in a clean box, within it there are three DVD containers. Each container holds two DVDs, 5 Episodes on one 4 on the other. Each second DVD has its own Image Gallery and Trailers of other animes made by Bandai. This is the ENTIRE Outlaw Star Collection in its uncut version. ALL Anime fans should take advantage of this great deal on possibly the most original and adventure packed Animes on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What can be said about Outlaw Star?, October 17, 2004
This review is from: Outlaw Star - Perfect Collection Boxed Set (DVD)
I first saw Outlaw Star several years ago when it was aired late-night on Cartoon Network's "Toonami." Outlaw Star singlehandedly got me addicted to anime.

The six-disk Perfect Collection contains all 26 episodes of the series, perfectly preserved in DVD quality. That's ALL 26 -- including the hot springs episode, which was of course dubbed 'too hot for tv.'

Outlaw Star is an action show on the outside, but a thoughtful one on the inside. It touches on concepts of purpose and existance in the character of bio-android Melfina, who is constantly searching for information about the meaning of her existance, and the purpose for her being. Also among the cast is our main character, Gene Starwind. He's a space-phobic type, having had an extremely jarring experience as a child which kept him firmly planted on the ground ever since. Jim Hawking is far too smart for his age -- 10 years old and far more mature than Gene. He's definately the brains of the operation, and if it weren't for him, Gene would be long dead.

The plot is vague at first, when Gene encounters space outlaw "Hot Ice" Hilda. Gene is thrown into a battle for the mysterious and powerful spacecraft: the XGP15A-II. He discovers the "navigational system" of this ship in Melfina, the bio-android. Later to join the cast are cold and calculated assasin "Twilight" Suzuka, and crazy (former) Ctarl-Ctarl General Aisha Clanclan. (Yes, it's another cat-girl.)

Living by no set of rules but their own, on a tight budget (=P) and constantly hunted by the space pirates, this cast of characters is sent into a thrilling and engaging quest of the galactic Leyline and the very meanings of existance.

