Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Zeltserman
Dave Zeltserman's newest (yes, the prolific bastard puts out like three a year) is OUTSOURCED. It's a crime/heist novel about Dan, a laid off software engineer. At 48 years old, his re-hire prospects are grim, and he's slowly losing his sight (retinitis pigmentosa) to boot. Creeping ever closer to defaulting on his mortgage, and desperate to provide for his family, he...
Published on February 3, 2011 by Paul Tremblay

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tonal Inconsistency Undermines This Neo-Noir
Unlike most reviewers, I wasn't a huge fan of Zeltserman's debut (Small Crimes) -- or rather, I found it kind of so-so, trying a little too hard to hit all the noir touchpoints. I got sent his next books (Pariah and Killer) but since I hadn't really enjoyed his first, couldn't be bothered to pick either up. But I've for a weakness for heist stories, so when I was sent...
Published on November 18, 2010 by A. Ross


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Zeltserman, February 3, 2011
By 
Paul Tremblay "pnuke33" (Stoughton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Outsourced (Paperback)
Dave Zeltserman's newest (yes, the prolific bastard puts out like three a year) is OUTSOURCED. It's a crime/heist novel about Dan, a laid off software engineer. At 48 years old, his re-hire prospects are grim, and he's slowly losing his sight (retinitis pigmentosa) to boot. Creeping ever closer to defaulting on his mortgage, and desperate to provide for his family, he schemes to rob a bank, or more specifically, to rob the safety deposit boxes that belong to a reputed Russian mobster. Dan gets a bunch of his has-been friends in on the clumsy yet clever caper, and stuff goes way wrong, quickly.

OUTSOURCED is brilliantly paced and reminiscent of A SIMPLE PLAN with the supposed non-criminals slowly descending into desperation and violence, and Zeltserman gives the characters (Dan, in particularly) a kind of heartbreaking vulnerability as well. Another great crime novel from Zeltserman.

If we're all still around and reading books 20-30 years from now, I can totally envision the next generation of crime/noir readers-the ones discovering and raving about Chandler and Hammet-finding all of Zelterman's books too, and greedily inhaling them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Employers Say You're Too Old for the Workforce, Try Robbing Safety Deposit Boxes at the Bank Instead!, October 25, 2010
By 
James N Simpson (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Outsourced (Kindle Edition)
This is the second Zeltserman novel I've read, the previous being Small Crimes. This isn't quite as good as that one but it's still a great read. Basically it's the tale of an ageing man named Dan Wilson, he believes he's still at the top of his game but his last and every other IT employer isn't interested in hiring him anymore. They either go for younger staff or outsource their IT needs to India. Dan's eyesight is deteriorating as well, if he had a job he could do something about it but now that he's unemployed he can't even afford the bills and his wife is pressuring him to sell their house. The future looks bleak, however Dan has a plan. A bank that gave him a few months temporary work in the past hired Indian staff to finish the job on their security system. Dan knows the system shuts down for 28 minutes and he knows the bank staff don't know this so will be contempt to just press the alarm button thinking the police will be waiting outside when he exits. It should just be a simple matter of walking in with a couple of other unemployed previous colleagues who are also on the scrapheap, and a few guns of course, then empty the safety deposit boxes of one mafia boss and frame another to throw the police of their trail. Of course a real life robbery doesn't go as easily as you imagine, especially if you don't choose your team carefully. Those familiar with Zeltserman's other books know the violence to expect on the pages, and Outsourced is no exception.

Of course once you've read this, if you have't already done so you should also check out the ultimate solution to being retrenched and trying to land a job with Donald E Westlake's classic The Ax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, fast read!, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outsourced (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book and the writing style very much. I looked forward to seeing where the story would lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very entertaining read, September 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outsourced (Kindle Edition)
I can see why this would be an exciting movie. I have read many of David's books and I think this is one of his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Zeltserman (Thus Far!), January 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outsourced (Paperback)
Dan Wilson is out of work and on the verge of losing his eyesight. With a mortgage to pay and a family to support, he is an ordinary guy desperate for money. He conceives a can't-miss bank heist, enlists the help of some friends, and then--surprise!--things don't go exactly as planned. Dave Zeltserman cleverly and effectively engineers the plot with a steady supply of action and surprises. In sum, OUTSOURCED is thoroughly entertaining noir in a traditional vein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Clever Heist Story, December 18, 2012
This review is from: Outsourced (Kindle Edition)
This author has been on my radar for a while and after looking through his website, decided to read the sample of this novel. I was intrigued enough by the sample and purchased it. I love heist story's, the author is from the Boston area ( like me), and the story takes place in Massachusetts. A good start out of the gate, but still, the story had to be good to keep my interest, especially with a heist. Happy to report that my experience was very satisfying and I really enjoyed the ride. The author tells the tale in a format that I really love, ie; the story moves forward at all times, but characters are introduced as the story progresses and they all intersect throughout and in the end nicely. Very well done. I'd compare this way of storytelling to that of Guy Ritchie, Tarantino, Goodfella's, Casino, Blow etc... I enjoyed the heist crew, the unique robbery plan, and the Russian bad guys. The police / law enforcement piece of the story was done just to my liking. Just enough to add to the story, without too much annoying procedural detail and cliche, which will make me drop reading a story in a heartbeat. Bottom line: OUTSOURCED was decently priced at under $6.00, well-written and edited, a good story, and kept me very interested and entertained until the end. Can't ask much more for my investment and I will certainly be looking to read another novel from the author, which at this point looks like it will be "KILLER".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Crime Novel, September 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outsourced (Kindle Edition)
The cover for Outsourced by Dave Zeltserman (Kindle Books) is deceptive. At first glance It appears to be a comedic novel. Or one filled with black humor in the Jim Thompson mode. You can imagine a movie version with Tom Hanks. And nothing would be further from what this novel is about.

