Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Might not be what you expect, but stellar, none the less.
If go into thinking this is an action movie, you may be disappointed. The cover and title make it seem like it's a crime-action film when really it's more of a violent drama. If you've seen Violent Cop, Sonatine, or Fireworks, then you'll understand the tone of Takeshi Kitano's work. It's a slow burn with intrigue, double crosses, brutal, but quick violence, and an...
Published 7 months ago by craigstealsheep

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars DEJA VU ALL OVER AGAIN,
This is your typical organized crime film where competing families play "King of the Hill." You get the feeling of deja vu when you watch it.

It includes, paid off cops, hits, drugs, prostitution, betrayals and an odd scene where they force the ambassador of Ghana to open a casino in his embassy. This film doesn't bring anything new to the table, except...
Published on September 30, 2012 by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Might not be what you expect, but stellar, none the less., April 14, 2014
If go into thinking this is an action movie, you may be disappointed. The cover and title make it seem like it's a crime-action film when really it's more of a violent drama. If you've seen Violent Cop, Sonatine, or Fireworks, then you'll understand the tone of Takeshi Kitano's work. It's a slow burn with intrigue, double crosses, brutal, but quick violence, and an underlying sadness. No one can be trusted. Everyone has something to gain from other's misfortune.

Outrage tells the story of Otomo, a long time enforcer that doesn't get much recognition or respect from those above him. His bosses lie and use him, and in some ways, he even knows this happens. But he's just doing his job. He isn't bothered by getting his hands dirty and he may be the best at it, so what of it? This changes, however, when his boss is asked to break a pact with another family head by the chairman (if you're unfamiliar with Yakuza ranks, think Don). Otomo's boss then has him start a small war that quickly escalates until Otomo can't even trust those he believed were friends. He may not even be able to trust those he respects most.

This is not a film for the faint of heart. It's not a film for those who are looking for big set pieces. It's a slow burn, but the acting, Cinematography and writing are so pitch perfect that it's worth a look. It's violent, understated, and artful like the Godfather. There is so much going on in every scene that with every rewatch you get more out of it. Kitano is at his best when tackling hard subjects like loyalty, self-worth, and honor. It's rare to see someone that can do it all in this age, and I'm glad he keeps putting out fantastic films to this day. Check out the sequel, Beyond Outrage as well. It's definitely worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Illegal Casinos, Corrupt Cops, Sake fuelled Violence in this Japanese Gangsta Thriller!, February 10, 2012
This review is from: Outrage: Way of the Yakuza (DVD)
This is a Japanese gangsta flick from the directorial hand of Takeshi Kitano. It is a full throttle story of the Yakuza and the various families (or crime syndicates) that control the Kanto region. It is full of intrigue and double plotting but the one thing that runs as a vein throughout this film is violence. Good old fashioned, medieval, nasty violence.

The Uber crime Lord is called Mr Chairman and actually does dress like some despotic ruler of a `democratic republic' like say North Korea. Even his servants wear the same white tracksuits - even when they are serving dinner, I think you will find that Debretts classes that as a massive faux pas, but hey these are Japanese Mafiosi types and so probably aren't well read.

He discovers that two of his under lords have made some sort of pact to be `sworn brothers' whilst both serving time in one of Japans 1 star detention facilities. This he does not like and so demands that a sort of insult be done to prove that not all brothers do get along. Well one thing leads to another and as face is lost, and a few other bits - like fingers-, the retaliations ramp up. The land and powere grabs all come at a price and the fortunes of each change with the rapidity of a guns magazine being emptied.

This is acted, directed and filmed in a stylish and no holds barred way. It just roars along, and keeps the shocks coming. There are some well inventive ways of dealing with your enemies and some brutal violence that made me squirm. The Japanese codes of honour and rampant disrespect to your underlings are heavily in evidence. This is just naked greed meets unfettered ambition in a tsunami of double crosses and violence and I thought it was excellent.

This is not one for the squeamish but all lovers of extreme Asian cinema will find a place for this in their collections. In Japanese with a smidgin of English, this is not that short a film but just flew by for me - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beat is back!, February 26, 2013
Great movie, unexpected developments, great cast, extremely well done, totally Japanese! Mr.Kitano is great, on the par with Mr.Mifune's best work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars DEJA VU ALL OVER AGAIN,, September 30, 2012
This review is from: Outrage [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is your typical organized crime film where competing families play "King of the Hill." You get the feeling of deja vu when you watch it.

It includes, paid off cops, hits, drugs, prostitution, betrayals and an odd scene where they force the ambassador of Ghana to open a casino in his embassy. This film doesn't bring anything new to the table, except the Japanese "honorably" cut off their own finger rather than have someone else do it to them. With the film being run of the mill crime action, the English subtitles was a big negative as it was apparent they were lazy and didn't translate everything.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, token sex and nude scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Japanses gangsters on the loose, February 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outrage: Way of the Yakuza [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Above average Yakuza film good story action mayhem!Good transfer and deal with thier codes and sense of honor nice peek at Japan!Good shipping speed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie., July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm a big fan of foreign movies, this one is no execption. It is a gritty interpretation of the Japanese Yukuza that shows how diffenert and intresting they are compared to other mafia movies. Great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... today 7-7-14 I'm watching it over and over I love it I got it fast I'm very happy Dartanya ..., July 7, 2014
This review is from: Outrage: Way of the Yakuza (DVD)
I just got it today 7-7-14 I'm watching it over and over I love it I got it fast I'm very happy
Dartanya A Williams thank you- One!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good cheap thrill, May 30, 2014
By 
J. Sun (Hartford, Connecticut) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you like graphic violence this movie is for you. It all starts from a stupid misunderstanding between two opposing gangs to the mass murder in the end. Give credit to the screen writers for their invention of speed car strangling - not scientifically realistic though. That force most likely would decapitate the poor guy. The dummy they used was obviously too strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yakuza Japan, May 20, 2014
Might not be enjoyable unless you have spent time in Japan...a bit slow moving when compared to other films. Otherwise...OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't blink!, May 13, 2014
Super fast paced action film! I was totally lost in the story, I didn't even attempt to multitask the entire movie, which is unusual for me because I usually pretty restless. I'm definitely going to buy the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Outrage: Way of the Yakuza [Blu-ray]
Outrage: Way of the Yakuza [Blu-ray] by Takeshi Kitano (Blu-ray - 2012)
$16.98 $11.22
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.