OLS may sound like a typical space show, but rest assured, it isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare for a GOOD ride!, October 21, 2002
By 
Eric A Joseph (Hummelstown, PA United States) - See all my reviews
The first time I ever saw an episode of Outlaw Star was on Cartoon Network's Toonami Midnight Run. I forget what episode it was exactly, but it caught my eye in a flash. This is coming from a guy that never even glanced at anime UNTIL he saw an episode of Outlaw Star.
Gene Starwind and Jim Hawking start the series on the planet Sentinel III, a backwater world on the fringe of space that has no particular importance on the galactic scene. As the owners of "Starwing & Hawking Repairs," they get a call from a woman named Rachel Sweet, who needs a bodyguard. They quickly figure out that Rachel is only a cover for the infamous outlaw "Hot Ice" Hilda, as they begin to be chased by Kei Pirates who're after Hilda. As the first episode ends, Gene and Jim have yet to realize that they are at the beginning of a long journey that will change them forever.
Gene Starwind is, in essence, a frat guy. He's 20 years old, loves to drink, loves women, and tries to have fun most of the time. He often acts half his age though, and it causes him to get into quite a bit of trouble. When he comes into possession of his ship, the Outlaw Star, he immediately sets into motion a plan to use the ship for its original intent: to find the Galactic Leyline. He may be just an amateur bounty hunter, but Gene's luck and natural skills help him in more than a few sticky situations.
Jim Hawking is Gene's polar opposite and partner. Unlike Gene, Jim usually acts twice his age, but still enjoys being 11 years old. He is cautious, very intelligent, quick-thinking, outgoing, an excellent mechanic, and is always on Gene about how they lack money and where they should get it. He is never one to actually fight battles himself, but rather, provides backup and support for Gene whenever he is needed. He treats Melfina like a mother, and looks up to Gene
Melfina is a bio-android who is a mystery even to her creator. She looks human, acts human (eats, sleeps, breaths, has emotions). Physically, she is only 2 years old, but she looks like she is 17, and has pieces of alien biotechnology in her dating back over 30,000 years. However, she acts more human than some of the human characters in the series, despite the fact that she was created by Gwen Khan. She was built specifically to be the navigator for the Outlaw Star, and comes along on the journey because Gene promised her that they would both discover why she was created. In the later part of the series, Gene realizes how much he cares for Melfina, and vice versa.
Aisha Clan Clan is a proud and loyal Ctarl Ctarl (half human, half tiger, as Jim describes). Strong-willed, very direct, and very aggressive, Aisha is not the type of person to mess with. She is naturally strong, but can undergo a transformation where she turns into a tiger, giving her even more strength but with a set time limit. She lacks finesse and one of the more comedic characters of the cast, but her pride will never let her live down any embarassment. She becomes a crew member of the Outlaw Star because of her fierce loyalty to the Ctarl Ctarl Empire; she promised to find the location of the Galactic Leyline so the Empire could claim the "treasure."
The last crew member is Suzuka, otherwise known as "Twilight Suzuka." She is well known because she is an elite freelance assassin who always kills her target just as the sun sets, and dresses in traditional Japanese robes. Weilding only a bokuto (a wooden sword), she originally was hired to assassinate Fred Luo, but Gene prevented her from doing so. Gene and Suzuka fought later on in the same episode, with Gene being the victor; of course, Gene couldn't kill a woman, so he made Suzuka promise that if she was going to kill Fred Luo, she had to kill Gene first. She later joins the crew of the Outlaw Star because she finds them to be very interesting, but her true intentions are revealed in the final episodes.
Probably the primary reason I bought the DVD version is because the Cartoon Network version is HEAVILY edited (for example, they replaced made bad edits such as this one from Episode 4:
Harry: ...really hot?
Harry: ...really cute?
This might just be in place to not offend any of the female audience, but its things like this that I didn't particularly like being cut out (in addition to some scenes that were just randomly cut out that had NO possible offensive content). Consequently, Amazon.com got my business because I wanted to see a better version of this great series.
This series was DEFINITELY worth the money. I wouldn't rank this as being #1 anime series of all time (Cowboy Bebop takes the cake =P), but it isn't a series to pass up. Some people might point out a weak plot or character flaws or animation. The plot is great. The characters blend well together. Animation in some parts of the series may be lacking (like panning across a cel instead of showing any animation). The only flaw I particularly noticed was the music. A lot of the tracks are repeated in some parts that they don't seem to fit in (okay, Cowboy Bebop spoiled me with its excellent music soundtrack), but otherwise, they're great (Suzuka's song and House of Moon are great tracks). Overall, this series is (I'll say it again) quite excellent. Check it out if you get the chance. : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTLAW STAR IS DEFINITELY 5 STARS!!!, May 30, 2006
This review is from: Outlaw Star - Perfect Collection Boxed Set (DVD)
Outlaw Star rocks!!!

(SPOILERS!!!)

Well, after going for a second time through the list of the anime collection that I have not bought yet (and I have bought a lot of them) I came over this show. Unfortunately, I did not come across this gold mine sooner. Fortunately, I eventually found it.

The story goes more like this:

The crew of the Outlaw Star, the best (battle) ship in space and a mystery covering it, consists of:

Gene, the main protagonist. Starts up as a bounty hunter and gets in all sorts of adventures and troubles. Strong fighter and an expert with guns.

Jim, Gene's partner, an 11 old smart boy and a hacker.

Melfina, till the final episodes you will not be able to tell what exactly this girl is all about apart from that she is the key for the L-lines. (SPOILER), she will be in love with Gene and Gene with her... you know what it means, don't you? Romance on its way big time, hehehe.

Suzuka, a very strong (and beautiful) Samurai woman who also is an assasin.

Aisha, half human half tiger a like woman, which can transform to a wild animal when pissed off, and super strong.

The space ship computer, Gillian, which has an opinion about everything.

Than we have a nuts professor switching constantly sites.

Hilda, an Outlaw hot bad kick a** female, who `puts' most of the main characters into the beginning of their journey.

Two brothers who are also bounty hunters, the so called Mac Dugle brothers, and create all sorts of problems to the crew.

Gene's male friend, Fred Low, (I have pointed out his gender because this reach guy will be in love with Gene and a muscle woman - 4 times strongest woman of the Universe - will be in love with Fred and wants to marry him) and who will basically constantly borrow a lot of money to the crew of Outlaw Star for repairs etc. (well, if this guy will ever get paid back is another story).