Four out-of-work software engineers decide to rob a bank. One of them, Dan Wilson, had designed the architecture for the bank's security system and knows exactly when the system will go down. It will go down not because of a design flaw, but because the bank decided to use an offshore company to do the coding for the system. Dan has seen the coding, knows it's garbage, and knows the flaws. They've come up with the perfect plan to rob the bank and get themselves out of a financial black hole, but few plans survive contact.

Two simultaneous stories run next to the software engineers' scheme. One is that of police detective Alex Resnick, who's suffering from the death of his child and the divorce of his wife. Two, Viktor Petrinko, a former Russian KGB interrogator and now a mob boss of a Massachusetts town. Petrinko has been running the old "protection" racket on local store owners and Resnick is determined to put him away. The mobster also has plenty of cash and documents stashed in safe deposit boxes at the bank the software engineers are planning to rob. And they're the prime target for the robbery.

Needless to say, all three stories are going to intersect. With disastrous results.
The actual robbery occurs toward the middle of the book. The rest of the novel deals with the aftermath. It would be too much of a spoiler to detail how the robbery goes terribly wrong. Most of the remainder of the novel centers around the mobster, police detective, and Dan Wilson, who's traumatized by what happens.

My one criticism with this thriller is the lack of back story for all but a few of the software engineers. Most of the plot centers around Dan Wilson and his family. The other conspirators consist of Shrini Kumar, an Indian expatriate who dreads going back home and having to marry his arranged bride; Gordon, who's pushing sixty and has issues with women, and Joel, who's a gun enthusiast. Joel brings a friend of his into the gang, Eric, but we're never quite sure why. Shrini is the only member who's under fifty.

With the exception of Eric, all of these men had worked together in the past and made good money. All suffered in the tech crash after 2000. But you're never quite sure just what they we're doing, other than working night and day for a company that went under. I'd have like some more back story. Zeltserman has said there was more in the original manuscript, but his publisher wanted it and the social commentary toned down for the market. Someday I'd like to see the original manuscript he submitted.

This is the first kindle book and second novel I've read by the author. He's now on my "Must Read" list. My standard for judging a novel is the "Pull-In" factor. If I can't put the book down, it qualifies. And Outsourced definitely qualifies.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Winner, September 11, 2012
By 
lloyd singer (huntington beach, ca United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outsourced (Kindle Edition)
Once again a winner. You never know where the story is going to end. A true Zeltzerman story that is both interesting and different than other stories. I recommend all his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner, September 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outsourced (Paperback)
David Zeltserman has outdone himself with this book. I had trouble putting the book down. If you haven't read anything by Mr. Zeltserman this would be a great place to start. I really hope they make a movie out of this book. A very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars exciting amateur criminal Noir, February 9, 2011
This review is from: Outsourced (Paperback)
In New England software engineers Dan and Shrini are fired when their positions are outsourced to India. Middle aged Dan worries for his family as he only brings small change as a freelance contractor and his wife Carol works as a legal assistant though her hours have been cut. He also knows he needs health insurance as he is going blind unless he has surgery. Shrini finds it ironic that he cannot score work in the States, but once home in India will receive outsourcing offers from the same companies who rejected him.

After working on a bank security program in which the safety protocols were developed extremely poorly overseas, Dan sees the major flaw. He and Shrini work on a plan to rob the bank. Dan asks his former mentor out of work Joel to join the team, which he reluctantly does, but insists on Eric be on their heist unit so the latter can supply untraceable weapons. The final player is strange Gordon. The scheme is perfect on paper but the execution not so as people die. As the Feds, local cops led by Detective Resnick, and former KGB turned mobster Petrenko search for the money, the thieves struggle with each other and their fears that their families will learn of their crime caper.

Dan is the center of this crime caper as an upper middle class good citizen whose life has imploded due to Outsourcing of his job. Ironically the quality of work is irrelevant to the software companies as that takes away from the bottom line leading to the middle aged men (and the younger Shrini) being fired and able to draw up the perfect plan. Readers will feel for Dan. Although Petrenko and several of Dan's cronies are more caricatures seemingly employed to enable the protagonist's woes to stand out further, fans will enjoy this exciting amateur criminal Noir with a powerful poignant coda while the body count will remind readers of the line "War, friend only to the undertaker" from Edwin Starr's War.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Outsourced
Outsourced by Dave Zeltserman (Paperback - January 18, 2011)
$14.95 $12.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.