The army.

Killers cut loose who are after Gene's life and not only.

And of course pirates who are after the Outlaw Star, Melfina and to kill Gene; and use some kind of Tao magic.

Guns (called Castors) that can penetrate through magic.

And people die.

The main goal of the story: the Galactic L (or K, if you prefer) -lines. I will not tell you what these lines are all about because it would basically give away the entire story (sorry guys).

The music is very good. The opening song is a pop/rock song while the ending one a romantic ballad (both very good songs).

The animation is very good (compare it with the one of Cowboy Bebop and you will get a very good idea).

As for the dub, I don't know why some are complaining but for me the English voices were actually very good.

And it has a very strong storyline and strong character development. Not to mention the fact that from the first episode the story kicks off and moves so fast that it will grasp you immediately (26 episodes long). The story is a mixture of science fiction, adventure, has a great balance between comedy and drama, action non-stop and of course romance (oh, yes).

Last but not least, Outlaw Star can easily be considered to belong to the same (and equal) category/level of Cowboy Bebop, Trigun etc.

Additional to all it, what I liked a lot was that all the main characters of this series are not whiny or whatsoever. They can life with their pros and cons, are able to get their s*** together and are doing some amazing stuff. Even the females of the crew are some kick a** babes who know how to get what they want and are able to beat people up.

To the most logical question: Is the money worth buying it? Definitely Yes...

To sum up, if you want a strong story, which combines action, romance, comedy and drama, strong character development and characters who are ready to rock from episode one, than this show is highly recommended for you. If you prefer a slow story etc. (something like love hentai), than this show is not for you.

To conclude, I highly recommend this show...

PS: click on the star below (please :-P)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most underrated anime of all time., June 3, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Outlaw Star - Perfect Collection Boxed Set (DVD)
Outlaw Star is an anime about a group of bounty hunters in space going to find a treasure called the Galatic Leyline. Now that sounds very cliche, but understand that Outlaw Star has some of the best character development ever. I not going to compare it to Cowboy Bebop, but it is equal to it. Gene is a young pilot out to make it big. Jim is his genuis hacker friend. Melfina is a android girl looking for her true self. Aisha is a cat-girl working for the glory of her people, and Suzuka is a cold-blooded assassin. This is the crew of the Outlaw Star.

Story - Very few filler episodes, the first 8 episodes (out of 26) all tie in to the story well. The last 18 contain a few that veer off a bit, but they all add to the plot. The last 3 episodes are a must see for the action. The sci-fi atmosphere is great and very original despite what many people take it for.

Animation - Very good for a TV show released in 1998. The characters move fuildly and few frames are repeated.

Music - Its solid all around and doesn't seem out of place. The sound effects are awesome on DVD, and the English dub is equal to if not better than the Japanese dub.

Action- Gunfights, swordfights, magic, grappler ships, bombings, killer robots, duels, hand to hand combat, and the Kei Pirates, the coolest groups of villains ever. Enough Said.

Characters - You learn a lot about everyone, even the villains. Some of the minor ones such as Fred Luo are fall out your chair hilarious. Even the Outlaw Star's AI Gillian is pretty comedic. The crew is very funny when they interact. They act like real people and even complain about things like bills and money. Its not slapstick comedy its more of a dark comedy that even adults can appreciate.

Overall - If you are tired of DBZ and that ilk, or just want to watch something very entertaining, Outlaw Star is perfect.

Also- There is some swearing, but its not excessive, no f-bombs or god----. There is no graphic violence or sex, but the content is enough to make this for teens and adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Old Favorite, February 26, 2007
This review is from: Outlaw Star - Perfect Collection Boxed Set (DVD)
The Outlaw Star Perfect Collection Boxed Set is just that PERFECT! I have loved the series ever since it debut on Cartoon Network. This boxed set is uncut and has some new scenes/episodes, which is awesome. So if you are a space anime fan then this is a must, it is funny and has an original plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Outlaw Star - Perfect Collection Boxed Set
Outlaw Star - Perfect Collection Boxed Set by Mitsuru Hongo (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: $28.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.